We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”
Review of Hotel Sea Breeze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sea Breeze
Ranked #32 of 105 Duong Dong B&B and Inns
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Hard to write a review when you get off to a bad start, although we had reconfirmed our booking only the day before, they forgot to pick us up at the airport and had no booking for us. Having said that it is a nice comfortable hotel if a touch noisey. For us location was great close to night market and not far from beach.Air con good, bathroom clean, bed comfy, could do with blackout curtains.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeliBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    38
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
36
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed four nights at this hotel on the beautiful island of Phu Quoc. Unfortunately it's not located directly on the beach, but very near to the nightmarket. For going to the beach you can follow the street and turn right through another hotel – very easy. The room and also the bathroom was clean and well kept. We rented a motorbike on two days to see more of the island and went to beaches, where we were almost alone, which was really relaxing (Sao Bao Beach is great!).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChMBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

After looking for a long time for smth with a reasonable price in phu quoc i find sea breeze.

The budget room was with fan and not aircon but other than that perfect- big bed, nice clean showers. The staff doesn't speak too much english but they helped as much as they could and were very polite and nice.

If you're not looking for a resort this is a good place to stay in.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamsophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

This B&B is 5mins from the night market. 2mins from small shops selling daily needs and drinks. 4mins from a pharmacy. Location is amazing!

Rooms are pretty new and immaculately clean. A/C works. Sheets are clean and fresh but is not high in thread count (but this isn't the Ritz...) The mattress is firm but comfy. Pillows are a little flat though...

Hot water is standard. Tends to run a little low late at night (I think they run a solar water heating system.) Toilets also immaculately clean. Clean towels provided.

Reception speak enough English to get by, are responsive and always greet with a smile.

IMHO great value as compared to similar hotels within the same price range on Long Beach.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkWongKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Decent sized family room for 2 adults, 2 kids. Clean and had everything we wanted. Rented motorbikes from the hotel which was great. Great to be close to the night market - fabulous food. And you can walk to the beach through the Saigon Resort (where all the guests look rather sour!) which isn't too far away.

On the down side, our room (top floor) was very hot. The airconditioning unit probably isn't big enough for the room and we suspect the management know this as it was set to the lowest on 16 degrees, and was still very hot. We had to keep the curtains closed during the day to help keep it cooler..so much for the view. The owners said they got someone in to look at it, but it hadn't changed much on the 2nd night. Was rather uncomfortable because of this.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMFMNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincentia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Phu Quoc is written up in many guide books (including Lonely Planet) as Phuket in the making. It will be some time before that happens. In the meantime make the most of a very beautiful and relatively unspoilt island (in a tourist sense). Once you see the pollution in the harbour you could never call it unspoilt in an environmental sense. What a relief to get away from the in your face touts of mainland Vietnam. The people here are really laidback and friendly. My first couple of nights on the island I stayed at Beach Club but found it very quiet and too far away from food, bars & markets. I moved to the Hotel Sea Breeze right on the southern edge of Duong Dong township. Great location, relatively cheap, spotless rooms and friendly staff. A short walk to the night markets where the food is excellent. A trip to the day markets on the other side of the river is definately worthwhile. The roads on the island are terrible apart from the strip of bitumen between the southern resorts of Duong Dong and Mango Bay in the north but be patient and enjoy the island for what it is, not what the guide books might have you believe.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JoeN254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Aussie couple stayed here for 2 nights Oct 2011. Hotel has air conditioning (much needed), TV with plenty of English channel options, friendly staff (they were always smiling and you find yourself just smiling right back) and best of all great location - close to the city of Duong Dong as well as plenty of other restaurants with a mix of east and west cuisine. The power went off on our second night but the generator kicked in very quickly. We hired motorbikes from the hotel and had a great adventure ride around the island. The hotel is technically on the beach but trust me - you won't be swimming there. Breakfast is average only (Pho had what seemed to be 5 minute noodles in it). We had the room next to the reception - generally pretty quiet - but there is some noise so if you are a light sleeper try one of the upper rooms instead. Bed was quite hard but we coped. We had to ask for an extra towel (there was only one in the room) and toilet paper. These are small things and honestly, if I come back I will still stay here rather than one of the bigger and much more expensive resorts.

The following are a few tips for PQ in general:
1) Peppers pizza do Italy-worthy pizzas and pastas. Just 600m south from the hotel on the left of Tran Hung Dao St.
2) The French Crepe restaurant (opposite the Chom hotel, south of the Seabreeze) does an amazing breakfast - try the home-smoked fish crepes - simply awesome. The owner is from Brittany and moved to escape the bureaucracy back home. Is a font of knowledge for where to go on the island.
3) Night markets are a bit gimmicky/touristy - the fish and veg markets during the day are much more interesting (Tran Phu St next to the river). A bit shocking for even seasoned travellers in Vietnam was seeing the medical waste (syringes and IV bottles and lines) in the river itself.
4) The small village of Cua Can gets a mention in most guide books for the fun of crossing the rickety bridge on motorbikes. When we arrived this bridge was washed out. However, enter Cua Can from the other river side and experience an awesome little fishing town. Try and find the little road down to the beach front and you'll find a narrower, scarier, more fun little rickety bridge to cross (one person wide). Plus lots of boat building, fish drying and village activity taking place
5) An Tho markets in the far south are awesome. So much character - every scene an adventure and a photo opportunity. Some massive fresh shrimp for sale from really friendly old ladies - there is a corner BBQ place that will cook them to perfection.
6) Ganh Dau and Chuong Vic in the north west are a bit of a ride but again just amazing to see the village life in action. Take the road down the hill that is opposite the school and head down past some shops try and find the little alleyway at the bottom and you'll have a ball winding your way through narrow little alleys past fish markets and bars. There is a really cool pier (creaks and groans with every step) which is hard to find but worth looking for - you'll fill up a 16GB SD card in no time with photos. The locals all say hello - although one guy stopped me and wouldn't let me past until I had a sip of his killer spirit brew - it makes Vodka seem like water.
7) take and drink lots of water. Heat exhaustion headaches come on quick - so we found out the hard way. Repeat application of sunscreen a must.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shawn_Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
0.1 mi away
Sandy Phu Quoc Hotel
Sandy Phu Quoc Hotel
#12 of 47 in Duong Dong
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Toan Xuan Guesthouse
#38 of 105 in Duong Dong
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ha Noi Phu Quoc Hotel
Ha Noi Phu Quoc Hotel
#28 of 105 in Duong Dong
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hiep Thoai Hotel
Hiep Thoai Hotel
#24 of 105 in Duong Dong
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lavita Hotel
Lavita Hotel
#26 of 105 in Duong Dong
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunny Resort Phu Quoc
Sunny Resort Phu Quoc
#31 of 205 in Phu Quoc Island
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sea Breeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sea Breeze

Property: Hotel Sea Breeze
Address: Tran Hung Dao | 62A, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island KP7, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sea Breeze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sea Breeze Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing