We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely private cabin right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thanh Kieu Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Duong Dong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The easiest way to remember this place is that the name sounds like "Thank you." It is a very affordable, clean, well maintained, low-key beach hut. For the money, it is a GREAT deal. Sheets were clean, the cabin was spacious, bed was comfortable. I would absolutely look fwd to staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JJcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 395 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

The Than Kieu resort has a beautiful garden with little bungalows that are simple but o.k. This is not one of the posh & polished resorts but has a rather down to earth approach. You definitely should use the mosquito nets as the bungalows are not completely closed. The service was reliable and the staff friendly.

We rented a scooter and discovered the island. A flat tire (we had one) can be repaired nearly everywhere, but you should drive very, very carefully. There is no insurance and the hospitals are rather not worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed at this resort in October 2010. I had booked a hotel a couple of doors down from this spot and was totally depressed by my surroundings....so, I walked the beach and found Thanh Kieu....all I could say afterwards was Thanh kieu very much!!!! The hotel even ordered (and paid for) a taxi for me to go back to the other hotel check out and bring me back to Thanh Kieu.

I had a beach fron hut and I was really happy to be there after the hustle and bustle of Ho Chi Mihn.

The Brick huts are clean yet rudimentary, there was no hot water, but electricity was certainly there. It is a quiet hotel on a spectacular beach! Besides that I shared my room with a geiko it was pure heaven. And with the heat of the beach, I really didn't mind the no hot water thing.

Internet service was fine but the the wi-fi did not extend to the rooms, you had to be at the main house.

Beakfast service was okay, but really, the point is to be in a hut on the beach...that is the fantastic charm of this place.

Scooters were available for rent and were quite inexpensive, and the hotel took care of laundry services for me wich was great as well.

A mix-up had me charged twice for the room ($49/night) but a quick e-mail once i got back to Canada and everything was taken care of quickly.

If you can get a hut here....DO IT!!!! don't worry about the hot water unless you are really fussy...because if you are not, you will find like me.....this will be one of the best stays in VN.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rftomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The resort is on Long Beach, which meets its description. I walked along the beach for over an hour each day. Staff people from the various resorts clean their section of the beach each morning, so it stays clean. The bungalow I had was nice. But the gardens really make the place special. The man who initially greet me was lacking in friendliness. But the women I dealt with later made up for that. One helped me sort out the problem of changed plane flights. She first told me to wait for the man but then decided to help me herself. I think she is not confident of her English, but she did just fine. The resort paid for the taxi to the airport, which was a nice surprise.Very nice breakfast. Good snorkeling tour from place on the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Good location & private beach was clean compared to other parts of Long Beach. Breakfast was very good & plenty of choices.

Bungalows were a bit tired looking & quite dark inside, no air con but fans did the job.

Handy little shop down the drive way, owners very friendly & had cold, cheap beers & motorbike hire was cheaper here.

All in all we were a bit disappointed with our Phu Quoc experience, most things were more expensive than Saigon & the beaches had too much rubbish for our liking.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank TnTinTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The bungalow was so cute! Clean rooms. Enjoyed the open air shower. Location was centrally located on Long Beach. Motorbike rental was $7/day. Breakfast was decent, they make crepes or omeletes if you want and there was lots of fresh fruit and other continental items. Airport transportation included. The staff was not overly friendly but they were helpful. One thing that could use updating are the cushions for the chairs on the beach - they were a bit thin and worn-looking. We stayed 3 nights and there was only one where it was unbearably hot and we were wanting the A/C that this resort does not have!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

After staying here for 6 weeks last year, I wanted to spend my 40th birthday here this year, so spent 8 weeks in February and March.

They had made a couple of improvements to the entrance area and changed a couple of the rooms to have outdoor showers.

The gardens were as beautiful as ever, and the beach is still fabulous, with just one day of dirty water when the current came the wrong way.

It was not as hot as last year, maybe because it was 2 months earlier, around Tet, but slightly busier with some families left over from New Year, and then a lot of locals for the Tet holiday.

Because it wasn't so hot there weren't so many mossies, and no jellyfish, they only appear when the water temperature is at its warmest.

The staff are great, really friendly once you get to know them, and having spent so much time there I feel like part of the family. They may appear indifferent at first but it is only because their English isn't great, but they do try.

The restaurant serves up simple delicious Vietnamese food, I tried most of the dishes, and some were exceptional.

The rooms are basic, but the safe and fridge are great, and there's nothing else you need.

The internet has some issues, which they have been trying to get resolved.

If you want to get away from the noise of the cities, this is a perfect spot. There are plenty of different places to eat and drink. It's not a party island though, which is a huge bonus!

Hope to get back asap, I would happily live there just eating seafood and rice and walking the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
14.4 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 108 in Phu Quoc Island
450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 48 in Duong Dong
598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 48 in Duong Dong
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#7 of 108 in Phu Quoc Island
600 reviews
0.9 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#12 of 108 in Phu Quoc Island
517 reviews
3.8 mi away
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
#6 of 108 in Phu Quoc Island
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanh Kieu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Kieu Beach Resort

Address: 100C/14 Tran Hung Dao street, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range: $43 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanh Kieu Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the sunset side of Phu Quoc Island. "Enjoy Your Life with sun and sea air." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Thanh Kieu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanh Kieu Coco Beach Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Thanh Kieu Beach Resort Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing