We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean , tidy , friendly and only a handful of bungalows means not crowded.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Duong Dong
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the more pricey mango bay (next door ) As this is my review I am happy to say I found this place nicer. It's smaller , it's cleaner ( mango was full of flies on the tables and landing on me when I had an evening beer watching the sun go down) this place has freezing cold aircon . A huge bathroom, daily maid service. Nice big but slightly hard beds . A previous post mentions some damp. That is in the smallest cheapest room and its not that bad at all. We almost took that room. It's no biggy at all.

They advertise this place as a resort . Which does it a dis-service. It is a handful of nice little bungalows on a pretty empty beach. This for me was its appeal. Not large and overcrowded just small and pleasant . If you want a massage they call in a masseur. They do have massage beds down by the sea on a semi secluded area. So it is fair to say massage is available with very little notice.

If I had to give a negative then the breakfast is ideal for anyone on a diet !and the mopeds are average.( but they are cheap and not dangerous) But apart from that we were very happy with our stay.

Oh 1 last thing. Laundry is same day turn around and smelt really fresh .

Would I stay here again : yes

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CLEMOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 197 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Accommodation & rooms:
Rooms are nice and cleaned every day, some rooms are bigger than the others - we stayed one night in triple room, than changed to triple superior;
Our rooms (triples) were mosquito proof, glass windows, closing door;
It's not a resort, as the name suggests, more like a b&b;
Beautiful manicured garden, next to the beach;
The beach is clean and beautiful, private chairs and umbrellas, really amazing sunsets;
There is a restaurant set in the beautiful garden with view to the beach, drinks are cheap, but not much variety on the menu, and fresh fish you had to order in advance; one day we ordered fresh fish and vegetables and it was soooooo good;
Location is outside town, and it's a little expensive to go by taxi to the city.
Internet in the reception area, we were allowed to use their laptop.

The good & the great:
Family run, everyone working there is nice and friendly, miss them all! :)
Free airport ride when leaving.
Helped us go on the snorkeling trip with John Island Tours.

The not so good:
Breakfast is included but could be improved;Restaurant overall could be improved;
Not easy to communicate with the staff and owner, as they only speak a little English and French, but if you are patient and not too picky you will be rewarded :);
The nicest girl that works there speaks some English, you mostly communicate with her, she is very nice, and it was funny when she got our order all wrong;

The bad:
They didn't pick us up at the airport as we had requested, but we managed to get there by ourselves; unfortunately when we got there there was no room available for us, despite the reservation being received, I don't really know why... happily it all got sorted out in the end, since they had some rooms available;
Mosquitos at night in the garden.

Tips:
Mango Bay Resort which has a great restaurant (but really pricey - main dishes starting around 10$) is a 5 min walk from Coco Palm, you can get there walking along the beach, or through the main road; At Mango Bay the beach is rocky, not at all beautiful as it is at Coco Palm.

Phu Quoc: not a diver's paradise, and not much to see at snorkeling; wasn't impressed by Start beach either; the beach at Coco Palm is better :)

Overall we really really enjoyed our stay there, next time in Phu Quoc we will choose Coco Palm for sure, and I can't wait to go back.

The whole staff and owner didn't seem experienced in running a resort, but are friendly and willing to help, if you manage understand one another :). If you are picky about these kind of things I wouldn't recommend staying there, otherwise it's really worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alexandra_pad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This wonderful small hotel is family run by a family without hotel experience but they compensate it with a very friendly atmosphere. They have luckily hired a receptionist with some experience but evenso they managed to double-book rooms so we did have to change room twice.
The 11 bungalow rooms are better than the pictures shown by Agoda and the garden is fantastic and will be even better. They work constantly with the garden and are also building some more bungalows.
They have the best part of Ong Lang beach which is much better than Long Beach where we also stayed. They could without problem double the number of rooms without the place being crowded but I hope they dont because now it is perfect for couples/families who want to relax. If you want to party go somewhere else. It is far to the city so you have to take a taxi. On the other hand you can afford to take a taxi every day. It will anyhow be cheaper than a hotel on Long Beach.
The reastaurant service is not very quick but again friendly. The free breakfast is limited but extension cheap.
English knowledge is limited to poor.
Spa mentioned in Agoda page dont exist. The new international airport is on the other side of town so the taxi cost is min US$ 20

Room Tip: All rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank overum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have travelled extensively around Vietnam and was very excited to be staying on the beautiful Vietnamese island of Phu Quoc. Coco Palm Resort is a beautiful collection of well-appointed bungalows that nestle within a growing, green garden that attracts dragonflies and butterflies and leads onto a beautiful, golden sandy beach with clear blue waters.

Our room was simple and without frills, perfect for when we came back full of sand. A wet room is a brilliant idea and the well stocked drinks fridge allowed us to continue our festive celebrations into the night. Each room has air conditioning, daily fresh towels, hair dryer, own private seating outside and no TV to distract you from getting out and exploring this super island.

The beach is well located with clear blue waters and a group of coral rocks to the east which is perfect for exploring via snorkelling. On the beach there are also loungers and parasols to protect you from the hot sun.

The spa element of the resort is extensive as you as the guest can request the treatment you desire with the therapists visiting you either in your room or taking advantage of the massage beds by the beach for that extra level of relaxation.

The resort can provide a driver for you excursions (additional charges apply), snorkelling equipment to borrow and motorbikes to rent. The resort also have good connections with the island company 'John's Tours' who will pick up/ drop off at the resort. We enjoyed an evening of squid fishing and a day tour with this company and both were good value and enjoyable.

The free breakfast each morning highlighted the simplicity of a typical Vietnamese breakfast. This fuses together scrumptious French bread and either eggs or fresh fruit. Coffee is typically strong and I was even able to get a good 'ol fashioned cup of tea. I would definitely recommend the fresh coconut or banana juice. Lunch and dinner menus focus on the Vietnamese staples of rice and noodles. Food is cooked to order and if you desire fish this needs to be done in advance so that freshness is guaranteed. With a busy festive period some waits for food were lengthy but our hosts also showed a willingness to improve via constructive feedback.

The most memorable part of my stay were the hosts. They are perhaps the happiest and friendliest people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. They were very patient with my rusty Vietnamese and thankfully spoke English so that I could be clearly understood despite my own linguistic shortcomings. I was very sad to leave and look forward to returning shortly to share this wonderful place with my family.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank frannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Along with a 5 other friends (24-34 years old) we decided upon Coco Palm Resort after comparing reviews and finding a reasonable price over the Christmas period on the island. We stayed for a total of 9 glorious days.

First, the photos do not do it justice, I will hope to contribute some to give you a better idea, but this surpassed our expectations. We were greeted with a warm welcome, which continued throughout the entire holiday. The family who run the resort are kind, enthusiastic to learn English, as well as keen to help us improve our Vietnamese.

The location was about a 20minute drive from the main town area, costing around 140,000VND per trip. We did not see this as a negative, due to the fact that we had a quiet, beautifully kept beach with plenty of areas to snorkel just on the door step, whereas Long Beach seemed to be very busy and simply not as picturesque as the beach on our door step.

The resort is still in the process of making improvements, the rooms could do with a lick of paint in a few places, however the shower rooms and dressing area are well done and the rooms are of a good size, with a patio area overlooking beautiful gardens with the beach in easy view. Their is a spa service which isn't well advertised, ask at reception and they have a good selection of massages, wraps, manicures and pedicures etc.

The restaurant does offers beer and wine, however we had to buy spirits in town, there were however plenty of soft drinks available throughout the day. The food was of a very good quality, with the staff eager to take constructive criticism and advice on what could make the dish better. As the staff is quite small, being a large group, the food often took a while to come and didn't all come out together, however after the first day of waiting, we were happy to sit down at their restaurant and wait, as the staff are incredibly cheerful to be around and the food was of a quality worth waiting for and a good price. Having been to Mango Bay - just a short walk across the beach - we found the food to be of a much better quality at Coco Palm. If you do want food to all come at the same time, I would recommend Mango Bay for their efficiency (Plus, they do an amazing selection of cocktails).

All in all, for my first Christmas away from home with the family, I couldn't have wished for a more perfect holiday. Fantastic staff and a stunning location. I will definitely be back at Coco Palm Resort. Thank you all the staff for such an amazing Christmas!

Michelle Howie.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Miche H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This "resort" should be in a great condition as it is nearly new. But EVERY room already shows significant issues, starting from borken windows, to crackling walls and even worse, mould!

Also, the names states resort and spa, but there is none. So don`t hope for any kind of spa.

The beach is absolutly great, its the best 100 meter part of the whole area, with a very nice garden. In theory... Sadl, the beach is completley covered with rubbish and noone tales care. Also, during all of the stay the were building new bungalows. So big trucks drove through the garden, workers were laying in the beach area for the visitors, throwing there ciagarettes and rubbish everyware. Also there was contrustion noise from 7 in the mornig till 8 pm, EVERY day, even on sunday. After a complaint to the management, they promised that the work would be finished that day and that it would be quite for the rest of the stay. Simply a lie... It went on all the time.

The food ist very very bad in ths place, breakfast was very old bread, old fruits, very bad coffee. Also you had to wait 20 minuts just for someone to show up and another 20 for getting something. And this was while just 2 poeple were there. At the end 12 people were staying at the place, and it took forever. One couple waited over 40 minutes just to be asked what they want.

Also noneof the owners speaks english. Just one jung girl has to communicate with everyone and then you never get what you asked for.

Its really a shame, it could be such a nice place, but they have absolutly no idea of careing for visitors, they don`t care about the dirt and rubbish everywere and they don`t are about what you tell them. And it is unbelievable that rooms that are not even a year old are already so run down.

All in all it would be ok for maybe 20% of the money, but for that price it was the worst thing you could end up anywhere in Vietnam! Simple stay away from that place!

Room Tip: Best rooms are far away from that resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AntonMeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This resort opened in early 2012 and is a really nice place to stay. The accommodation is comfortable and clean, and a lot of thought has gone into the gardens and facilities.

The standard of accommodation was good value for money and we felt very relaxed here.

However ... the family who run this place are not experienced in the hospitality industry so the service can be slow. They also do not speak much English. We ate at the restaurant a few times, and the food was nice but took a long time to prepare. We suggest ordering well in advance. You could also eat at various other resorts and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank msgj603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
4.5 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 49 in Duong Dong
628 reviews
10 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Ganh Dau
473 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#6 of 112 in Phu Quoc Island
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cottage Village
Cottage Village
#19 of 112 in Phu Quoc Island
122 reviews
4.4 mi away
Thanh Kieu Beach Resort
Thanh Kieu Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Duong Dong
402 reviews
5.4 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#12 of 112 in Phu Quoc Island
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Ong Lang Beach | Near by Mango Bay Resort, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 950000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
#10 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range: $62 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing