We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Duong Dong
Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed January 16, 2009

I stayed at Sea Star Resort with my wife and my son (15 month) for eight days. We had been recommended the place by our friends who have been there in early 2008.

We pre-booked through email. The bungalows with beach-view was occupied so we had one with a garden-view. The difference wasn't that big: with only 10 steps we had our feet in the sand and we could see the sea from the porch.

The bungalow was clean and had what you need: AC, fan, minibar and hot and cold water. Nice (hard) beds and mosquito-net. The only minus was that we couldn't rent a cot for our baby.

The service was almost perfect and done with humor. We were very well taken care of. For example, one late evening I asked the night portier if they had any crisps to sell. The restaurant was closed but he called a friend who 15 minutes later knocked at our door with a can of Pringles.

Sea Star is very well located on the beach, it is actually one of the prettiest locations on Long beach. The stretch here has nice sand, clear water and some nice looking palms who give good shade as well (needed for babies). Not crowded and you could really relax.

The restaurant was clean, neat and served fresh and tastful dishes. It is not the cheapest you can find and have a somewhat westernized vietnamese menu, but we were most of the time very content of the food and service here. Don't forget to ask for the fish sauce! Many of the other restaurants at the beach is also good (Tropicana etc), but for more authentic vietnamese cousine we went to the Night market in town.

To summerize: we loved Phu Quoc and we really enjoyed our stay at Sea Star. The place is very well operated and it really met our needs and demands.

  • Liked — Location on the beach
  • Disliked — ---
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Sven-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    243
    77
    38
    11
See reviews for
71
405
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2008

A great place to stay. Nice clean room on the best part of the beach & very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank setb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2008

We stayed in a garden-view bungalow for 3 nights. The room was clean, a/c, water was hot, and the beach was 5 metres from our front door. This place had two very friendly concierges, who gave us laminated maps of the island, directions and information on good places to go. The hotel rents out motor scooters at VND 160,000 (around AU$16) which are very reliable (yamaha, suzuki etc.) and a must-have to travel around the island. I hadn't ridden one before, but they are very easy to get the hang of.

Sea star also has great massages on the beach (for around VND 60,000) and the water is crystal clear and warm. The beaches are clean (they're raked every morning) and the resort is located on the best part of Long Beach.

The only reason why this place didn't get 5 stars was the quality of the breakfast - it was included with the price but very average (especially considering the price of the resort). Luckily, it is right next to Tropicana Resort, which has a great lunch and dinner menu.

All in all this is the best place to stay on Long beach - no other resort that we saw had such lovely bungalows so close to the sand and water.

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach (it's right next to it), views of the sunset from the room
  • Disliked — Breakfast - instant noodles for breakfast?
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank danhtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstanz, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2008

Nice Bungalows, mine was directly on the beach.
Room Service and Reception is very good and helpfull.
The Restaurant could improve, but it's still charming.
Location is central on the Long Beach, where the main touristical spot lies. Don't miss to book a boat trip.

  • Liked — Beach, Bungalow
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tristan3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
476 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2008

Stayed here 3 nights in Nov 2008 and loved it. Took a sea-facing bungalow for 40$ a night B&B, including free airport transfers.

The room was spotless, with efficient AC, cable TV and minibar. The bed was firm with small, rather solid pillows. All rooms have private verandah facing the sea.

This resort is one of the best maintained on the island, with very helpful staff and a very clean stretch of beach.

Booked 2 motorbike tours and both were great. Really good way to see this unspoilt island.

Only criticism would be the food. Breakfast was ok but other food bland and uninteresting. I recommend you walk or take a xe om into town to try a real vietnamese restaurant (reception recommended a great and very cheap seafood place to me). Or walk along the beach to Eden Bar for sunset views, happy hour and mellow vibes.

  • Liked — location right on the beach
  • Disliked — Bland food
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank savvy_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2008

My partner and I stayed 6 nights at the end of November and wish we had spent longer. Sea Star is truly paradise!
From check in to check out, the staff were fantastic and more than helpful. The restaurant staff were attentive and friendly and remembered us after the first day. Breakfast was included which was a choice of one food item (eggs, omletes, pancakes etc) and a drink (coffee, juices etc). though not big, it was the perfect size. We had a few dinners there which were also very good. Do walk up the driveway to Blue Sky restaurant - we loved it and had meals there a few times as well - cheap, friendly and huge selection of meals. There are plenty of choices along Long Beach - we also liked Eden Bar, Mays restaurant on the road near town, and Buddys ice cream in Duong Dong town (toasted vegemite sandwiches!!). You can walk to town (20 mins) or 20,000 dong for a moto taxi.
Our beach front bungalow was perfect - set in the sand with air cond & mini bar / fridge, spacious room, huge shower and bathroom, but the beds were rock hard (like all of asia). The balcony had recliner chairs and, my favorite, a rocking chair, to watch those amazing Phu Quoc sunsets. The room was cleaned every day. Each morning, the staff swept the beach so there was no rubbish anywhere - unlike some other parts of long beach. We did see a lot of rubbish along the shore all over Phu Quoc. Hopefully the locals will learn not to throw all their rubbish into the sea. It was the only down side of our time in Phu Quoc.
The hotel organised an 'Easy rider' tour through the north of the island which we loved. Yes it's bumpy and you do get covered in road dust, but the places and experience were worth it. Our drivers were full of great information.
Honestly, our stay at Sea Star was one of the best stays we've ever had of all our travels world wide.

  • Liked — Everything! Sunsets from the balcony...
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KGB_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2008

What a wonderful place to stay. We booked a beach bungalow direct with the hotel and when we arrived we had exactly what we had asked for a bungalow on the beach which open out directly onto the white sands. Beautiful evenings watching the fantastic sunsets across the bay. The beach is swept every day and the apartment are very clean and have hot water & air conditioning. The staff were extreemly helpful, expecially Mr Chew who's english was excellent. We booked a wonderful diving trip through them (with Vietnam Explorer) inthe south of the island and spend an amazing day diving the reefs. One trip I would not recommend is explorering the north of the island by motorbike (go by car), the road are unmade and its very tough going on the back and bum lol.....

  • Liked — Everythin
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank whozsoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
0.5 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 46 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 46 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
9.9 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#8 of 97 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 97 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
1.2 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#10 of 97 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.3 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#2 of 97 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc

Property: Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc
Address: 98/2 Tran Hung Dao Street, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 95000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Duong Dong
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Duong Dong
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
#6 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc is situated on the beautiful Long Beach, offers simple and comfy accommodation with free WiFi access in its public areas. The resort is proud to have the nicest stretch of Long Beach with natural shade from Malabar almond and coco trees. It was designed its rooms and bungalows with respect for the environment and sensitivity to local culture, a combination designed to give our guests a peaceful and rewarding experience. We strive to exceed the expectations of our guests in every facet of our service. This means bigger rooms with spacious veranda, genuine local hospitality, complete tranquility and excellent value for money. Trip for leisure, recreation and holiday purposes, Sea Star Resort is an excellent choice for your stay in Phu Quoc Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Star Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Sea Star
Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing