We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC - BUT...............................................”
Review of Hotel Waldachtal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Waldachtal
Ranked #3 of 9 Waldachtal B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Once again we have returned to this hotel for a bit of r&r for my wife, and once again the food was excellent and nearly all the staff but............................

Here is an appraisal of all that was offered (or not)

Staff:Most were extremely good and attentive and 2 in particular were outstanding. The main receptionist needs training in how to deal with guests when the hotel lets them down, laughing it off does not help the situation one bit, but if the Director engages in this low level of service then it is not surprising if some of her staff do as well.

Breakfasts: Excellent and plentyful fresh food served every day - the perfect start to the day

Dinners: Very good varied courses every day which were delightful and delicious. The Friday 'trip' to their sister restaurant by their own bus was even better with endless delicious dishes available on a buffet basis. at no point were 6 course meals offered for the entire stay, apart from the Friday trip, despite this being emphasised as one of the features

Room: Was quite nice but shower only - last visit we had a bath but not offered this time even when we asked so this results in a low score for the room.

Wi-Fi: Very poor service and certainly not available in the room, and rarely available even in the reception area. Best place for reception is either outside our room on the landing? or up the top of the hotel in their loungs - which was excellent

Bus/ Train pass: Absolutely fantastic and the jewle in the crown. Unlimited travel all over the massive Black Forest area and a real blessing for seeing the area

Last, and certainly not least.
Communication: Absolutely atrocious!. This was by far the worst example of BAD customer service and relations I have ever encountered - and completely avoidable if only someone cared enough.

As my wife is not always totally mobile everyday I emailed the hotel sometime after making the reservation requesting a room not too far from reception. I also mentioned that I had left a belated but fantastic review for them on Tripadvisor and I wanted all the staff to know how that was appreciated.

Many weeks after I sent this email I realised I had not had any response so I resent it as I did not want my wife to have to walk through a fairly large hotel, with lots of stairs.

Still I did not get any response after a few days so I sent a 3rd email, but with it addressed to the DIRECTOR of the hotel, asking for the courtsey of a response - but you can guess the next bit. That's right: STILL NO RESPONSE

It was now the day before we flew out so I used the last resort and telephoned the hotel and told the receptionist that this was appalling and I needed to at least confirm the the booking still existed, and that a room nearby had been reserved - and she simply confirmed that it had.

No apologies, no explanation, nothing.

When we arrived and checked in the same 'cheerful but somewhat fluffy receptionist (who now had been 'coached' with her response) mentioned that the problem was with the fact that the English language was not well spoken in the hotel.

The problem with this falsehood is that one of the Directors, who was there during our stay, speaks perfect English and would have been the first person to have dealt with any 'language' problems - especially when the last email was directed to her?

At no point during our stay did anyone, including the same Director who came and spoke to us on one ocassion, offer their apologies for this pathetic lack of respect to a paying guest.

QUITE AMAZING!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerryGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Waldachtal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 124 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

We paid an excellent price for our 5 night stay on ebay. It was one of the best holidays we have had within mainland Europe. The Hotel is situated within one of the most beautiful walking areas of the Black Forest and is where the Germans themselves come for a break. Very little English is spoken but this did not matter as the staff were intelligent, helpful, full of smiles and couldn't do enough for us. Our fellow guests were also very happy to assist in menu deciphering and advice with public transport. The bus and train pass was worth its weight in gold, we were able to catch the bus to outlying villages and then walk back through the well signed, quiet,forested picturesque routes to the hotel. The local tourist information office was extremly helpful. Although we had a car we had very little need of it as the public transport was punctual and frequent. The food was excellent, breakfast was a feast and the evening meals were chef produced with local recipes and produce. The hotel was clean and well staffed. If you are English speaking with very little German look out for Flora and Timmy, they deserve the highest praise. A most wonderful memorable break in a beautiful region of Germany.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeatherKeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Very good spacious room. Very good staff .Food was superb and plenty of it.The konus card was a bonus. The Great people the wonderful scenery good food it will not be long till we return.Anyone that does not recommend this hotel must be mad.

Stayed: August 2012
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We bought this 5 night break for a reasonable price on e-bay. The communication with the hotel was excellent. A very pleasant room. The food was superb as was the service from all the staff. Nice to have free coffee available all day. We found the area very pleasant with good scenery.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Having booked this holiday as a special offer we weren't expecting too much. However, from the initial welcome to the checkout six days later we had nothing but positive experiences. The room was large, airy and well equipped ; food can only be described as superb and the service was unfailingly friendly. I am lucky enopugh to speak German which helps of course but guests could get by with English only and from what I observed received the same high standard of service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last year but have only recently started leaving comments on our hotel visits recently. The 5 night stay at this hotel was absolutely delightful and we have now booked again this year.

Both the management and all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived until we left and the food was delicious and fresh. Breakfasts were full of fresh food and coffee and a wonderful start to each day. The dinners were first class and the bonus of having some evening meals in their sister hotel (transport provided) was an excellent idea.

With the added benefit of a travel pass included in the stay we were able to vist anywhere in the massive Black Forest by bus and train so you could just go out in the morning and 'tour' all day long if you wanted to.

We are going back this time when the snow is on the ground as we missed it last time, and the idea of seeing all the villages with a carpet of snow and twinkling lights is pulling us back as well.

this hotel is thoroughly recommend and please view my other reviews as there are some fantastic hotels to be found in different countries.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerryGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Very pleased with our stay at this hotel,we will be returning.One cautionary note,English is not widely spoken at this hotel ,but the staff were very patient with my limited german,and between us we coped admirably.If you are one of the''shout louder,they'll understand English'' brigade,it might not suit you.Having said that I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel,even if you don't speak German

Room Tip: The hotel provided us with a card that allowed us unlimited bus and train travel free in the black f...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daiporth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waldachtal
3.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Waldsaegmuehle
Hotel Restaurant Waldsaegmuehle
#1 of 3 in Pfalzgrafenweiler
87 reviews
1.7 mi away
Albblick
Albblick
#2 of 3 in Waldachtal
90 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Gruner Wald
Hotel Gruner Wald
#2 of 2 in Lauterbad
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Landhaus Karin
Landhaus Karin
#22 of 25 in Freudenstadt
15 reviews
6.7 mi away
Wellness Hotel Park-Hill
Wellness Hotel Park-Hill
#4 of 4 in Lossburg
79 reviews
8.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Nagold - Schwarzwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldachtal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldachtal

Address: Willi-Koenig-Str. 25, 72178 Waldachtal, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Waldachtal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Waldachtal
Price Range: $118 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Waldachtal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Waldachtal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing