We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“These are totally amazing. You have to go to them.”

Thermal Pools at Terme di Saturnia
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Saturnia
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“These are totally amazing. You have to go to them.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

You could be an Etruscan, Roman, medieval traveller on the Via Francigena, Shelley - and stumble on these sulphurous cascades in the countryside as we did.

No fee, just one cafe, dump your stuff somewhere and jump in! Wonderful turquoise and green water, staining the nearby river downstream. Choose between a good pounding from the waterfall bits to complete tranquility. Take care toddling around it. Leave refreshed and amazed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonMedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    60
    26
    22
    21
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Spring time...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Foaming warm water from the springs gush with real force down a cascade into a series of pools carved out of the local travertine rock, providing a series of different pools stepped down from the waterfalls where it is a real effort to hold yourself in place against the force of water to gently flowing pools where you can float or lay propped up gazing at this wonderous scene.
Off the beaten track and bit difficult to find there is no charge to enjoy the springs or to park at the adjacent car park.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“All good except the SPA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I have been at Terme di Saturnia with my family during the first week of January
Baby sitting, Guest service, restaurant and room were very good:
a) the staff is always available and very professional and friendly
b) there is a one star Michelin restaurant, which is extremely good and great food
c) my room was comfortable and spacious
d) Baby sitting was good and very useful

However we were highly disappointed with the SPA and the massages
a) the quality of the massages was limited, even though we requested before starting the type of massage we want
b) the price was excessive for what they deliver
c) when we told them we were dissatisfied, they just replied saying that the SPA is good and it is strange to hear our comments. There was no action or any attempt to find remedies

I found the massage at Terme dei Papi much better and staff more professional

Regards, Alessandro

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“An amazing experience of gushing hot water springs out in the open”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I read about these hot water springs on a guide book and as we had access to a car we were able to drive there. The drive from Grossetto passes vineries and olive farms and takes one up windy mountain roads and at journey's end were the pools themselves. The pools are created by hot water geisers gushing up from underground and then flowing down a stream. This creates an open air Jacuzzi. The only regret I had was that I didn't have enough time in the water. Be warned there isn't much in the form of changing rooms and it would be best to come prepared with dressing robes and bathing towels and expect to have to change in public.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank vit666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thermal Pools at Terme di Saturnia also viewed

 

Been to Thermal Pools at Terme di Saturnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing