We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
Nearby Hotels
Anja Beach Resort & Spa(Duong Dong)
$117
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cassia Cottage(Duong Dong)
$98
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phu Van Resort(Duong Dong)
$65
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$288
$253
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,019)
Filter reviews
2,019 results
Traveler rating
1,520
372
89
26
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,520
372
89
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench colonial stylepepper tree restaurantsorbetcold towelspeppertree restaurantphu quocfour poster bedlive bandgarden villaturn down serviceour honeymoonmain buildingperfect endwonderful hoteleach eveninglush gardensprivate beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,080 - 1,085 of 2,019 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2013

From the moment we were met by a courtesy bus at the airport for transfer to the hotel we were in the hands of young, efficient and enthusiastic staff. Our stay was for 7 nights in a deluxe room situated about 80 metres from the main building. We were met by the Marketing Manager and immediately brought to Le Bar for refreshments where reception formalities were completed - far more welcoming than standing around in a lobby of the hotel which we have previously experienced. We caught our first glimpse of the lovely palm fringed beach at dusk. The grounds are lush with jungle vegetation and very well maintained with lovely brick pathways and old style lighting. After our intro, we were guided to our spacious room with a huge double bed complete with large mosquito nets which were very welcome. The room had a lovely veranda surrounded by abundant foliage.Coffee and tea facilities in the room together with evening maid service with fresh towels, toiletries, coffee and tea refills together with a fresh pastry. The main buildings are in a two storey colonial balcony style and all areas are staffed with very friendly and well turned out staff. Reception is friendly and efficient and well staff. The next building towards the beach contains upstairs restaurant breakfast room, downstairs bar and lounge all with ample outside tables and again with excellent service and attention. The breakfast buffet is excellent with egg station, traditional British, American, Continental and best of all Vietnamese breakfast choice. All dining aspects were first class. The Peppertree fully deserves its' reputation as the best dining on the island. Both the pool and beach areas were very well catered for with sunloungers, umbrellas and towels with many attentive staff looking after us. There was also a very good waiter service in both areas. There were many organised evenings throughout the week, beach bbq, Vietnamese Street Food and beach movies for example. Also day tours can be arranged from the hotel and will be booked using a safe taxi company. The beach is very well maintained by hotel staff - however adjoining public areas do not bother with cleanliness and that possibly explains why adjacent establishments are cheaper as previous persons have mentioned. This hotel lives up to its' grading and is a credit to its' staff. We spent a wonderful week at La Veranda and are planning our return. We do not have any complaints whatsoever.

Room Tip: All rooms very good from the Deluxe through to the Seaview are of excellent quality. We were lucky enough to experience the villas for our last 3 nights and feel that the extra is worthwhile.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLEETWAYLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La V, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear FleetwayLondon,

Thank you for taking time to express the thoughts of your wonderful week with us on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and the hotel in general. We are delighted to read that you have truly enjoyed your days at our oasis of peacefulness and tranquility and were satisfied with the overall provided service.

Rest assured that your compliments have gladly been shared with the entire team and It is always such a joy for them to see that our guests have taken notice of the extra special things we do.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again to our Resort. Please feel free to contact us directly for any assistance you may need prior placing a new booking and thus making your stay with us even more memorable.

Warmest Regards,
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We recently spent 5 days here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Reception staff were very efficient and friendly. We had a sea view room but having booked it back in January, we were disappointed to see the numerous palm trees largely obscuring our anticipated view. Indeed whilst there, the hotel enlarged the beach area and planted many more ( small) palm trees along the grass fringe. This may eventually cause total blockage of any remaining sea view. Understandably, the environmental regulations may prevail, but advertising a sea view under the current natural conditions is misleading.
Also, it appeared to me that the General Manager was on site while we were there. He spent more time with staff and what appeared to be a government official, than with the guests. I have had years of hotel industry experience in my past. You get more repeat visits by management directly meeting clientele. We are English speaking guests and he too was English speaking. It would have been easy to come over and at the very least introduce himself, rather than remain somewhat aloof.

Otherwise the room was fine and the bug netting most appreciated. Food at breakfast was plentiful and sumptuous but prices for lunch and dinner, as noted in other review, was more expensive than the value of what gets delivered. We ate dinner next door at Phuong Bunh for a fraction of the cost and for a better variety of Vietnamese food.

The lush jungle like foliage adds a nice tropical touch to the architectural colonial elegance.

We walked the beach in both directions. Heading off to the left of the hotel finds one encountering some hotels, but little attention is paid to garbage that washes up, making the sight un appealing. The beaches are cleaner and hotels more plentiful on a walk to the right of the hotel.. If the anticipated tourist explosion occurs, authorities would be well advised to ensure clean shorelines, all along Long Beach.

Room Tip: Don't waste any time in Duong Dong town. It has little to offer from a sightseeing perspective.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryStein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La V, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear LarryStein,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay on TripAdvisor and for your candid feedback about La Veranda. We appreciate all feedback as it gives us an opportunity to know how we are doing and where we can or need to improve.

I am sorry to read about your disappointments about the coconut palms limiting part of your view to the sea. Actually, we are trying to find a positive solution for this. Whilst the palms have been thinned to allow for mainly direct sea-views, we are not able to, nor willing to cut the trees down. We will recheck all of the views again to see if some additional pruning is required to ensure that the majority of the view is sea view. At the same time, we would like to clarify that the new plants you mentioned are not coconut palms and do not grow tall so there is no concern about having future views obscured.

Regarding the person you mentioned and understandably believed was our General Manager, in fact he is the owner of the property, and he was here to ensure that the team provides the necessary attention and service to our guests as well as to deal with Governmental issues whilst our General Manager was not present.

In terms of the quality and pricing of our food, we firmly believe that both of our restaurants provide exceptional value for money if we compare apple to apple. A meal at Le Jardin is designed to cost an average of USD 12, with beverage, which is good value for a property such as ours. We always stress that we are not in competition with our beloved neighbors, whose properties are of a very different nature to ours.

Regarding your comment about the beach, we are continuously working on several environmental initiatives with the local community to ensure that we can create awareness in an attempt to reduce the amount of rubbish and waste on the island and how it is dealt with for the benefit of all for the future.

Thank you for your nice comments about our efficient and friendly staff, and room with architectural colonial elegance. We sincerely hope that we may have the chance to better serve you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We were recommended this hotel by a travel company in London who booked it and was told this is an excellent place to relax.

The hotel is a lovely place with a nice pool and large bedrooms.

Though I am not criticising the hotel, for the price it is compared to other beach accommodation in SE Asia I think there are a few problems with it.

The restaurant service was terrible. We were waiting 25 minutes to get our drinks on the 1st day. Overall the service is slow and some of the staff seem confused about orders and even delivered to wrong tables. The food itself is was ok though the final night meal we had was nothing special.

I suppose the main issue is the cost. Drinks are almost 4 or 5 times more than other places on the the beach close by and the food at the resort would be similar prices to some European cities. If the food was top quality then ok but for the cost I didn't think it was great and other places close by served good food for a fraction of the cost.

Also breakfast was a bit of a melee with the entire hotel it seems descending at once. Only on the last day was the queue for the eggs short enough to have as other days is was a lengthy line so I didn't bother.

The wifi didn't really work throughout the resort and was frustrating as signal kept dropping and the power kept tripping in our bedroom for some reason

There was building work next door that started early.

I have stayed in many other islands in Thailand and though the hotel is in a lovely setting, it is a big place with a lot of guests and for the price of everything I have been to better places.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank woodentom1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La V, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Woodentom1110,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at La Veranda Resort. We are sorry to note that your personal experience of our property did not meet your expectations.
We sincerely regret not having been able to fulfill to your satisfaction the service time of the food. Please be assured that we will work to improve the training of our Food and Beverage team in order to deliver a better service and to transmit kindness and warmth to our valued guests.

Concerning the quality and pricing of our food, we believe that both our restaurants provide exceptional value for money. A meal at Le Jardin is designed to cost an average of USD 12, with beverage, which is good value for a property and setting such as ours. We always stress that we are not in the business to compete with our neighbours and we do believe that variety is important for our guests.

About the Wifi, we have shared your comments to our relevant department with aim of taking the necessary steps to avoid a similar inconvenience in the future.

We hope that you will give us another try on your next visit to Phu Quoc so that we can provide you with the La Veranda experience that you truly deserve.

Warmest Regards,
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

In general we found the hotel comfortable and pleasant.This said, it is not really in the luxury category. For a hotel on the high-end room rates of the island one could expect personnel with a comfortable level of the english language, so that we do not have to make a puzzle of the sounds they make and turn them into words. They may all be of good will and do try, but management must make a bigger effort here.
Then we found the prices for coffee and tea (simple everyday drinks!) outrageously expensive, even compared to the high prices we are used to in the west european city where we live.Let alone the prices for mediocre wines.
Then the beach. It looked so nice and LARGE on the website picture, but it was much smaller and although the hotel beach was cleanish, on the left and right it looked like there is a big problem with local waste management (or awareness?) and what can be a pristine beach and the pride of the island was a big disappointment.It did not invite to go and swim in the sea.All kinds of flotsam in the waves.
As far as activities there's very little on offer for a hotel that calls itself in the luxe category.
We would have liked some watersports equipment (sailboat, kayak, etc.)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 497henna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La V, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear 497henna,

Thank you for writing about our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and definition of luxury. Despite this, we are glad to note that you found La Veranda comfortable and pleasant nonetheless. We are always surprised when we hear a guest say they do not consider our property an experience in luxury since this is such a contradiction to the many opposing views we do hear from our other guests. It is a pity that you could not voice your concerns about our property to us during your stay. However, we do respect all our guests feedback and certainly receive it constructively.

Concerning your comments regarding our drinks, we are simply baffled. Our imported Italian Lavazza coffee is priced at USD 4 for a cappuccino, our local Vietnamese coffee at USD 2.5 and our TWG teas imported from Singapore at USD 4.5. We believe these are very fair prices for what we are serving and certainly no more than what one pays in Europe these days, if not much cheaper, considering the setting.

Concerning your comments about the beach, for your information, we do have a team that cleans the beach every morning as one of our responsibilities towards the Phu Quoc island environment and nature. The “waste management’ issues you raised are rain water outlets and no more than that.

We do hope that you will consider staying at La Veranda in the future so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and service for which we are known.

Warmest Regards,
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at La Veranda Resort for 5 days in March 2013. It was our first visit to Vietnam and Phu Quoc island. But we are very glad to have chosen that hotel for our stay. It's extremely well situated and has a very nice architectural french style which can hardly leave someone cold. It's like a place from a fairy tale. Real tropical paradise. And what unforgettable sunsets there! Evenings we spent our time on the beach watching the sun slowly going down right into the sea..That was really breathtaking.
As for the hotel team, thank you very much. Everybody was very helpful and friendly. And we were absolutely delighted with the live music band in the restaurant. Wonderful songs and just a superb performance. We highly recommend that hotel to everyone who wants to have a nice stay on the most beautiful island in Vietnam.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatiana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La V, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Tatiana Z,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Phu Quoc Island. We are glad that you had such a memorable experience on the most beautiful island of Vietnam in general and at La Veranda Resort in particular.

We highly appreciate the positive comments you have made on Trip Advisor and it will be a big encouragement to all of our staff as we always strive hard to exceed guests' expectation. More important, we believe that your review and recommendation will be very helpful and valuable to further travelers.

We look forward to having you back with us at La Veranda Resort in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews