We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bungallows on the beach for the same price as obscure places up the road”
Review of Phuong Binh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phuong Binh House
Ranked #2 of 103 Duong Dong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
2 reviews
“Bungallows on the beach for the same price as obscure places up the road”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Spent a scarcely believable 19 days here, mostly just chilling at the bar, 5 meters away from the sea. Phuong Binh offers brilliant value, as the best restaurant on the beach is right here on site, and water and beer at the bar cost the same as in the roadside shops. So you really don't have to go anywhere, and I didn't :)

The bungallows are airy and clean, and the place is 100% safe, with the small local dogs standing guard at night:) The mosquitoes are there, but it's much less of a problem with the breeze constantly blowing along the shore. There's internet access in the rooms, and a generator is turned on every time the power goes down. No problem with bathrooms and water supply.

But the real attraction of this place is the family that runs it. Bic, Ngo and all the others are super-friendly, always ready to help with anything, making you really feel at home. There's also a special guest staying in for the high season, offering great music and inspiring talks at the bar, making your stay that little bit extra special :)) Just stop by, chat with these amazing people for a moment - and you wouldn't want to leave.

Room Tip: you really should go for a room with A/C, the ceiling fans aren't powerful enough to blow throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikhail_Zorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngô B, Front Office Manager at Phuong Binh House, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hello. I'm Bic from Phuong Binh House.
Thank you very much for your very nice review, Mikhail.
That was very nice to meet you.
We are happy because you were happy to stay here.
Thank you for everything.
We hope to see you again.
Phuong Binh House always welcome you.

Best wishes
Bic from Phuong Binh House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    78
    21
    5
    0
See reviews for
21
167
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Wallington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Having looked at other accommodation on Phu Quoc island we chose to stay at Phuong Binh House and it was a choice well made!! Initially we booked for two nights but quickly extended this to 10 days as we realised this lovely bungalow resort was the best place to spend the remainder of our trip before flying home. The food in the restaurant was consistently good - definitely the best of those we tried - the barbecued fish - eaten at a table on the beach in the moonlight - was excellent! Our bungalow was roomy, comfortable and clean and I loved being able to take a 30 second walk for my morning swim! Bic was always smiling and helpful and nothing ever seemed too great a problem for her or her staff. We will definitely be back - and, hopefully, soon! Zoe and Julian

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeKayC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngô B, Front Office Manager at Phuong Binh House, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hello. I'm Bic from Phuong Binh House.
Thank you very much Zoe and Julian for all.
And I hope that you had a nice curry soup at home.

Phuong Binh House always welcome you.
We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards
Bic and Phuong Binh House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

To be honest I found the whole search for accommodation in phu quoc quite stressful ( first time in 3.5 months travelling S.E.A). Decided last minute to go to Phuong Binh for 2 nights, stayed for 5 but could have stayed longer! Reasons being:

1. The staff were so helpful, kind and attentive, even to the point that Bic lent me her mobile without my asking for a job interview in Australia.

2. The food is really fresh, good portion sizes and compared to the surrounding places a lot cheaper.

3. The bungalows. As we had been travelling 'rough' for a fair while I really wanted aircon (which was available for a bit more). But it turned out not to be necessary due to the 2 x fans and close proximity to the ocean. Everything was new, clean and modern with a good number of well positioned power points which you will value after Cambodia!

The bungalows have small balconies, mosquito nets, clean and large bathrooms and BIG comfortable beds. They were also serviced Everyday and we were given fresh towels.

4. Sense of security: when our room was made up and the (barred) windows opened to let in some air, the staff member placed my on charge ipad under the pillow so that it couldn't be seen! Also, mates of ours had unknowingly left $10 in small bills in a pocket of trousers sent to be laundered, this was promptly returned to them.

5. The location, RIGHT on the beach, sun lounges available, convenience shops and other restaurants within 5 minute walk and it was quiet with still a fun atmosphere.

Since I am raving, I feel it only fair to warn you of a few things that could be improved but do not in any way detract from my 5 * rating:

1.The breakfast menu could use a bit of diversity

2. Making a reservation was a bit difficult but perhaps Bic will put up the best way of reserving from this review:)

3. If you are an uber wifi addict it can sometime be slow but always worked!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nixident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngô B, Front Office Manager at Phuong Binh House, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hello. I'm Bic from Phuong Binh House.
Thank you very much for your review, nice detail review and very nice of you too.
It helps us to know how to improve our services and the accomodation quality.
Our website is coming soon then making a reservation will be easier.
Thank you for everything.
And see you again.
Warmest ragards
Bic and Phuong Binh House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Phuong Binh is a new resort and the rooms are very clean. The bathroom is very spacious and the owner/manager, Ms. Bic, is warm and accommodating. She was very generous to have reserved beachfront bungalows for us. She facilitated all of our tours and took care of my group of 8 crazy ladies.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngô B, Front Office Manager at Phuong Binh House, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello, I'm Bic from Phuong Binh House.
Thank you very much, Meg for your good review.
It was very nice to meet your group with 8 young girls full of life and vibrant.
We hope to see you next time.
Phuong Binh House always welcome you.
Thank you, thank you.
Best wishes
Bic from Phuong Binh House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 1 night in one of the non AC bungalows. They arranged an airport pick up for us too which took away a lot of potential stress. Our bungalow was very clean and a good size. It had a lovely terrace at the front. The room itself was quite basic, however it had the essentials. We had dinner at the hotels restaurant eating the barbecued fish and we found the food to be exceptional. The restaurant is right on the sand and also offered a very vast cocktail menu. The beach is kept very clean, however the sunbeds they provide did not come with any cushioning and were uncomfortable.

We were due to stay here 2 nights, however we found the room was too hot at night and the ceiling fan just wasn't enough. We therefore had to move to another hotel that had AC. This place does have AC rooms, but they were all occupied. The staff were very understanding about our moving and only charged us for the 1 night.

We would definitely stay here again and would recommend this place, but it would have to be air conditioned.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominic F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngô B, Front Office Manager at Phuong Binh House, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hello. I'm Bic from Phuong Binh House.
Thank you very much for your nice review.
We really knew that you were not so comfortable to stay in the bungalow without AC.
This time of year is very hot because the rainny season is coming then All of our bungalos with AC (there are 7 bungalos with AC) were full before you come. I'm so sorry for that.
We trying to improve to serv you better services. I hope that you had a nice time on the island and hope to see you again.
Phuong Binh House always welcome you.
Thank you...
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
279 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I love Gregory omelette at Phuong Binh. Onions, Mushrooms and Cheese (melted).
this omlelette is favorite my favorite there.
overall their cooking skills make this place nber 1 choice for breakfast, dinner or lunch.
we also like grilled seafood by night.

Room Tip: book in advance to avoid disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djchrisblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngô B, Front Office Manager at Phuong Binh House, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. Gregory Lavier will be very happy to read your review.
Thank you for evrything and see you again.
Phuong Binh House always welcome you
Warmest regards
Bic from Phuong Binh House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We didn't make no plans on where to stay on Phu Quoc so looking back to it, I must say we were very lucky to find this place.Staff is very helpful and friendly and after couple of days, we felt like we were leaving the family. Bungalows are immaculately clean and there is a great restaurant on the beach. I am not really active on leaving the reviews after the travel, but out of gratitude to Bic and the rest of the team, this time this wasn't an option. Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadeCRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngô B, Front Office Manager at Phuong Binh House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your warm review. We hope that we can do more to get your cosy feeling like at your home. Hope to see you again.
Phuong Binh House always welcome you.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
0.2 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
1,097 reviews
0.6 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 47 in Duong Dong
567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mai House Resort
Mai House Resort
#22 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
0.9 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#2 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
1,103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Richis Beach Resort
Richis Beach Resort
#6 of 47 in Duong Dong
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuong Binh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuong Binh House

Property: Phuong Binh House
Address: Alley 118, Tran Hung Dao St, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Phuong Binh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuong Binh House Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing