We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, but very unexperienced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paris Beach Phu Quoc
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Duong To
Moscow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, but very unexperienced”
Reviewed December 5, 2010

We considered the Paris Beach resort because it was the best option having all other spots fully booked (Beach club, Sea Star, etc). They promised to reserve a taxi for us at arrival, but nobody met us.There were hotel people meeting some other guests in the airport, we just didn't find our names among others.

We had a long e-mail conversation with hotel owner about the room we would like to book (big, not on the ground floor, see-front), and when we came finally we were offered a bungalow with nothing we mentioned in our mails. The only way to get privacy in that bungalow was to shut all the windows.

Fortunately, there was one room available in the main building, very small one, without view. The rooms are very basic, equipped with necessary stuff like chair, table, but somehow it all was very inconvenient. You run into chair every time you want to move around the room - although there was a way to make it much better just moving the bed to other place. The fan was too noisy, so we just shut it down for the night hours.

The room cleaning was every day issue. The bath mat was full of sand, so we asked to change it. First day we got 2 big, 2 small towels, the other day we got only 2 big ones, the day after we got 4 small, and the last day we didn't find any - had to ask for it. One came with stain on it, so they changed it. I will not mention bath amenities - for the whole period of stay (5 days) they put shampoo in the bathroom just twice. And they do not provide beach towels, which is also a mystery for us considering local prices.

The restaurant was OK. Good food, but again: the prices here were a bit higher than in the Beach Club just over the fence (coffee, juices). Some fresh smoothies were about 50 percent more expensive. And coffee came not hot just warm. All those were little inconveniences, but coming together they were too annoying.
The beach around was not cleaned. If the hotel stuff would spend around one quarter of the time they spent for improving their English with guests to make some cleaning, the beach will not be so disgusting.

Also you should be aware that hotel staff girls used to touch guests every time they talk to them or even say hello. It is not a local tradition but the way for this hotel to be friendly, I guess. I do not like strangers touching me, so it was an issue.

WiFi was available in the hotel, but it was very unstable. Maybe one of the reasons for this was the electricity outages that happened regularly on that part of island.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    170
    77
    25
    25
See reviews for
100
241
45
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Huntingtown, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

When we decided to visit Phu Quoc island, the first thing we were looking for was a place that's clean, and reasonable price by the beach. To make a long story short, we had another place in mind after reading all the possitive reviews on it, but when we were ready to book for the trip, it was fully booked since November is high travel season in Vietnam. Before we knew that the website for Phu Quoc Paris Beach resort exists, we found a contact email address someone had posted on Tripadvisor, we wrote an email hoping it'd reached the right person, within a few hours the email was sent, we got a reply email from Ha, the owner of the resort, we went ahead and booked for our stay. When we arrived at the resort, we were warmly greeted by Ha and her staff, that made us feel so welcome and confirmed that we'd booked the right place for our vacation.We had the VIP bungalow, which is plenty big for the two of us, the room's simple and clean, and the bedding's comfortable. The layout of the resort is well though out with the open terrace for restaurant and bar shaded by palm trees by the beachfront, a perfect place for dinner and watching the sun sets. While we were there, they were building an additional thirteen bungalows and they should be ready sometimes in December 2010. There's nothing to do here except relaxing and lounging by the beach. If you want to shop or try dining at different restaurants in town, you can have them call a taxi for you or rent a motorbike for a short ride to Duong Dong. They also help you book sightseeing activities of your interests. Ha, the owner of the resort speaks fluent French and English doesn't stay here year-round, but she has a very friendly and capable staff to take care of all your needs. We had a pleasure of talking to the new manager Thomas, who speaks perfect English, he's very friendly and personable, he'll do the utmost to help you with all your needs, so communication would not be an issue at all. Tram, Thuan, Ngan, Ut, Loan are some of the staff that we had the pleasure to interact with while we were there are very friendly and give you service with a smile. We highly recommend this resort for your stay here in Phu Quoc island. Thanks to everyone at Phu Quoc Paris Beach resort, you all made our stay there a pleasant and comfortable experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2010

what an excellent find. We did try and stay in the Beach Club next door but they were fully booked, so we kept looking and came across this place. We stayed in the Beach Front Bungalow for 7 nights- which is lovely- very clean and what you need. The view was great- open the door and the beach is only few metres away...

as for the food- excellent!!! the chef needs a big pay rise!! the staff are really friendly- however sometimes when you want to be left alone they continue to sit and chat to you (only a minor thing)! they will help you organise trips and you can rent bikes there cheap enough!

You can unwind watching the sunset with a few beers on there terrace...

A great find!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tilly015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deventer, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2010

I accidentally ended up here after a motor driver dropped me off here in stead of another place. And I'm glad he did! This place is real good value! The rooms are perfect, it's right on the beach, the vietnamese and french specialties are splendid (deffinately try the duck!) and the owners and staff are the best! I usually don't like to hang around and do nothing, but in this wonderful family atmosphere and beautiful location... I loved it! Undoubtably one of the best places I've ever been!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Hotel was situated in very beautiful place in Phu Quoq. We haven´t ever met so friendly staff as there was! Whole experirence was just GREAT!!! Food was unbelieably tasty and cheap. We´ve travelled quite much (15 countries in 3 years) and this really was the best!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We were very lucky that we accidentally discoverd the Paris Beach on Phu Quoc. We stayed in one of the cheap rooms without aircondition (which is possible because of the cool breeze) for four nights (12 Dollar). It takes not even a minute from the cottages and rooms to jump into the cool water.
The location, the staff and the delicious french-vietnamese food made the stay one of the highlights of our one month tour.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaktuskata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2010

I work regularly on Saigon and I returned to Phu Quoc Island this weekend. For a pleasant setting and see the sunset, I recommend a new resort onto the beach. . For me is the best location on the south west coast. I enjoy the Vietnamese cooking and also some French specialties with a good value for money. For the specialties of crab, claims and shells or Spanish mackerel, it's better to do order the day before and to ask for a BBQ. The rooms are clean and very affordable. The manager, a French -Vietnamese one is very nice and pay attention to you.

Julien

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dobro93340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong To
15.2 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 103 in Phu Quoc Island
434 reviews
1.1 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 47 in Duong Dong
572 reviews
11.0 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#9 of 103 in Phu Quoc Island
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
1,112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#11 of 103 in Phu Quoc Island
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#3 of 103 in Phu Quoc Island
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paris Beach Phu Quoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paris Beach Phu Quoc

Property: Paris Beach Phu Quoc
Address: Cau Ba Phong, Cua lap | Tran Hung Dao Street,cua Lap,duong to ,phu Quoc Island, Duong To, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong To
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Duong To
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paris Beach Phu Quoc 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Long Beach - West Coast, charming Front Beach resort with confortable rooms and bungalows (majority with private terrace ans seaview ) with aircond, hotwater (by solar system), wifi. Restaurant offering vietnamese and french authentic cuisine, fresh fish and seafood, vegetarian menu. Motorbikes and bicycles for rent and others activities on request (snorkeling, fishing, scuba diving island tour,... - 3,5 km from the main city - 5 mn by taxi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Paris Beach Phu Quoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paris Beach Phu Quoc Hotel Duong To
Paris Beach Phu Quoc Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing