We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with friendly, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langchia Village Resort
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Duong To
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have stayed at Famiana Village two times and have recommended it to our friends. It is a lovely, peaceful setting just across the street from the beach. The staff are friendly and very helpful. It is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
11  Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 197 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

First off, excellent staff! They were welcoming, accommodating, and did their best to make our stay pleasant. The rooms are nice and clean and the pool and grounds are well kept. The location is pretty good as well, about 70 vnd to go in to town, not bad. We ate there a few times and the food was very good.

What can be improved: there is a smell in the bathroom, maybe from the drain, very smelly at times. The bathroom has screened windows and is connected to the closet. Due to the rain, our clothes which were hung in the closet always felt damp. When you shower, water gets everywhere. Also, we barely had any hot water during our 8 days, perhaps due to the cloudy/rainy days, not sure really. Many local families seem to stay there and they travel in very large groups and don't seem to mind their children at all. During our last couple of days, the number of kids seemed to outnumber the adults. Up late at night, up early in the morning.....not really peaceful. We ended up with the kids next door to us and barely got any sleep until the worker paid them a visit.

There is some government news announcements that start around 5:30am each day, very annoying since you are on holiday and want to sleep in. Breakfast starts early and ends early. Some people stay there a long time and you can't find an empty table. Oh, and it is surrounded by locals' homes, and they are early risers so we didn't get much sleep.

You do have access to the beach via Famiana Resort, but be prepared to be treated like an outsider! If you want to use the Famiana Resort pool, you must order food or drink from the restaurant. Fair enough. So we decided to do just that one day for a change of pace, only to observe a child blatantly stand along the pool, pull his shorts off, and pee in the pool, so that ended it for us! Again, this child's parents were nowhere in sight. I suggest that the management deal with these parents because their children become a nuisance to others.

We used the spa at Famiana Resort and had a great experience. It was clean and the ladies were very professional.

Room Tip: Choose one far from the dining or else you have to deal with a lot of breakfast noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank js96_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel is by far a much better deal then Famiana Resort across the street, the staff is friendly and the pool is very nice and the price is more reasonable. The shower was interesting to say the least there was no hot water at all, if you were lucky you would get lukewarm but since it relies on the sun there is not much you can do. The night market is about 70,000 VND away and there are several other restaurants along the way and the front desk attendant will always help you with your taxi since the drivers are not very strong in English. The WIFI is free but kind of weak but not really a big deal, and the decor around the property is very pretty. The only complaints I have would be about the other guests, for example about 3 large Asian families checked in our last 2 days and would wake up at the crack of dawn to hog the breakfast buffet and not leave any food for any of the other guests not to mention the children and elderly who would roam around the property at dawn screaming and yelling at god knows what, if you needed to wake up early that day you wouldn't even need an alarm clock because by 6 am you would hear the loud cries and moans of the children and old people. The 3 Asian families would also leave their 10 children who could not swim whatsoever alone in the pool and the older children would often throw the younger ones who could not swim in the deeper side creating a lot of panic and screams. At about 11 pm our last night at Famiana Village all you could hear were children, doors slamming, and loud TV's so we called to complain because who wants to hear obnoxious kids that aren't yours at 11 pm? We must have not been the only ones complaining because in under 10 minutes the night management got every child rounded up and placed in their rooms. They probably did as much as they could, but this is a great deal and a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: We had A01 which was but beware of the shower everything gets wet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MAS12236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over 2 rooms. The staff were very accomodating when we had to amend our prepaid rooms.
Accomodations are by way of bungalows: 2-3 per blook, they are nicely set out with a huge king bed that was very comfortable, flat screen TV, good selection of english language chanels, seperate bathroom with shower. The room was comfortable and the airconditioner worked well when the electronic key was in HINT: MAKE SURE THEY CUT YOU 2 KEYS , as everytime you leave the door open for more than a minute it beeps, so 2 keys are a must otherwise the room will be a furnace each time you enter..

Breakfast was quite good, except most of the hot food is not hot, even at 6.30am. There is a good choice and the omelates made to order are very good. Although they seem to have a large menu, we found most items are not available, but there is a still a good choice and the lunches we had there were very good and very reasonably priced for a hotel.

The only downer was that they forgot our early morning call as we had an early flight back to Saigon, could have been disastrous but we had set our phone as a backup

I would stay here again, it isnt a far walk to their resort hotel and the beach, I would stay here rather than the resort as the resort has piped music and exceptionally noisy airconditioners and you wouldn't get much enjoyment sitting on your balcony

The pool is huge, the water is quite warm and the lounges around it are comfortable, the way the village is set out means that it is a quiet place to stay.

Room Tip: go for te standard, they are all he same rooms except the more expensive is raised off the gound wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karingal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice to stay for 3 days - room on piloti much better than the standard rooms

Clean rooms, nice garden - but be aware that you need a motorbike / taxi to move since it is far from the harbour so you won't reach it by simply walking.

It was great to be able to use the facilities of the Famiana resort & spa (just across the street - 2 min walk)

Don't eat at the restaurant of the hotel, food is very poor (first time in Vietnam I found the food very bad - incl. breakfast) & pricy - while in the night market you can have lovely dinner

Room Tip: The superior rooms on piloti
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

In my opinion, Famiana Village offers the best value in Phu Quoc. The hotel itself is a basic but clean and comfortable 3-star hotel, but you can use all the facilities at the 4-star resort across the street, which has the nicest private beach we saw on Long Beach (and we were there for a week). The staff was very attentive and helped us book tours, bus tickets, birthday cakes, etc. We really felt that they went out of their way to help us on more than one occasion. Famiana Village itself has a nice pool and a decent restaurant, but we spent most of our time at the resort across the street. Only downside: the breakfast is nothing to write home about (the spread centers around this weird mixed salad that would make more sense at dinner), but they had made-to-order omelets and pancakes most mornings and we had plenty to eat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank acmu999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

On our first day away the housekeeper took money from a purse in the room. We called management and got the money back but it kind of put a sting on the visit. Staff were very helpful. Rooms were nice but the bathroom was an inferno because it was mostly open to the outside. be pepared for water to go everywhere in the room, from showers or thunderstorms. My suitcase was frequently wet. Very nice pool (but warm) and scenic gardens although the majority of the place seemed to be slapped toegether with loose bricks and cements. They forgot to install a soap holder in the shower so you just had to leave the soap on the floor. Nice breakfast buffet with friendly staff. Nice extra to be ably to use the nicer pool at Famiana Resort. All in All was worth the cheap price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smith806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thuong N, Operation Manager at Langchia Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Smith806,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor !

I am terribly sorry about the problem from one of my former staff caused you on the first day of your stay at Famiana Village. Upon receiving the information from your partner Ms. Thanh that her 200.000vnd and 06 dollars was stolen. I had tried to trace out that who was the stealer in our housekeeping team, and I do thankful to your information which help us found the weak point that should not be existed at our Famiana Village. As you know, the staff who stolen your money was dismissed and punished right away.

To avoid this happened case again, I would highly remind you and all our guests to keep the value assets in the safety box which is always available in our resort. nevertheless, we will try our best and much more careful to recruit the people who honest for working in service.

Concerning to the rest of your comment about the room that water coming from outside. I do apologize for this happen and everything was fixed right after your departure.

As a new resort which has just opened since November 2013, we really need the positive comment like yours to get improve our services as well as behave of the staffs to serve our guests perfectly.

Again, thank you very much for taking the time leaving your comment about our resort, hope that you will accept our apology and allow us the opportunity to show you how improve standard in our resort for the next stay.

Sincerely,
Thuong Nguyen
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong To
1.1 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 49 in Duong Dong
651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paris Beach Village Phu Quoc
5.7 mi away
Cottage Village
Cottage Village
#20 of 117 in Phu Quoc Island
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Ganh Dau
492 reviews
11.1 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#5 of 117 in Phu Quoc Island
648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langchia Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langchia Village Resort

Address: Tran Hung Dao St | Duong To Commune, Duong To, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong To
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Duong To
Price Range: $38 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langchia Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langchia Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langchia Village Resort Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing