We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners could not have been more helpful and polite .”
Review of A74 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A74 Hotel
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Duong Dong
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Paid $20 for good clean room. Anything I needed the staff were more than willing to help. Genuinely nice people who even made me pack lunch for free for early start. Top place

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tmccambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 168 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stayed at A74, for 7 nights in December, based on the good reviews from TA forum.
Sadly, we did not get to meet Graham & Tim - though the staff more than made up for their absence. Front of house staff were: Bao, Dang, Danh - lovely and very helpful staff, worth their weight in gold!

We stayed in Room 105 (seaview), first floor - there are 4 floors, so try and get the first floor, as there is no escalator, and I have seen poor Bao lug heavy suitcases up those stairs.

After a few minor hiccups; fluorescent light fitting needed replacing, and an absence of hot water which was fixed by Bao quickly and efficiently the rest of our stay went smoothly.

A74 is a budget hotel - so don't expect a pool or sandy beach on the door step. However, what it is lacking, sure makes up with the great staff, and the panoramic view from the rooftop garden - make sure you see the sunset!

Our seaview room was basic, had TV/fridge/fan/aircon/free wi-fi in the room.

Slight damp in the bathroom, but to be expected in this tropical climate.


2 points of improvement, or consideration:

If there was anything I would like to change would be to take the mothball tablets out of the closet, as the strong smell was over powering so much so that I did not hang my clothes in there. I have stayed in other Vietnamese/Asian hotels, and this is the first place I have come across where the moth ball tablets are used "generously"!

Another point I have is: in the WC is a toilet brush. It has no holder, so the toilet brush is laid on the floor, where if one isn't diligent in rinsing it after use, could pose health and safety issues when this room is also used as a shower/wet room - the proximity of the shower unit and toilet is close together with no divide screen. So the whole floor, and cistern gets wet when showering.

All in all, would we go back? Yes, as we found our stay at A74 a pleasant and relaxing experience.

Thank you to all the staff at A74!

Room Tip: Try and get the first floor rooms, and a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hang-On-Tight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We had a great stay at the A74 largely due to the amazing hosts Tim and Graham and their happy and helpful staff.This is a budget hotel so dont expect the Hilton but its great value and everything is clean.The location is spot on,five min walk to the beach,thru a big resort next door and theres a bunch of good restaurants nearby.Free internet and nice bar cafe area downstairs.The best thing though was Tim and Graham they are great fun to talk with and have a load of helpful info if you need it including booking us a good hotel in Saigon and letting us know some cool places to visit there.We would def stay here again thanks guys.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jan497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I stayed for two nights at A74 Hotel on Phu Quoc, where a group of friends of mine already were staying.

The room (I paid extra for sea view) was very basic, but had a fridge, fan and aircon. The bathroom was a bit dated and the shower is just a hose next to the toilet, so you spray water all over the place.

The location was very convenient. While it is less than five minutes' walk from Long Beach, it is also only a few minutes' walk from the town centre with its superb open-air night market fish restaurants.

There was quite a good selection for breakfast. The best aspect of the hotel is the staff, though. They were very friendly and helpful and one of them stuck out as superb. It really was his life mission to make sure your stay was as good as possible. He carried my heavy bag on his back up the stairs, he gave me a towel for the beach, he explained everything about the island, offering tours etc. without not being too pushy. We rented motorbikes from the hotel one day, which was convenient as well. Nothing was an effort for them.

All in all, highly recommended if you want a basic hotel on Phu Quoc.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AirlineFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I stayed at the for a week in early November 2011. It turned out to be a memorable week and I am so glad we chose this hotel. The hotel owners Tim and Graham were very welcoming and helpful from moment we arrived. In addition, they have a wonderful group of young Vietnamese staff who are always willing to help whenever the opportunity arises. The service was brilliant.
The A74 is a budget priced hotel with good clean rooms including TV, mini-bar and bathrooms with hot showers and you get a great breakfast included in the price. In addition there is free access to Wi-Fi in your room and in the Vespa Cafe downstairs.
The hotel is a very short walk to the beach where you can get an hour long massage very cheap, have a swim or try out riding a jet ski. At night there a seafood bbq's dotted along the beach with fantastic food at very reasonable prices.
The night markets, bars and restaurants are all within easy walking distance of the hotel.
We also booked a fishing and snorkelling trip to the south of the isalnd through the hotel which turned out to be a great day with a group of travellers from around the world for $15 including a nice lunch and a guide that spoke English. Great value for money.
When it came time to leave Phu Quoc and the A74 it felt like leaving friends and I will definitely be returning for another holiday.

Room Tip: I would choose a Seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

In the middle of a trip around South East Asia before heading to Oz. Travelled to Phu Quoc from Sihanoukville with the intention of staying 4 nights. Booked the A74 based on the good reviews and a great price. Got 4 nights B and B for 2 of us in a double room with bathroom, hot shower, mini fridge, cable TV, a fan and a.c. Wifi was available downstairs and apparently upstairs but when we initially tried to connect we needed a domain name aswell as the password. We spoke to the staff about this and though they couldn't understand why it would not work for us as others hadn't had problems, they switched off the password to allow us access for the duration of our stay and this worked a treat. It wasn't inconvenient having to use the wifi downstairs but for skypes home it's a bit public.
The location is excellent. Just on the edge of town, less than 5 mins to Long Beach and 5 mins in the other direction to the delicious night market (open from 6pm-go early for the freshest seafood). On arrival we were warmly greeted by Bau who showed us to our room (on the 1st floor), brought us up to the roof to show us where we could catch a sunset and then. when we were ready, showed us a map and gave us all his recommendations which were spot on.
Breakfast was served till 11am and we made it just in time each morning! There was a selection of drinks and meals to choose from. We went with the poached eggs and hot baguette almost every morning. All in all, it was a great spot and due to a delay in booking our flight onwards (our fault) we ended up staying a 5th night.
We rented a bike for about 7dollars a day which seated the 2 of us no problem and was easy enough to manoeuvre. Traffic was minimal in comparison to Phnom Penh and Siem Reap where we had previously been. We headed for Sao beach on Bao's recommendations and weren't disappointed. All in all, for the price we couldn't get a better location and the staff were beyond pleasant and extremely helpful with excellent English and a great wit!
Would not hesitate to come back here or to recommend to others!

Room Tip: First floor means less steps! Nice to go to the roof for sunset but not everyday! Our room was the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Just came back from our short stay at A74, wishing we could have stayed longer! The staff goes out of their way to make you feel welcome, even telling good jokes! We were impressed with their high standard of English. Several of our group stayed in the seaview rooms - great view out to the ocean. We stayed in the deluxe room which was spacious and had some lovely big windows and a balcony facing onto the street. It was not noisy at night, as the town basically shuts down after 11 pm. The price was great, including breakfast, and I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Phu Quoc.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hongkonglori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
1.2 mi away
Huu Le Hotel
Huu Le Hotel
#67 of 112 in Phu Quoc Island
18 reviews
1 mi away
Viet Thanh Resort
Viet Thanh Resort
#60 of 112 in Phu Quoc Island
222 reviews
0 mi away
Halona Hotel
Halona Hotel
#54 of 112 in Phu Quoc Island
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Yen Huynh Guest House
Yen Huynh Guest House
#27 of 49 in Duong Dong
3 reviews
1.2 mi away
Khanh Duy Bungalow
Khanh Duy Bungalow
#34 of 49 in Duong Dong
15 reviews
0 mi away
Bach Duong Resort
Bach Duong Resort
#22 of 49 in Duong Dong
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A74 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A74 Hotel

Address: 74 Tran Hung Dao | Phu Quoc Island, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island KP7, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Duong Dong
Price Range: $16 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — A74 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A74 Hotel, on beautiful, tropical Phu Quoc Island, just 35 minutes by "Air Mekong" from Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam. The A74 Hotel is “Simply the best” budget hotel on the Island, offering good, clean rooms, excellent friendly service in a creative environment. We love to welcome our guests to our friendly family style hotel, where we take a personal interest in both your comfort and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your A74 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A74 Hotel Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing