We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc
Nearby Hotels
$42
$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cassia Cottage(Duong Dong)
$97
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Phu Van Resort(Duong Dong)
$48
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Daisy Resort(Duong Dong)
$50
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A74 Hotel(Duong Dong)(Great Value!)
$16
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
704 results
Traveler rating
305
267
80
39
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
267
80
39
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong beachphu quochot waterbeachfront bungalownice beachbeach viewjohn's toursbeach chairsmosquito netnice bungalowsstayed here for nightsthe main roadsao beachphopillowsislandvietnam
Filter
Updating list...
439 - 444 of 704 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2009

We booked 6 nights at the Sea Star resort by contacting them directly 6 months prior to our arrival. We has a sea view bungalow which was beautiful and cost $55 a night. We got our dates wrong and couldn't get a ferry out to Phu Quoc on the date we were meant to arrive. Panicking that the'd cancel our resevation, we phoned the resort, and the staff informed us it was fine and they'd hold the room, which they did.

The bungalow itself is ideal and right on the white beach which gets raked every day by the staff. They were only built a few years ago so the paint still looks fresh. The rooms are simply furnished but are a good size, and so is the bathroom. You also get air con, tv, minibar, and a veranda to watch the sunset on. The only thing i would say is that the walls are a little thin, and we could hear the couple next door watching tv and snoring?!

The restaurant food is nice enough but there are plenty of other places along the beach like Captain Skewers to the right, and Eden bar all the way down to the left. Saigon beer is pretty cheap there though at 16,000VND.

The staff are really helpful and friendly. We rented brand new automatic mopeds from reception and were provided with maps. They also booked our shuttle bus back to the ferry, and a booklet of helpful info in provided in the room. The restaurant staff even organised a special tabel with flowers and candles on the beach for us one night.

All in all a brilliant stay and one i won't be forgetting in a hurry.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Grassy_Lemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

The Seastar Resort was a very good choice - probably the best resort on Long Beach. The bungalows and the whole area looks nice and tidy and everything is well integrated into the surrounding.

The bungalow was well equipped (fridge, big bathroom, tv, a/c, fan) and very clean. We had two beds, but only needed one, because they were really big. In front of the bungalow there was a terrace with two chairs to enjoy the sunset. We had a garden view bungalow, but it was still close to the sea, only second row.

As I said, the beach of the Seastar resort is the nicest part of Long Beach - white, clean and gently sloping. Massages were offered right at the water beneath some coconut palm trees. Women offering fresh fruit walk by every half hour. It was paradise-like.

The restaurant was good, nice atmosphere, 20 m away from the water, food was delicious, service very good as well. Avoid the toilets at the restaurant and rather go to your bungalow...

We rented motorbikes at the reception one day, good bikes at a reasonable price - got maps of the islands as well and good tips for a day-trip.

If you want to enjoy the breakfast a bit more luxurious than in the Seastar resort (incl. in the price), you should go to the Cassia cottage breakfast buffet (I don't remember the price, but it was reasonable).

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kraemerisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2009

I stayed at Sea Star Resort with my wife and my son (15 month) for eight days. We had been recommended the place by our friends who have been there in early 2008.

We pre-booked through email. The bungalows with beach-view was occupied so we had one with a garden-view. The difference wasn't that big: with only 10 steps we had our feet in the sand and we could see the sea from the porch.

The bungalow was clean and had what you need: AC, fan, minibar and hot and cold water. Nice (hard) beds and mosquito-net. The only minus was that we couldn't rent a cot for our baby.

The service was almost perfect and done with humor. We were very well taken care of. For example, one late evening I asked the night portier if they had any crisps to sell. The restaurant was closed but he called a friend who 15 minutes later knocked at our door with a can of Pringles.

Sea Star is very well located on the beach, it is actually one of the prettiest locations on Long beach. The stretch here has nice sand, clear water and some nice looking palms who give good shade as well (needed for babies). Not crowded and you could really relax.

The restaurant was clean, neat and served fresh and tastful dishes. It is not the cheapest you can find and have a somewhat westernized vietnamese menu, but we were most of the time very content of the food and service here. Don't forget to ask for the fish sauce! Many of the other restaurants at the beach is also good (Tropicana etc), but for more authentic vietnamese cousine we went to the Night market in town.

To summerize: we loved Phu Quoc and we really enjoyed our stay at Sea Star. The place is very well operated and it really met our needs and demands.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Sven-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

A great place to stay. Nice clean room on the best part of the beach & very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank setb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2008

We stayed in a garden-view bungalow for 3 nights. The room was clean, a/c, water was hot, and the beach was 5 metres from our front door. This place had two very friendly concierges, who gave us laminated maps of the island, directions and information on good places to go. The hotel rents out motor scooters at VND 160,000 (around AU$16) which are very reliable (yamaha, suzuki etc.) and a must-have to travel around the island. I hadn't ridden one before, but they are very easy to get the hang of.

Sea star also has great massages on the beach (for around VND 60,000) and the water is crystal clear and warm. The beaches are clean (they're raked every morning) and the resort is located on the best part of Long Beach.

The only reason why this place didn't get 5 stars was the quality of the breakfast - it was included with the price but very average (especially considering the price of the resort). Luckily, it is right next to Tropicana Resort, which has a great lunch and dinner menu.

All in all this is the best place to stay on Long beach - no other resort that we saw had such lovely bungalows so close to the sand and water.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank danhtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews