We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and awful service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Duong Dong
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced and awful service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I are currently staying at this resort and we are extremely disappointed with the service and the room for the amount we are paying ($85/night). We're looking at leaving tomorrow to stay at another resort on the island it's that bad. We have a seaside villa and there is no doubting that the beach is lovely and the view beautiful but aside from this, the resort has little to offer in light of what we have found out there.
We sleep on a firm bed at home but the bed here really is exceptionally hard, we are talking sleeping on concrete hard, we tried to alleviate the problem by using our sun lounger cushions to relieve the pressure and this helped marginally but not enough, we tried to explain the problem to reception and we were laughed at before they called someone else to deal with the issue, we asked for a couple blankets or duvets to try to help and we are still waiting for them to arrive after 3 hours waiting and having reminded them twice, we were finally told they would drive later night sometime!
The breakfast is below average and I would recommend you by fruit off the beach sellers for better value for money. The staff are sullen and don't greet or say hello, except for one pleasant fellow in the dinning hall. The rooms are not cleaned properly daily, they are swept out and the bedding barely straightened but otherwise nothing else is done.
Now it might sound like I am difficult to please but we have travelled in Thailand, Vietnam and Cambodia alot and have stayed at numerous places ALL of which have been significantly better than this. With new establishments going up on the island (yes we went for a look at other rooms, were greeted well and shown rooms all will proper matresses and equal if not better facilities at much cheaper prices $35-50/night), this place will not last long. It was the pick of a poor bunch but times are changing.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    243
    77
    38
    11
See reviews for
71
404
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I are still at the resort, but figured I'd type the review while it's all fresh. Overall, it's very basic, but not awful. Don't think the beach villas are worth the $85 considering you don't even get a kettle and the mattresses are the cheapest, hardest mattresses money can buy. We like firm mattresses, but after almost no sleep the first night, we resorted to using our lounge chair cushion and asking for an extra duvet to try soften our sleep. I'm not joking....If it wasn't for the mosquitos, I would probably opt to sleep on the beach instead. On that point, last night I had to walk to reception (oh yes, also no phones in room) 3 times to ask for an extra pillow. This time was after we had gone for dinner, so I'm talking about a period of 3 hours.....I think this kind of service is unacceptable.

Pros
- Decent location
- Good Beach area
- Satisfactory room size
- Airport shuttle
- So far rooms seem to be well cleaned
- Wireless Internet

Cons
- Rock hard foam mattress
- Poor service
- Flies all over fruit at breakfast
- Very limited and disappointing breakfast offering
- No Beach towels
- No kettle in room

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank CraigL78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thai P, Director of Sales at Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Craig,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and your recent stay with us, It is foibles and encouraging to learn and serve better in next time.

We are looking forward to welcome you again during your next time travelling to Phu Quoc Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We've been lucky enough to have travelled to Vietnam on 7 occasions in the past 5 years, and on 6 of those occasions we have travelled south to Phu Quoc and Sea Star Resort. This is not a luxury resort BUT if you want to relax on a beautiful clean beach and away from the crowd Sea Star is the place. It's $2.00 away from the down town and nightly sea food street cafes', only minutes walk away from many restaurants on the highway; if you need them. Sea Star must be in the best position on the island and as such the cheapest place 'on the beach'.

We just love this place for the simplicity that has been maintained by the wonderful management [Mr Phu] and staff. Over the 5 years that we have visited very few changes have occurred although the choice at breakfast has been increased dramatically [I did note the criticism earlier by one of the members].

At the time of our last visit [Jan/Feb] TET or Chinese New Year was being celebrated and many restaurants [including Sea Star] were closed with exception of breakfast. If you are Vietnamese it's a great time, if you're a visitor its not so good because of the many closures.

The place is super clean and serviced daily, the bungalows at the beach are the best!, airconditioned, a refrigerator provided, the water is hot and the sand is clean. It's got a TV and Wi-Fi.

The restaurant at the resort serves up the best simple Viet food and will entertain any request that is made. Generally we stay and eat at Sea Star as there in no reason to leave, other than to do some exercise walking on the beach to the occasional beach bar and a cool drink.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard4801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bydgoszcz
Level Contributor
132 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

When you want to get away from everything and just immerse yourself in peace and quite just go to Sea Star. We had a great time there. For the first two days we had stayed in a garden villa, but when it turned out that the villa on the beach was vacant we decided to move. It was great. You just go out of the room and step on the warm sand:) Our son just loved it. Unfortunately, the price was quite too high for the villa. The first bungalow was in the second raw and it had a great view as well and the price was lower of course. But we didn't complain because the beach villa was marvellouse ( and it is bigger as well).
The room was cleaned every day and we got two bottles of water as well. Breakfast was simple but tasty. I loved those small, warm doughnuts.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed in the beach villa in December 2013, paying $85/night. We had booked online, following the great reviews, and the only room available was their most expensive (this was 4 months in advance). We had a lovely stay, and really enjoyed ourselves, but it didn't quite meet expectations considering the price tag. This was the most expensive part of our trip, but in terms of the room and facilities, it was pretty average compared to other hotels we had stayed in for half the price. So in the end, you're paying for the location. And what a location - the beach is arguably the best stretch along Long Beach, with lovely sand (groomed daily), a wide stretch to the water, and palm trees shading the lounges. (Plus they had several massage beds in the corner under some trees, offering a full body massage for only $5USD). And the positioning on Long Beach means its a comfortable 20-30 minute walk to the town and night markets.

The room was adequate (rather basic, with a hard mattress), and with a mosquito net around the bed, but not the luxury we had expected - but perhaps we got the leftovers considering it was their last room available. We've read mixed reviews about the breakfast, but we found it to be rather nice.

Our 'beach villa' was right on the sand, but the villas behind us still had a great location and were significantly cheaper (according to the website). So all up, we would certainly recommend a stay here; but the garden villas would be much better value in our opinion.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stugcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I was traveling with my wife and another couple, and we'd all booked garden rooms. When we arrived, we were told that one of the beach view rooms had opened so we upgraded for an additional $10 US a night ($66 total)--well worth it to be so close to the beach IMO. But the garden rooms are lovely as well. Massages are available on the beach, under palm trees, for $5 for 45 minutes. The staffers were very nice and helpful when calling cabs, renting motos, etc. The rooms are simple but clean and there's plenty of space. The AC worked well, although we were rarely in the room except when sleeping (we lounged on the lovely beach and explored the island). Easy proximity to other restaurants along the beach, and a cheap cab to the night market or restaurants in town. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ztakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Nice basic bungalows on the nicest part of Long beach. We had wanted beach bungalows but only got sea view bungalows which turned out to be perfect. Seaview bungalows are individual and the terrace gives you privacy while the beach bunglows are two together and with people on the beach just in front of your terrace. Mr Pho in the reception very helpful! Breakfast stops at 9 sharp and is quite poor as reported by several other TA members.

Room Tip: Go for seaview bungalows!
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MrPinefire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
0.5 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 44 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 44 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
9.9 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#8 of 95 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 95 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
1.2 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Famiana Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
#11 of 95 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.3 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#1 of 95 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc

Property: Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc
Address: 98/2 Tran Hung Dao Street, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 95000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Duong Dong
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
#6 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc is situated on the beautiful Long Beach, offers simple and comfy accommodation with free WiFi access in its public areas. The resort is proud to have the nicest stretch of Long Beach with natural shade from Malabar almond and coco trees. It was designed its rooms and bungalows with respect for the environment and sensitivity to local culture, a combination designed to give our guests a peaceful and rewarding experience. We strive to exceed the expectations of our guests in every facet of our service. This means bigger rooms with spacious veranda, genuine local hospitality, complete tranquility and excellent value for money. Trip for leisure, recreation and holiday purposes, Sea Star Resort is an excellent choice for your stay in Phu Quoc Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Star Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Sea Star
Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing