We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ward 7, Tran Hung Dao Street, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Name/address in local language
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Duong Dong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very nice resort and right on the beach.
Staff is quite friendly, English is their second language, but the staff make an effort, just smile and be patient and the staff will certainly help you out. We had absolutely no problem as reception and restaurant staff were fantastic!! We got upgraded to a garden view bungalow #1. Clean and very big. Unusual for Asia. Bed was comfortable and the air con worked well. Resort was clean, beach was clean. Not enough beach loungers.
Included Breakfast was basic, catering to Asians as well as westerners, but was tasty and plentiful.
We never had lunch nor dinner at the restaurant, instead opting to walk down the beach for delicious and inexpensive dinners.
Security was present at all times, which tended to keep beach hawkers at a distance.
Beach is within the resort, so no walk and beach towels are provided.
Arcadia is about 3 kilometers from town, so a taxi is in order as it is a long and boring walk.

Room Tip: Premier deluxe ocean view rooms, seen to have a obstructed view of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonSeidl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    104
    62
    45
    42
See reviews for
48
142
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

If you walk the whole length of Long Beach on Phu Quoc, you will find that the Arcadia has the best location, further north near town, the currents tend to wash up rubbish and the water is not as nice and clean and further south is more of a wilderness with very basic types of accommodation. The Arcacia hotel itself is certainly one of the nicest in the area, the bungalows are spacious and situated close to the water and the area is kept tidy and the watchman does not allow the beach hawkers to harass you when you lie on the beach. There is an open air restaurant which serves an OK breakfast included in the room price - but for other meals it is somewhat overpriced and not as good as the neighbouring beach restaurants. You will quickly realize that most guests go to the Phuong Binh Restaurant (on the beach, 50 m south) where the food is not only better and cheaper, but the staff endearingly friendly. We can certainly recommend to stay at the Arcadia for its location and facilities, but by all means experiment with the beach restaurants for your meals.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fluesnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
218 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

The location is good. you can stay longtime by the beach.
The receptionist is nice and professional but once staying there we realize Service is very poor. It seems the staff is inexperienced and, worse, they simply don't care about customers.
From the poor quality of the food I understand the staff in the kitchen is on the same page.
Would I come back? Never
Would I recommend to friends? Never

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank djchrisblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duong Dong hotels

Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

i really enjoyed my time at Arcadia. I didn't have one of the really nice bungalows that had a beautiful sea view...just a regular room. If you can, get one of the bungalows that overlook the ocean. My room was good. I found the shower odd in that it wasn't a partitioned area in the bathroom, just a shower head next to the sink. The restaurant was good, adequate breakfast, beautiful beach!

the grounds were gorgeous and well maintained!

You do need a taxi to get into town. If you are looking for a relaxed beach location this is a winner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthonyj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was quite disappointed with Arcadia. I booked a sea view room, and I did have a sea view, but I was on the first floor and everyone at the resort could see into my room! I would see the cleaners walking past, other guest, etc. Needless to say, I had to close my curtains most of the time. The resorts also says that it is close to the night market and other attractions which it is not. We had to take taxis everywhere or we could have walked for almost 45 minutes in the 35C/95F heat. I also had millipedes in my room, my friend had geckos in hers. The beds were rock hard. There was garbage in the sea. The breakfast was poor and the food in the restaurant was not good either. The staff spoke very little English and were not that helpful.
Stay somewhere else...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hjgirl_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Overall I thought the Arcadia was a good hotel. Pleasent staff, decent breakfast and lovely beech. I had a very relaxing time.

There is room for improvement though. The beach needs someone to clean the rubbish which has been brought in by the tide away - one day I saw a needle in the sand right by the hotel.

There could also be better advise on reception on activities to do on the island - there isn't much to do in Phu Quoc and we struggled with finding activities to keep us entertained. In the end we just booked tours with a very nice woman who was selling tours on the beech. The hotel staff were no help.

The hotel restaurant is overpriced for average food - although a nice spot for watching the sen set with a cold beer. The nightmarket in town, although a great experience also serves average food (my tip is to avoid the busiest stall as you will not get the best cooked food).

This hotel aims to be a high quality beach get away, but does fall slightly short of this goal. We enjoyed our stay, but did not find it exactly met the high price we paid. we would happily stay here again, but at a lower rate.

Room Tip: Noise from the surrounding bars and chickens may disturb light sleepers - I needed earplugs, my boyf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaR730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights with my girlfriend in mid-March, and we really explored what the hotel had to offer as we had to switch rooms every night (we didn't book on beforehand).

These are the pros and cons of Arcadia Resort

Pros:

+ Amazing aircondition units! Every room had the top notch model, and as someone who's travelled Asia for almost half a year I know how to appreciate a good breeze after a long day in the heat.
+ Breakfast is buffet-style, and is of incredible value! There's bacon, fried chicken, salad, fruits, anything you'd want for a nice breakfast. There are even members of the hotel staff making pancakes and omelettes at your disposal, great service. It's open from 0700-1000, and if you're on a semi budget like us, you can get two meals in a day from the breakfast, which is highly recommended!
+ Minibar in the rooms weren't overpriced as they usually can be, and contained beers, soft drinks and water.
+ Every room was equipped with a semi-large sized TV (42') and it wasn't purely in Vietnamese, there were English movie channels as well.
+ More than enough hot water for two people, and a lot of extra accessories in the bathroom, such as comb, razor, toothbrush, shampoo, conditioner etc,
+ The beach was close to all the rooms (50m walk tops) and the resort had its own part of the beach with towels and sunbeds at your disposal.


Cons:

- Wi-fi wasn't all that for a hotel of this standard, and it was nonexistent in some of the rooms.
- Tiles, showers, plumbing etc weren't really looked out after, and it showed in some of the rooms which really brought the overall ambience down.
- Contrary to the breakfast, the restaurant that opened at the same place later in the day was horrible. The food was okay, but it was overpriced compared to all the other restaurants and the portions were of laughable size, even in Asia!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ado D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
12.5 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 73 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House
2.1 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 29 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Paris Beach Phu Quoc
Paris Beach Phu Quoc
#2 of 11 in Duong To
4.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#9 of 73 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bauhinia Resort
Bauhinia Resort
#4 of 29 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort

Property: Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort
Address: Ward 7, Tran Hung Dao Street, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get ready for an exotic getaway in one of the jewels of the Orient – Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam. Revel in the Gulf of Thailand’s crystal clear turquoise waters. Bask in the tropical sun on the golden sands of Long Beach, one of the top beaches in Asia. Soak it all up at Arcadia, the newest luxurious private beach resort. Located in the heart of Phu Quoc’s tourism- Duong Dong Town.The freshly opened resort, provides 19 guestrooms and 9 bungalow suites- each warmly designed to be the epitome of luxury. Each bungalow suite is built with coconut-thatched roof. This architecture perfectly blends in with the island’s surrounding environment; whilst, delivers you a tropical utopia. Designed with utmost contemporary interiors- all guestrooms boast of marble flooring and bathroom counter-tops. Our bungalow suites are engineered with dark hardwood floors and floor-to-ceiling windows for panoramic views. Every care has been taken to deliver an exclusive island beach vacation to our valued clients. The entire resort is beautifully landscaped- such that wherever the eyes turns, there are green lawns running into extensive stands of preserved native trees. Direct private access on Long Beach entitles you to the best of both worlds- natural setting with coziness of the tropical forest, and the warm sunrays dazzling on the crystal clear blue water. As one of the best beaches in Vietnam, Arcadia Resort promises you the beach vacation of a lifetime. Take one of the multiple daily flights that connect Ho Chi Minh City with Dong Duong. Or enjoy a 1.5 hours ferry ride up from Rach Gia or Ha Tien port. A brief interlude and you will soon be far away from the madness of metropolitan life, reveling in the calm waters of the Gulf of Thailand. Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort welcomes you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing