We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few caveats, but mostly excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Duong To
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

After a hassle-free airport transfer (we emailed the management the day before telling them our flight number), you'll find the resort is a cluster of wooden houses which lead down to a fairly secluded beach. You're surrounded by nature with chickens, moorhen and other exotic birds in the grounds, but even though it feels quite rustic all the rooms have great air-con - a unit on both floors in the suites. In a place like this biting insects are inevitable but the rooms are surprisingly secure and mozzies can't get in. We weren't bitten once while sleeping. I agree with other reviewers that the beds are hard - this was no problem for us as we both like a firm mattress, but this isn't for everybody as you'll read in other reviews. At night dogs will sometimes bark and in the early morning cockerels will crow - it disturbed my sleep a couple of times.

Our suite was more like a maisonette and on two floors. It was perfectly clean, in addition to the fantastic and entirely-wooden bathroom upstairs there was a room with a second WC on the lower level. This resort may pose a problem for people whose mobility is impaired, there are a lot of steps to negotiate both in the rooms and around the grounds, but for most people this is not an issue as long as you're careful. This especially so after it rains, when the wooden handrails get slippery. Basic tea and coffee-making kit is in the living room, and you get four largeish bottles of mineral water from the hotel free of charge every day. There is a fridge but this doesn't come stocked with beer or soft drinks by default, you have to ask for them to fill it up for you if you want it. We didn't. The wifi in the rooms wasn't the most reliable, but this is common in Vietnam and wherever you go some western sites (Facebook, BBC News) are intermittently blocked by the government. But you can often still load these sites via their smartphone apps, oddly.

As of December 2012 there's construction work taking place in the property next to the resort, Obviously beyond their control, but still annoyingly loud and it started at 7am after our first night. Initially we were in a suite in Building 8, fairly close to the construction work. We then asked to be moved to a quieter suite and the hotel arranged and executed this within 30 minutes, which I was impressed by. We were moved to an identical suite in Building 6 where it was much quieter - idyllic in fact. I have to say the Vietnamese will go out of their way to help you and put things right, but not if you're rude and aggressive toward them, and I do suspect this is where some of the more hostile reviewers of this and other hotels went wrong. I saw this a lot in Vietnam, particularly when the locals were barked at by guests and it really didn't do them any favours. There's often a language barrier and this resort is no exception.

I would imagine this construction work will continue for at least another six months. It's perhaps strange that all the suites are all situated furthest away from the beach, with the standard rooms nearer the sea. The flip side of this is you're closer to the restaurant, reception and front entrance if you're in a suite, but the suites are also closest to the construction work and I can see this annoying some people who have paid a premium. If you're in a standard room it's less likely to be a problem. That said, Phu Quoc is developing fast and it might be hard to avoid building work wherever you are.

I take issue with reviewers who say it was a 'long walk' to the beach from their rooms, even for a slow walker it's less than five minutes through some lovely and interesting gardens - many rooms are even closer. The beach is quite beautiful and mostly clean, although dogs will sometimes wander along the beach and occasionally do what dogs do. Long Beach is west-facing so you get some truly amazing sunsets. There's never much of a tide and it's super-shallow for a good thirty feet out; we don't have kids but those who did had peace of mind knowing they could paddle in the ocean safely. Compared to other parts of Vietnam there aren't many hawkers working this stretch of beach; you won't be hassled much. The service on the beach is okay but not as attentive as in other four-star Vietnamese resorts. You have to pick up your own towels from the desk by the pool, and if you want drinks or snacks you'll have to go to the bar and ask them to be brought over. It's a big pool so you can get into your stride if swimming's your thing.

Not once did we have dinner at the resort - instead opting to go into Duong Dong to eat at the wonderful night market, which you would be mad to miss out on, it's a short VND 50,000 cab ride from Long Beach. So while I can't comment on dinner, breakfast in the resort was okay; as normal in Vietnam there's a mix of southeast Asian and western food, there could have been more choice for westerners, perhaps. The restaurant is next to and indeed partly perched above a large lagoon-like pond. I would expect the restaurant to be mozzie-central in the evenings. You can also eat by the beach at night where they have a seafood BBQ which is also reasonably priced - not as cheap as the night market but still pretty good. In the daytime you can get snacks from the bar brought to your lounger at the beach or pool for lunch, and these are pretty good value actually - as an example I paid VND 115,000 (about £3/$5) for a tasty panini with chips and salad, not the cheapest by Vietnamese standards but by no means the rip-off some resorts will often extract from westerners in these situations. Drinks are about VND 40,000, again much cheaper than similar resorts.

My final word of warning concerns the BBQ restaurant you'll run into, if you turn right down the beach from the resort towards Duong Dong. It's impossible to miss as it sticks out on a little headland, you'll have to walk right past it to go any further north. It's not part of the resort but it's worth highlighting that this place ripped us off, saying that two seasonally-priced tiger prawns would be VND 150,000 - a perfectly fair price. This turned into an extortionate VND 450,000 when the bill came, they wouldn't back down and it caused an argument. You won't know the fair price for seasonal fish unless you visit the highly-competitive night market, but this in my experience was untypical of Vietnam - sure the locals will try to sell you things at an inflated price, but normally once you've bargained and the price is agreed they'll stick to it. I was extremely annoyed at the restaurant for behaving like this, they lost our custom for the rest of our holiday and frankly I hope they lose yours, too.

Overall I recommend this resort, once the construction work is finished and if they would just tweak a few minor things, it would be faultless.

Room Tip: Building 6 is close to construction work as of December 2012. We asked to be moved and ended up in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 251 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights, with 3 girlfriends in November, we had 2 twin rooms, we loved the style of the Vietnamese village, the rooms were covered in wood carvings, set in tropical gardens and a short walk to the beach and pool, both of which were lovely. The staff were delightful, all seemed to speak excellent English, could not have been more helpful, and we were very happy with our choice. They also provided a cake for our friends birthday, specially decorated for her. Also loved the free wifi throughout the resort:-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AffinityGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at the Long Beach Resort during August and were able to chill out around the pool for a few days...which is what we wanted. Rooms were done out in timber...looked good and were very spacious.
Downside....safe in room was not anchored to wall.
Sea was somewhat polluted... no fault of the resort.
Plus.....pool was great, scenery lovely, sunset memorable.
Dining room was OK'
Main town is a taxi ride away..........taxi to and from airport is free

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LauncestonUpnabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The resort is design follow up the village of Viet Nam. Staff is very friendly and profestional. All room are large and decorated in isteresting wooden style. i chosen this resort to relax, it was greet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spring t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Would I stay here again? No.

This hotel is based around the style of a traditional Vietnamese village. The resort look very nice, with lots of nice carvings and eye-catching architecture. The rooms themselves are large and decorated in an interesting wooden style, but the beds/pillows are not terribly comfortable. There is a big wooden bathtub in the rooms which was very relaxing, but most things were in a state of disrepair.

The staff is friendly and tries to be accommodating, but the service was extremely slow. The food in the 2 restaurants (although they advertise having 3) was good, but the restaurants themselves were bad. By this, I mean that I enjoyed what I ate, but the selection is extraordinarily limited and very expensive for Vietnam. Most things are only offered as part of a set meal rather than a la carte. The breakfast buffet was good, but if you are staying here, I would recommend walking down the beach for a better restaurant for lunch and dinner. In addition, there is not much variety. The hotel advertises the fact that they brew their own beer. They have a big copper brewery setup in the restaurant, but other reviews here have suggested that the beer is actually brewed elsewhere and imported. I do not know the truth to that. What I do know is that the beer is not good. The "lager" was flat, bitter and tasted of peanuts. The stout was also not very nice.

The spa was nice, but, again, extremely overpriced for Vietnam.

One of the worst aspects of this hotel was the distance from the beach. Although the property of the hotel goes from the road all the way to the beach, rooms are very far from the beach - about 200 meters according to satellite imagery on Google Earth. There is a pool that is closer to the rooms, however.

Another glaring fault is the fact that this hotel is still under construction. There is potentially a great pool side bar/restaurant, but it is a giant, empty concrete shell. Although the hotel has supposedly not even been open 5 years, wear and tear is showing a lot on the parts that have been finished.

For the price (approx $140 USD per night including discount), this hotel is not worth it at all. I would recommend the hotel La Veranda (where we ate a few times) instead. They seem to cater much more towards international travelers there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TraveledTheWideWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed in June and had the place to ourselves for thefirst 3 days then they had 120 guests from a cement convention arrive in one day. The service and attention of all the staff was the same high standard when we were there only guests and when they were very busy and full.

The landscaping and architecture are stunning, its very easy to relax, the pool and bar are great. There was no need for a gym as we were here when they had the island's first ever half marathon and 10km run!

The food is simply excellent - Hugo (French/Italian) and his team provide top notch brekkie, lunch and dinners whether western or Asian. The Kingfish with strawberry sauce was an example of the fusion between French and Vietnamese that makes you feel youre in a top restaurant, which really you are.

The service was faultless and very friendly and we are greeted and on first name terms with a bunch of staff who are constantly smiling and wanting to help and also to learn about Australia.

The rooms were absolutely lovely.

The only negative perhaps is the beach was disappointingly dirty and we rarely strayed off the area of our resort which was cleaned every day - elsewhere was littered with Mekong junk. A trip to the east to Sao Beach (taxi $30 ret) provides the iddylic beach location Phu Quoc is famous for. For those crazies like us who like to walk to town, its a little far ($6 ret) and the excellent nightmarket. The spa is really good too. We havent yet seen the Philliino Band!

Having seen a sister hotel of the Berjaya company on Tioman Island, Malaysia this is far superior and if you want a peaceful time and some pampering for a reasonable price stay here not La Veranda.

Room Tip: Ancient rooms 3, 5 and 7 are quiet and away from the pool and restaurant. All rooms seem peaceful as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Reasonable priced rooms, great location! The staff are amazing and treat everyone like great. The best part about this place is the food. The resident chef is amazing at preparing local and european dishes! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong To
0.9 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 49 in Duong Dong
629 reviews
15 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Ganh Dau
476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paris Beach Village Phu Quoc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Langchia Village Resort
Langchia Village Resort
#4 of 16 in Duong To
192 reviews
5 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#12 of 49 in Duong Dong
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#3 of 113 in Phu Quoc Island
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc

Address: Cua Lap Hamlet, Duong To, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong To
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Duong To
#4 Luxury Hotel in Duong To
#4 Spa Hotel in Duong To
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Duong To
Price Range: $70 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stretching along the pristine beach, Long Beach Resort with 72 rooms open in the first phase possesses a unique architecture of Vietnam traditional village. The resort offers a new standard of exclusive and bespoke indulgence. Our unbridled luxury with obvious attention to design, details and pure escapism making the resort stand out in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing