We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good value”
Review of Coral Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coral Bay Resort
Ranked #14 of 103 Duong Dong B&B and Inns
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“not good value”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

If these bungalows were charging $50 a night then there wouldn't be too much to complain about, but at over $100, even for Phu Quoc, it was way over priced.
The beds did not even have proper matresses, just a square of latex and cheap foam pillows.
The bathroom was a huge tiled room with a shower in one corner, I think it was supposed to be a 'wetroom' but it just meant that the whole bathroom floor got wet and slippery!
Breakfast was just about ok, but it would'nt take much to cover all the dishes with a bit of clingfilm to stop all the flies just sitting on everything.
In it's favour the beach loungers are nice and comfortable and it is in the best part of the beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    42
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
15
59
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

There is a personal touch to the resort, being a family owned establishment which gives it a certain charming quality albeit sometimes quite familiar. The resort is still very new so it has modern touches and finishes but there are a few teething problems that they are working out. The rooms are spacious and cool. The food can be improved on but the location of the hotel also made it very easy to enjoy meals at establishments that are close by.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyKuhlmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The grounds are absolutely gorgeous, as are the rooms, and the ones closest to the beach have stunning views. However, the prices here are way too high for Phu Quoc. The drinks are double what you find at nearby restaurants, and the food is similarly pricey. They were out of a ton of things on the menu - I had to order four times before stumbling onto something they had, and it was pretty inedible (salad w/ huge chunks of lemongrass). Part of me wanted to give them a free pass on some of the kinks since they were just opened, but then again, when you charge these kind of prices in Vietnam, all thus stuff should be flawless. The absolute deal breaker is the noise from Rory's next door. We could hear and feel the thumping music into the wee morning hours, even though we were wearing earplugs. We notified management about the noise, and he admitted it was a problem but didn't apologize or offer a discount. At over $100/night for a room, that's just not really ok in my book. As others have said, I think this place has wonderful potential but has much to work out before they merit the prices they charge.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank WanderrlustAdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

As a previous comment was saying, this resort has a lot of potential to improve
Pros: the resort itself is very nice looking, beach area very clean and nice, rooms are new (quite simple though), location perfect (in the beach and just 7min by moto from the town in case you want to dine out)
Cons: mosquitos in the room (the 3 nights i woke up with many bites), bathroom extremely dark and no closed shower, meaning all the water will spread through the bathroom. These things made our stay just a little bit umcomfortable and should be improved in the future, as the price is not specially low (85 USD per night)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Borja_donosti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Decent size room, clean, and comfy beds. The grounds here are lovely and they have good sun loungers on the beach.
Breakfast ends early (in our books) at 9:30am and it was nothing great.

Rocosy is family run, which is great. The manager and his staff are very keen to make sure your stay is going well. Unfortunately they seem to have one family member floating around that let's them down. Not sure who he is, but I would guess the father / uncle of the manager. He was pretty rude on one occasion when he found out that we didn't rent a scooter through their hotel. Then the next morning the scooter had been moved into an adjacent plot of land without us knowing which was really weird and suspicious.

Rocosy have the infrastructure, location and the manager is keen to please. Given time to improve and iron out some kinks (which it needs to do to be worthy of the reasonably pricey room rates) Rocosy has potential to be a pretty good resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank smithy567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

After previous terrible experience in another resort, we found this hotel very clean, confortable and just renuvated. Staff is friendly, location is perfect. food is good (litle bit more expensive than the rest of the beach, but well done).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muzio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We booked 5 nights in rocosy and then stayed the rest of our stay there in phu quoc! The bungalows are adorable. A real homely feel to them.the rooms are well cleaned every day! Clean towels everyday and provided with 2 small bottles of water everyday too. The food was delicious, a real vietnamese taste! I highly recommend the hotpot and spring rolls. The staff made us feel so welcome and they are really efficient. The manager Kenny was so helpful and wanted nothing more than to make our stay perfect. The sun loungers are brand new and very comfortable. I must say I did actually cry when I left this place as Felt made real friends with some of the staff. Especially a young lad called hung. Very sweet and although their English is not the best they really do try and we had such a laugh with them. Best holiday of our life's! Will defiantly be returning in the future we hope :) Thank you rocosy! You were FAB . From Karen and Robert.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 different rooms all of them are fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karenchloe86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
0.4 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
1,096 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mai House Resort
Mai House Resort
#21 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
572 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lien Hiep Thanh Resort
Lien Hiep Thanh Resort
#7 of 103 in Duong Dong
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phu Quoc Kim Bungalows On The Beach
0.7 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#10 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Bay Resort

Property: Coral Bay Resort
Address: Hamlet 8, Tran Hung Dao, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam (Formerly Rocosy Resort)
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're a tourist or traveling on business, Coral Bay Resort is a great choice for accommodation when visiting Phu Quoc Island. With its location just 13.9 km from the city center and 5 km from the airport, this 3-star hotel attracts numerous travelers each year. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Bay Resort Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing