We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, clean hotel. Great staff”
Review of A74 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A74 Hotel
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Duong Dong
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a small hotel near the beach. No direct access to the beach from the hotel but it is only a three minute walk. The hotel is convenientelly located near Duong Dong with its great night market, highly recommended!
The staff, especially the manager, is very nice and helpful. And above all it is very cheap, great value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 169 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

The A74 is an absolutely charming little place that offers the perfect location -- three minutes from the beach, a short stroll into town, and a nice walk along the shore to the beach enclave. Clean, simple rooms with excellent air conditioning, cable tv, and wi-fi access. Power on the island goes out every couple of days but normally returns by sundown. Competent and kind staff; the manager is truly one of the best in all of Asia.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank newport-nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Vietnam - where language can be a major issue, has a saviour in the form of the hotel manager at A74
Well-spoken, he will try to make you comfortable in every possible manner. He even helped us get a metered taxi to the airport for our early morning flight

Pros:
1. Hotel is at walking distance from Long Beach
2. Bike rental possible nearby
3. Convenience stores close by - bargain well as in the absence of printed prices on the pack, you could get fleeced
4. Right on the main road but pretty quiet to catch up on a good night's sleep
5. Internet Speed was good

Cons:
1. Water pressure in the showers was an issue. Sometimes it would taper off right in the middle of a bath!!
2. Curtains needed on the window to prevent daylight from streaming in
3. You will have to lug your baggage up the steep staircase since there are no lifts

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jannat_Jahaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Nice hotel with clean simple room. All of facilities are not very good but easy to use and pretty
sufficient. The staffs are friendly and useful. The hotel is in re-building progress, so gets some mess thing. Good price for your choice of budget hotel. However the location is not very good. Recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dung F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Pros:
1. 2 mins walk to long beach
2. Helpful Staff,specially the manager
3. Clean & Spacious rooms
4. Centrally located

Cons:
1. Bathroom door lock was not working
2. No curtains on windows, it lights up the room early in the morning
3. U have to deposit your passport with them while checking in
4. No lifts

If you are on a budget but want to stay close to the beach, you can try this place

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank som_gc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were treated so very well here, especially by the manager. So polite, kind and helpful. He makes the hotel! The room was simple but clean and affordable. It's a few minutes walk to the beach which is great. The room included breakfast which was always delicious. I would go back there!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicole V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights after being told i had to leave "sea breeze" because my room was booked for that day. i was so relieved when i walked up the road to A74, and was greeted by the really nice guy at the desk (Bao) who said he had a room free which was cheaper and in fact nicer than the room i had just left. the air con was amazing, and the tv got alot of cable channels. the room had a small window but was still pretty light. at night it was very quiet. the laundry service was excellent, only took a few hours, was very cheap and was delivered to my door. the best thing about the hotel is Bao, it was my first time travelling alone and i found Phu quoc to be a difficult place to meet other travellers, so chatting to Bao at reception and in the restaurant kept me sane. he was so friendly and liked chatting about anything, the island itself, my life in england, it was really nice. he also let me print my flight itinerary from his printer free of charge. i didnt see any mould in my room like others have mentioned, and i would have known if there was any because it would have affected my asthma. i cant recommend A74 highly enough, dont bother with anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Flo723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
1 mi away
Viet Thanh Resort
Viet Thanh Resort
#64 of 118 in Phu Quoc Island
224 reviews
1.2 mi away
Huu Le Hotel
Huu Le Hotel
#73 of 118 in Phu Quoc Island
18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Halona Hotel
Halona Hotel
#57 of 118 in Phu Quoc Island
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Yen Huynh Guest House
Yen Huynh Guest House
#29 of 50 in Duong Dong
3 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bach Duong Resort
Bach Duong Resort
#25 of 50 in Duong Dong
10 reviews
1.2 mi away
Khanh Duy Bungalow
Khanh Duy Bungalow
#32 of 50 in Duong Dong
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A74 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A74 Hotel

Address: 74 Tran Hung Dao | Phu Quoc Island, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island KP7, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Duong Dong
Price Range: $16 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — A74 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A74 Hotel, on beautiful, tropical Phu Quoc Island, just 35 minutes by "Air Mekong" from Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam. The A74 Hotel is “Simply the best” budget hotel on the Island, offering good, clean rooms, excellent friendly service in a creative environment. We love to welcome our guests to our friendly family style hotel, where we take a personal interest in both your comfort and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your A74 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A74 Hotel Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing