We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Freshest Ingrediants” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buddy Ice Cream & Info Cafe

Buddy Ice Cream & Info Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Duong Dong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We setup Buddy Ice Cream in 2005 aimed at helping visitors get reliable and helpful information about Phu Quoc while providing quality food and drinks. New Zealand Ice Cream, Juices & Shakes to mud cakes, cheesecakes, pancakes, fish and chips, hamburgers. You can also find free maps, visitors guides and lots of other helpful stuff that will make your Phu Quoc experience better!
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Freshest Ingrediants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly wee place, staff most welcoming. Great place for a snack or a beer. Fine coffee and BLT with the freshest lettuce & tomatoes you could ask for. Definitely worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Subeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddyIceCream, Owner at Buddy Ice Cream & Info Cafe, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hey Subeng,

Thanks mate for your feedback!

Glad to hear you like our Italian coffee, the BLT and of course our (ice) cold beer .....being an Aussie this is mandatory at Buddys!!! :-)

Hope to see you again sometime soon!

Regards,

Rohan & the Buddy's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    215
    49
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Travellers, you MUST stop here!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

The most friendly staff we have encountered during our trip!! We arrived in Phu Quoc and didn't have any accomodations arranged... we stopped here and the owner and manager were very helpful and friendly!! They helped us get a really great place on the beach, and told us about all the little places we needed to see, that were not on the travel maps! The food is really great and very reasonablly priced!! We were in Phu Quoc for 3 days, and came to Buddy's at least 9 times!! They have free wifi, and computers to use. Also, there are a lot of travellers that go here, and we were able to pick their brains for a lot of travel information. If you are in Phu Quoc, you MUST stop here... if only for the ice cream.... which is amazing, you will not regret stopping here!! Thank you VERY much to all the staff, we will have fond memories of our stay in Phu Quoc!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddyIceCream, Owner at Buddy Ice Cream & Info Cafe, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hi Michael,

Thanks very much for your feedback, we are so happy to make such fond memories of your stay!

What happened to you occurrs very often at Buddy's, we help lots of people this way finding good reasonably priced accomodation, we dont take commissions for anything we do unlike a lot of other businesses on the Island!

I personally have spent more than 20 years outside my home country Australia and like to think at Buddy's we help people just like i have been helped by so many others in the past around the world, thanks again for your positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon....

Kind Regards,

Rohan & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sweet!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Ice Cream is great and I everybody is super nice! The banana milkshake is amazing and filling. I would definitely go there again!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lalanikster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddyIceCream, Owner at Buddy Ice Cream & Info Cafe, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hey lalanikster,

Thanks very much for your kind comments, that banana milkshake is a meal in itself i know what you mean! :-)

Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Rohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very friendly and attentive staff. Good wifi and also use of their computers for customers. Great ice coffee. We went in for several hours on a couple of rainy days. Nice comfortable sofas in lounge area. Not the cheapest for food but very pleasant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddyIceCream, Owner at Buddy Ice Cream & Info Cafe, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hi kiting6,

Good to hear about your expereince at our place, i will let the team know your positive comments they are much appreciated!
The lounge area at the back of the shop with the Sofa's is a very popular place to hangout and many of our customers like you have been caught in town when the sky opened up, nice spot to kill a few hours i agree! :-)

Thanks again for your feedback and drop back in soon!

Regards,

Rohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you are missing NZ Ice Cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This little cafe is a great place to sit, relax and enjoy their fruit smoothies and/or NZ ice cream. Grab a map of Phu Quoc and make plans; their map of the island at Buddy's is certainly the best 1 we could find.

The staff are really friendly and helpful and their food is good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank KiwiOutOfNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddyIceCream, Owner at Buddy Ice Cream & Info Cafe, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hi KiwiOutOfNZ,

Thanks for your comments, glad to hear your experience was a really pleasant one i will certainly pass on your remarks to the team!
We (especially my kids!) love the ice cream and we only serve the best quality.
The smoothies are my wifes speciality, we take no short cuts there only using fresh fruit & home made yogurt!

The free map is always a winner and happy that was useful!

Hope to see you again on the Island soon!

Regards,

Rohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddy Ice Cream & Info Cafe also viewed

Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
 
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
 
Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
 

Been to Buddy Ice Cream & Info Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing