We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Langchia - Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langchia Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Langchia Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Langchia - Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Such a beautiful place to stay as a backpacker - a breath of fresh air. Originally I was going to stay at MushRooms but THANK GOD I didnt! A beautiful bar area with cool music drifting through with two hilarious Italian barmen. There is a cinema room where you can select to watch 2 films a night from a vast array of titles, some as recent as Gravity or Captain Phillips!
The bedroom is a large spacious breezy room with fifteen well spaced and positioned beds, each with a locker, a bed side table, a shelf, individual mosquito net and powerpoint (a reading light would've been good!).
The showers and toilets are outside with rainforest style showers and plenty of hot water. Three basins and a giant mirror make sure you look your best for the beach - only a 2 minute walk away from the hostel.
The staff are very hard working - always cleaning and making sure the place is pristine. They are smiley and always happy to see you. They can organise tours and trips, as well as taxis, motorbike and bicycle hire and fantastic laundry service.
The free breakfast is gorgeous - the pancakes are to die for!
I stayed here a week and didnt want to leave - made loads of friends and memories.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    30
    15
    11
    4
See reviews for
1
31
79
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

On a half year trip through southeast asia I had my longest stav at Langchia Hostel and I can really say that this is the best hostel I've been to during this time. It is superb modern, clean and painted on comfortably warm colours. But actually the best reason to stay there is the most friendly staff and the friendly atmosphere that makes you feel like home every day. This is the place where east meets west. People and architecture. So don"t be so picky and hesitate, just go there and try to beet the staff at table footbal/soccer. BTW the beach is very close and easily to reach by feet in one minute and you will not even half of the price like at the overrated beach resorts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hostel is lovely, well designed a clean, just a few things, could do with bedside lights, mosquito nets around the showers (at openings) and slightly thicker mattresses - but good overall response, nice traveler atmosphere and nice staff, although big dorms make it a little harder to mix if you're alone

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mekong2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

This small lovely hostel has à lot to offer. It contains of one bedroom with approximately 15 beds, so it's small and cosy. It offers free movies every night. When I visites they organised several great trips. We went to à desolated island by boat, had à bbq there and watched the sunset. It was really great! The vibe at this place is fantastic. The owner is à friendly young Vietnamese guy, who really tries to give you à good time. The place is clean, well run and offers hot showers and breakfast. Only downside is that this place is not on the beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willeke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

This place made Phu Quoc island all that more memorable. The staff were young and really friendly, the place was brand new and tidy. What set this hostel apart was its atmosphere making it perfect for solo or small group travellers. The 18 bed dorm room makes it really easy to meet people and organis activities. Good value for money and all round experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliot F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We can only recommend Langchia after having spent there three nights. All that has been mentuoned in the comments is true: relaxed atmosphere, good place to meet friendly folk from all around the world, friendly and helpful staff... Especially the interior design of the place hooked us. The 18 bed dorm is very charmingly done and they let the visitors draw on the white walls to give the room even more character. All in all an excellent island on a lovely island, which you should visit before mass tourism hits it in a few years!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pazifico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there in dez 13. Very nice and the cheapest backpacker option in the area (10$ direct booking, 11 on hostelworld breakfast included), sockets at each bed, drying area for wet things, 3 showers outside, 2 toilets, nice and clean area. Room is with 18 beds but I had no problems to sleep. Very quiet and respectful guests! Have been sleeping worse in 4 bed dorms ;).
Staff is very very friendly and helpful and makes everything possible (like helping to change date of the ferry ticket for although it was already paid at a travel agency in Saigon etc.)
No towels provided but you can buy or rent them. Laundry at the other side of the street. Bikes and motorbikes for rent.
They have 2 puppies that run around everywhere so no place if you don't like dogs. And maybe now you have to have a look at your stuff because they (the dogs) started "stealing" socks and shoes ;)

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank CarolaLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
0.9 mi away
Viet Thanh Resort
Viet Thanh Resort
#48 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 44 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 44 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hong Bin Bungalow
Hong Bin Bungalow
#32 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.3 mi away
Huu Le Hotel
Huu Le Hotel
#57 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Mer Resort Phu Quoc
La Mer Resort Phu Quoc
#4 of 88 in Duong Dong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langchia Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langchia Hostel

Property: Langchia Hostel
Address: 84 Tran Hung Dao Street, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are No. 1 hostel on Phu Quoc Island!! If you come once, you' ll be hooked!! You are invited to share our hobbies: watching movies on large screen and listening to classical music after hours of swimming and sun bathing. We are located only 1 km or 15 min walking from the center, 10 min by taxi from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Langchia Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langchia Hostel Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing