We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality…………..”
Review of A74 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A74 Hotel
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Duong Dong
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed in the A74 Hotel in November 2013……….having booked 5 nights, I extended my stay for another 3 nights, partly because the weather was so good, but mostly because the location and quality of service at the hotel was so good……….the manager Bao and his girlfriend Hieu who run the hotel are just so remarkably friendly and helpful; nothing is too much trouble for them, I asked if I could have fresh papaya and mango every morning, because it was not on the breakfast menu, and it was supplied and I was not charged any extra…………the hotel is located very close to the beach, but without beach frontage; however, you can walk through the grounds of the resort next door, and if you buy your drinks from their bar, you will probably be able to use one of their sun-beds, as I did every day……………given the price, location, cleanliness of the rooms and the wonderful service, this little hotel comes highly recommended…...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 168 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a total of 5 nights, first 2 in a private room then 3 in dorm room (dorms don't seem to appear online but are $8pp pn, no breakfast).

Private room was a decent size and came with places to store luggage and clothes as well as fridge and tv. Room had brilliant air con as well as a fan. Bathroom was basic but clean. Wifi worked well in room, stopped working once but manager more than happy to sort it out which he did!

Dorm room: to save a bit of money we realised that the dorms are pretty quiet here. There's 3 of them 2 X 8 bed and one 4 bed which is actually only 2 beds as the top 2 bunks aren't used. The room was fine, if 4 people were in there it would have been extremely tight on space, room had a noticeable damp problem and slight smell. Bathroom was ok, more basic than private room and shower pressure wasn't good.

The staff, particularly the general manager make this place. He is so friendly and always goes well over and beyond to help you and make conversation, despite the crazy hours he works!

Location is good, 10 minute to night market. Beach is ok at this time of year, lots of jelly fish.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ollie1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Not much to add to what's already been written. This is a well-maintained hotel and a good value, especially considering most of the resorts on the island are triple the price. The rooms are small but clean and housekeeping comes every day. Rooms have a small window and don't have much of a view but if all you need is a clean safe room to sleep and bathe in, then this is the place. You can walk to the end of each floor for a common balcony with a view of the sea or head up to the 5th floor roof terrace. The A74 is on the ocean side of the street, and you're a short 2 minute walk to the beach. Room rates include a nice breakfast.

The real standout of the hotel is the staff, especially Bao the manager. He speaks excellent English, is helpful with booking tours and giving tips about traveling the island, and really goes out of his way to make sure you have a pleasant stay on Phu Quoc. If the owner reads these reviews: you should triple his salary.

A tip for budget travelers: A74 hotel has 2 dormitory rooms that sleep up to 8 (four bunk beds) plus a large bathroom. It's $8 per person. The rooms were vacant when I stayed there so there's a good change you could have the room to yourself for a steal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msinwdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I spent 4 nights here recently and thought it was great. The locaton is ideal just a short little walk into town. The manger was fantastic!!! very welcoming and ever so helpful. he helped us to arrange Scooters and taxi's around the island if it hadn't been for the fact we had already booked another hotel on the island we would have stayed for the duration. If you can get the seaview room get it! The view is great and you have a little balcony to just chill out on in the evening. 2 things that let it down a little: there were a few rats in evenings that came into the bar area but there was little they could do with this as it was open planned and drilling at 7:30 in the morning for maintenance work. But these things aside are nothing really major and the location room and staff more than made up for it.

Room Tip: Try and get the seaview rooms as you get a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We moved to this hotel after having a bad experience elsewhere and were shown around by the ever friendly Bao! The place is great value for money, it is spotlessly clean, the breakfast is good and the staff can't do enough to help you. They provide all the services you would expect like laundry and ticket booking and Bao especially always makes time to exchange pleasantries with you. It is close to town, the beach is only 200m away and there are plenty of restaurants and facilities right outside the hotel. The real stand out here are the staff, by far some of the best we have come across in 4 months of travelling!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipsqueakabubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile


Dont let the humble outlook fool you, the staff will make your stay so warm and nice.

We first got room with a broken window and were promised it will be fixed later on. We went out for a while so it was okay, but by the time we came back it was still broken. Bao at the reception was super helpful with everything we needed and made sure our stay was as nice as it could be. He moved us to a nicer room, and checked himself that the windows were okay and everything was good with the room.

The rooms are simple, but clean. The toilet might be a bit scary if you are used to better hotels. Breakfast was also simple, but it fills your tummy.

Once again Bao at the reception made our stay so nice it made up for everything what was missing or not as nice, for example the toilet hahhahahaha he speaks good English and can help you out pretty much with everything you need.

Will stay again when ever going to Phu Quoc!

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Kimmy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Yes, this is not a hotel you would go on your honeymoon, as it is quite plain and minimalistic.
But it's perfect if you spend a few days and you need to keep the costs as low as possible.
It currently offers a hostel - rent a bed - kind of thing with about 8 USD per night, while the cheapest double room is at 29 USD. Not bad if you are two.
It also includes breakfast, where you can choose one from a list of six dishes and something to drink. It's prices, if these things are not enough, are quite ok for a hotel.
The hotels is located on the main street to Dung Duong, close to all the resorts that are popping up like mushrooms. With that said, it seems obvious that the restaurants also in the area are aiming at attracting the wandering tourists. The prices they have are adjusted to that, but I'll have some reviews on those too soon.
This hotel has quite a character in it's lobby/cafe area and the personel is very attentive, especially Bao who is running the hotel and seems to have a great feeling for service and hospitality. He will try to assist in any question you have and solve any issues that may arise.
The hotel just finished a renovation when I got there, so there were some works the first day and I was cautioned about it. I didn't mind and it wasn't that bad either. Bear in mind that it is an old hotel and despite the renovation, you can still see the signs, but probably it's much better than before.
The sea is right behind the hotel and to get there, you need to enter a resort next door and walk down the beach. 3 minutes walking in total from door to water, unless you walk on four.
The center of the city is about 1km away, and you have to walk on the side of the road (as everywhere in Vietnam... hehe).
Now, the negative things. Cleaning service is currently having several issues. Nobody had entered my room (to fix it) after two days and the manager acknowledged the problem and promised to address it soon. He also proposed to go himself and clean it. The third day, when the cleaning service actually entered the room, they removed all the towels, without putting new ones, and they didn't updated the bathroom things. A word to the manager and it was fixed in a second. Together with the promise (mostly to himself) that he has to do something about that service soon. Also, the room I stayed had only one small window (but that layout is quite the norm in small hotels in Vietnam). The bed was a little hard, but if you do things all day, you fall asleep without noticing.
Also, there are several works taking place around the hotel, including across the street, so it can be quite noisy, especially when you sit in the breakfast area. The room's small window was not closing shut, so there was some sound from there, but didn't seem to affect my sleep. Maybe because I had the fan on and that was more noisy (there is an air condition as well).
So, overall, it is a plain small hotel, perfect for budget travellers, almost next to the sea and with a very attentive manager who will sort everything that might be wrong with your room.
I would definitely stay there as a solo traveller and travelling with friends. Maybe as a couple and/or family, I would choose something else. But of course, it always depends if you are a luxury traveller or a budget one.

Room Tip: Although the options are not too many, there is a sea view room with windows (I didn't stay ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geocapital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
1.2 mi away
Huu Le Hotel
Huu Le Hotel
#69 of 113 in Phu Quoc Island
18 reviews
1 mi away
Viet Thanh Resort
Viet Thanh Resort
#62 of 113 in Phu Quoc Island
222 reviews
0 mi away
Halona Hotel
Halona Hotel
#55 of 113 in Phu Quoc Island
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Yen Huynh Guest House
Yen Huynh Guest House
#27 of 49 in Duong Dong
3 reviews
1.2 mi away
Khanh Duy Bungalow
Khanh Duy Bungalow
#34 of 49 in Duong Dong
15 reviews
0 mi away
Bach Duong Resort
Bach Duong Resort
#22 of 49 in Duong Dong
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A74 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A74 Hotel

Address: 74 Tran Hung Dao | Phu Quoc Island, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island KP7, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Duong Dong
Price Range: $16 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — A74 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A74 Hotel, on beautiful, tropical Phu Quoc Island, just 35 minutes by "Air Mekong" from Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam. The A74 Hotel is “Simply the best” budget hotel on the Island, offering good, clean rooms, excellent friendly service in a creative environment. We love to welcome our guests to our friendly family style hotel, where we take a personal interest in both your comfort and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your A74 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A74 Hotel Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing