We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best western coffee on the island”

Buddy Ice Cream & Info Cafe
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Duong Dong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: We setup Buddy Ice Cream in 2005 aimed at helping visitors get reliable and helpful information about Phu Quoc while providing quality food and drinks. New Zealand Ice Cream, Juices & Shakes to mud cakes, cheesecakes, pancakes, fish and chips, hamburgers. You can also find free maps, visitors guides and lots of other helpful stuff that will make your Phu Quoc experience better!
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Buddy is like a tour guide he can tell you allthe amazing things to do on the island whilst you have the best coffee on the island without a doubt .. He has all of the tour broshures and can even tell you which side of the island has best visibility for snorkelling depending on the weather. Buddy is so friendly and we just loved sititng outside sipping on coffee watching the locals go by

1  Thank kate w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddyIceCream, Owner at Buddy Ice Cream & Info Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Hi Kate,

Thanks for your feedback which i have passed onto the staff already, recently i myself had to cut back on the coffee cause it was so good! :-)
I am so glad we could help make your stay on the Island a memorable one, thats ultimately what we do at Buddy's, help tourists get the most out of their stay here!

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,

Rohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 328 of 560 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

The cafe is quite expensive and we we did not find anything special. Ice cream was good and we got our table served very fast. Also we found there a touristic map of the island which was helpful.

1  Thank Maria I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddyIceCream, Owner at Buddy Ice Cream & Info Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Hi There,

This is a copy of the message i sent to you 1 month ago but with no response...

Interested to know Buddy is expensive compare to what & where?

You say ice cream was good, service fast, map helpful but you still make the main part of your review into a complaint??? Sorry i dont get it....

First we are on an island where EVERYTHING is more expensive, even electricity costs more than in Australia for example....
We sell high quality & mostly imported products, offer a nice setting, free interenet/wifi, tourist info, maps, book exchange and of course honest sound advice on what to do in Phu Quoc, so for the price you paid i doubt that its expensive.

Appreciate your response !

Regards,

Rohan
OWNER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Some great reviews here so couldn't not try it but we were really disappointed! Our drinks were lovely and cold and we both ordered the fish and chips. Only one arrived, we thought maybe the other was coming but after waiting some time we had to interrupt the staff having lunch and tell them we ordered two, they had only cooked one, it wasn't coming. They were really grumpy with us, obviously not happy we interrupted their lunch! When the it came the fish was not cooked all the way through. Really really disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MPAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddyIceCream, Owner at Buddy Ice Cream & Info Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Hi There,

This is a copy of the message i sent to you 1 month ago but with no response...

I must say i am very dissapointed with what you have wrote on TA, it seems from your own PERCEPTIONS and what i have accertained from the manager nothing on this day would please you though our staff tried their best!
Yes i agree there was a misunderstanding bringing one fish n chips instead of 2 but this does happen in some places sometimes, in fact i am in australia right now and only a few days ago a similar mistake happened in a restaurant to my family here!
Also from what i know my brother Vu the manager tried his best to make sure you were happy but it seems no matter what you still write with a poison pen, i would appreciate an honest response to clear this matter!

Regards,

Rohan
OWNER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The place seemed like a haven for ex-pats and tourists. the ice cream was very welcome on a hot day and I enjoyed a smoothie which was all made with fresh fruit. The service was decent . This is a good place for fries a burger or a quick sandwhich.

1  Thank frankie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

tired of vietnamese and need a good western fix - buddy is a good place to hit up. we went twice in our 6 days on the island. their fish and chips is fresh and comes with real tartar sauce, the smoothies are always excellent. service is very friendly.

Thank pleung604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddyIceCream, Owner at Buddy Ice Cream & Info Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Hi There,

You must be a very hard marker? :-)

The review you wrote is great but you still manage only to give us an average rating, can you explain if there is any reason for this?

Regards,

Rohan
OWNER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddy Ice Cream & Info Cafe also viewed

Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
 
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
 
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
 

Been to Buddy Ice Cream & Info Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing