We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mold in room ruined an otherwise good resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in Duong Dong
Canada, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mold in room ruined an otherwise good resort”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Resort has a fantastic location right on the beach. The resort provides cushy beach chairs for relaxing on the beach. The resort rooms look fantastic from afar but upon closer inspection the finishing is poorly done. For example, grout for the bathroom shower is messy, doors and windows aren't aligned properly and require excessive force to close.

I can live with the poor finishing but the room I was assigned had a very bad case of mold. The front desk wouldn't do anything and I had to stay in the moldy room. I think the front desk staff's hands are tied and management is no where to be found. The mold has been there a long time but they don't do anything about it.

Room Tip: If you must stay at this resort, make sure you don't get a room infected with mold
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hank y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    121
    71
    58
    57
See reviews for
59
174
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a wonderful stay at one of Arcadia's beach front bungalows (no.9). On arriving we had not pre booked and was also shown one of their equally wonderful garden bungalows but couldn't resist the view over their gardens and beach front. The bungalow was spacious with a massive queen size bed and living room area at the front opening out onto a veranda where you can watch the sun go down.
The only fault of stopping this resort being 100% was the lack of senior management as the staff running the restaurant were inexperienced and did not speak very good English so the restaurant in the evening seemed to be a wasted opportunity. However, on our last night the owner was there and seemed to be making some changes and was obviously present, so I hope this will improve as we had an excellent time and are thoroughly missing the wonderful beach / turquoise sea / blue skies and orange sunsets and our amazing bungalow and little gecko

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddie158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemsedal, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed 8 nights in a sea front bungalow in late February/early March. Paid quite a large supplement for the sea view, but could have saved that and stayed in a garden bungalow since we were not sitting on our terrace but always on the beach. Lovely beach and beautiful sunsets. Lots og nice local restaurants along the beach, do not miss The Spice House at Cassia Cottage. Staff were friendly, a few spoke some English, the rest only Vietnamese - so good body language a must. Breakfast was fine, and we only had one lunch here on the arrival day. With the location and space on the beach the restaurant could have a great potensial if managed better. Now it was always empty, and all the others were crowded. There are enough sun beds, but when returning from excursions we noticed that some of them were always taken by guests/backpackers from nearby BBs since noone was checking. Not smart! A short taxi ride to Dung Dong and the Night Market is only around 2 pounds in spacious new taxis. Great Seafood meals! Do visit Sao Beach and go on the boat trips to the islands south of Phu Quac and to the North. The best snorkeling was when we went out on a diving boat - cost a bit more, but really worth it. We did enjoy our stay in Phu Quac - do go now when it is still laid back. With the brand new airport that opened in December 2012 new resorts will be popping up at a high speed.

Room Tip: The bungalows are nice - but the supplement for the 6 seaview ones is quite high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gunnnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We have spent 5 days in this resort in February. Only thing we liked was good and silent location. And possibility to watch sunsets, the view was fantactic. Rooms were bad - we stayed at garden rooms with sea view - avoid them, if possible. Bungalows are much much better, especially sea front. Rooms needs refurbishment, bathroom was so small, uncomfortable and dirty, full of mould. Breakfast was average, but they do have fresh fruits and good coffee. Food is not covered against flies. By mistake we had first dinner at hotel restaurant - terrible and expensive. Better choice is to go to the town where you can find many restaurants with fresh and tasty seafood. There are not enough sunbeds on the beach, you have to get up early and try to occupy them to be sure you have a sunbed during day. Hotel staff friendly, but should be more customer oriented, trained and understand/speak English better. WiFi was extremely slow and sometimes cracking down.
Overall the value for money is poor.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ernes2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duong Dong hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is a slightly soulless place, where it didn't seem like it mattered if there were staff around or not. You can't really interact with staff, not only due to limited English (which is fine, we're in Vietnam), but also that they really don't care whether you have a good time or not. I felt an urge to run rampant around the hotel to see who would notice.

Reception staff were courteous but did the bare minimum. Bar/restaurant staff were nonchalant about everything, from the fact that they no longer had drinking water to sell, to emptying bins that hadn't been changed for two days in the toilets. These toilets were dirty and smelly. I walked back to room to use the toilet there instead.

Breakfast was not great in my opinion, they had an egg station with undercooked omelettes. Whenever I went to open any other station, there was never anything decent left. Flies all around the fruit. The only saving grace was the condense milk. We never had lunch here, because the place just seemed desolate. Although, they do make a great fried egg!

The rooms are nice, big and clean. We stayed in a garden bungalow. Everything in good working order. The only problem was that there wasn't a door for the bathroom, which is a bit odd.

Beach is lovely especially in the mornings when the water is clear and light blue, and the sun beds are comfortable...IF you can get one. There is definitely not enough to go around. The towels are a mixed bag of towels with some that looked like they had been washed way too many times.

This place has great potential, but not sure if anyone is doing anything about it. At the moment it seems to be doing the bare minimum to scrape by. There is definitely something lacking here, I am going to take a stab and say it's management.

Room Tip: There are three bungalows with bathroom doors if you're bothered by this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sunnies_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We had bad experience with this resort and we regret that we didn't read all the reviews before making our reservation.
They put us in a room without a private bathroom which is very awkward for the holiday. When i look back, i cannot believe that we did stay in that room with no private bathroom, no balcony and half smaller than the one we booked on hotels.com. We decided to stay in that room because they upgraded us to sea-view bungalow for the rest of our stay.
The manager named Thien whom we talked to via phone said he had no responsibility for what we saw on the booking websites which is very inappropriate and irresponsible.
Also, we found dry blood spots on the sheets thus we gotta call the front-desk asking them to replace it. Theres only one middle-age guy brought new wrong sheet, so we had to wait until he came back with the right one and changed the sheet ourselves as he was not in the room service team! Its was off time for them!
We shouldn't have had any complaints for the sea-view bungalow if they came make the room for us. Even we put the sign on the door but it was the same messy one as when we left the room. We never saw them come over!
The disappointment continued with the breakfast. Bacon was fatty, all the juices were sugary, food was cold and wasn't covered properly, omelette was undercooked resulted my boyfriend's diarrhea. NO MORE breakfast nor lunch nor dinner at this restaurant. We actually recommend you to check out Phuong Binh house or other places like Alanis cafe. 100% better!
It is a pity that their service doesn't meet the standard because i see a potential location here.
I wouldn't recommend this resort to any of my friends because for me it is not worth the price.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Tuyet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed for just three days in January and we wished we stayed more!

The rooms were just amazing. We stayed in the garden rooms and it was so quiet and peaceful. They were little villas so you had a lot of privacy and the beach was literally at your feet.

The beach was clean with clear water. You could walk along and check out the other resorts as well enjoy the walk.

We didn't eat at restaurant except for breakfast which was pretty good. They had an egg station and fresh fruits but it was pretty simple. They also had traditional Vietnamese breakfast food too. We didn't see anyone eat dinner or lunch there but if you walk down the beach or go into town there are a lot of places to eat. Especially if you are brave enough to try the market!

The staff were helpful and helped us work out what we should while we were there and helped us get a taxi back to the airport.

Overall, I would definitely go back as it is a great place to read your book on the beach and to unwind.

Room Tip: The beach rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oyster_bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
0.1 mi away
Mai House Resort
Mai House Resort
#21 of 99 in Phu Quoc Island
573 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kim Hoa Resort
Kim Hoa Resort
#15 of 47 in Duong Dong
247 reviews
4.6 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#13 of 47 in Duong Dong
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
1,104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 47 in Duong Dong
570 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paris Beach Phu Quoc
Paris Beach Phu Quoc
#9 of 15 in Duong To
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort

Property: Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort
Address: Ward 7, Tran Hung Dao Street, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get ready for an exotic getaway in one of the jewels of the Orient – Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam. Revel in the Gulf of Thailand’s crystal clear turquoise waters. Bask in the tropical sun on the golden sands of Long Beach, one of the top beaches in Asia. Soak it all up at Arcadia, the newest luxurious private beach resort. Located in the heart of Phu Quoc’s tourism- Duong Dong Town.The freshly opened resort, provides 19 guestrooms and 9 bungalow suites- each warmly designed to be the epitome of luxury. Each bungalow suite is built with coconut-thatched roof. This architecture perfectly blends in with the island’s surrounding environment; whilst, delivers you a tropical utopia. Designed with utmost contemporary interiors- all guestrooms boast of marble flooring and bathroom counter-tops. Our bungalow suites are engineered with dark hardwood floors and floor-to-ceiling windows for panoramic views. Every care has been taken to deliver an exclusive island beach vacation to our valued clients. The entire resort is beautifully landscaped- such that wherever the eyes turns, there are green lawns running into extensive stands of preserved native trees. Direct private access on Long Beach entitles you to the best of both worlds- natural setting with coziness of the tropical forest, and the warm sunrays dazzling on the crystal clear blue water. As one of the best beaches in Vietnam, Arcadia Resort promises you the beach vacation of a lifetime. Take one of the multiple daily flights that connect Ho Chi Minh City with Dong Duong. Or enjoy a 1.5 hours ferry ride up from Rach Gia or Ha Tien port. A brief interlude and you will soon be far away from the madness of metropolitan life, reveling in the calm waters of the Gulf of Thailand. Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort welcomes you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing