We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lucia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lucia
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arias
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'll be back.....”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed for a week in August. The staff were excellent and made sure our stay was comfortable. We stayed half-board and found the meals to be of a good quality. Although there is no entertainment in the hotel, this suited us fine, as we like a quiet place so we can take in the atmosphere. There were board games in the lounge area if wanted. The views from the hotel are fantastic. Most evenings we would sit on the balcony outside the restaurant and soak up the viewsl It is about a 15/20 min walk into the village for small supermarkets, which stock a good range of items. A car is definitely needed as it is about one and a half/two hours from Verona airport and the last 20 mins from the bottom of the lake is quite narrow and windy, but we found it no problem once you got used to it. Although we didn't use the pool area, we often used the hammocks which were dotted around the gardens and we found these really relaxing, especially late afternoon after we had been out during the day. We had a standard double room with a lake view and a small balcony. This was more than enough for us as we didn't spend that much time in the room. We are already planning to book again for next year, and we hope to drive out there and stay for about 10 days or so.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaydreamer406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    38
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
56
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The road up to the hotel is exiting. I like it, added to the experience. The hotel is very clean, the staff very nice! In it's price range this is one of the best hotels I've stayed in. And the view from there terrace is breathtaking.

If you want pubs/bars and restaurants nearby this is not the hotel for you. It's a long drive to nearest "town".

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P_Kinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed here recently and found it to have the best views of Lake Garda.
The food was exceptional and they served unlimited salad and a 3 course meal to go with that which were of the finest quality.

The staff were very friendly and always wanted to hep us, the rooms were spotless and the swimming pool was good.

Great Holiday..

We will be sure to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTonge1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Me and my girlfriend visited Lucia as our relaxing hotel after a hectic Venice stay. For the price we were expecting a standard 3 star hotel nothing special. We were presently surprised when we arrived. We had a junior suite booked as it was only €60 each half board per night. The room was very spacious with a large balcony with 2 sun beds. The views from the room were breath taking, never experienced views like this from a hotel room. The food was excellent and prices were very reasonable for alcohol. Perfect relaxing pool as well, plenty of sun beds, staff couldn't be more helpful.

Highly recommend from a English couple looking for a relaxing stay

Room Tip: Junior suite cost a fraction more
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Stayed at Hotel Lucia in June 2011 after booking it through Citalia. The views were as fantastic as everyone claimed, although a lot of accomodation around the lake has equally outstanding viewpoints. The roads to the hotel were very narrow and can be quite hair-raising at times although we managed them every day without incident . The secret is to get behind a local and follow them! We had a 1.2 Punto which was seriously underpowered for some of the steep inclines, but it got us everywhere we wanted to go. The surrounding area is beatiful and there is so much to see and do. If you wish to go to Malcesine I recommend that you go by ferry from Limone. It is so much easier than racing around the lake and you get to appreciate the views along the length of the lake (something which you can't do so easily when driving around!) We visited Malcesine on market day and it was great.
The hotel is very dated and needs a revamp very badly. The lack of airconditioning can be a problem, and we had the ceiling fan running 24hrs while we were there. The hotel staff were very friendly but their English is VERY limited, probably due to the fact that the resort seemed to be used more by our German friends, and indeed, most of the restaurants and shops seem to use German as the main tourist language. This is not a major problem and can be worked around very easily using just a few italian words from a phrase book. Incidentally, we used a 'Rough Guide to the Italian Lakes' as our 'good for everything' book and it was extremely useful for history, sights, phrases etc. I can recommend this guide book if you are stuck for a choice.
The food in the hotel was a little unusual and although there was a different choice of three courses each day the quality and standard was nothing exceptional, and to a certain extent quite disappointing. We actually went out for the evening meal on a couple of occasions, and there is a very nice restaurant/bar just 10 - 15 mins stroll down the road (turn right out of the hotel slip road and you cannot miss it). The food here was excellent when we stopped here for lunch.
One reason for us booking this hotel was because Ciatalia clearly state on their website that 'Citalia does not accept children at this hotel'. Please don't misunderstand, we have children of our own who are now grown and we used to aim our holidays at family oriented accomodation with similar guests who would accept the liveliness that families include. Now we holiday as a couple and we look forward to having a holiday which does not involve children racing around the hotel & grounds, or disturbing the peace of the poolside. Unfortunately this is not the case here. There were 6 children at the pool on the one day that we tried to relax there, and during our stay they received a coachful of schoolchildren on a sporting break which made for an exceptionally noisy dining experience. When I contacted Citalia and told them that their website was totally misleading in this matter they did not want to know!!!
DO NOT GO HERE IF YOU WANT A BREAK AWAY FROM FAMILIES AND ARE LOOKING FOR A RELAXING TIME!!
Finally, the fridge in the room was faulty when we arrived. I pointed this out to reception who then charged me for the use of it! I explained that I would not pay as it didn't work, and they replaced it WITH A SECOND FAULTY FRIDGE!!. Eventually they supplied us a working unit with 2 days of our holiday remaining!
Overall, a reasonable hotel with very good views but not much else.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rayfontofall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

I had a very happy stay at Hotel Lucia, this is very lovely family run hotel and the staff are great.

Panoramic View: The biggest reason you want to stay at this hotel is for the tranquil atmosphere and the panaramic views over Lake Garda. I used to love and sit on the balcony admire the views. After dinner, there is an outdoor terrace and enjoy the view, where you can order a drink or coffee. As the sun is setting, you can see the tiny specs of lights from the homes on the other side of the lake.

Room: The room is a simple clean basic 3 star room (the other parts of the hotel are up to 4 star standard). The room had a balcony for the panoramic view. The bathroom was slightly tight.

Food: At breakfast, you are given a form, which you are given a of choice 3 meals and you just tick the one you want served that night. The breakfast itself is simple and basic. The evening food was good. (also, remember in Italy, starters can be the same size as your main meal). It helps if you brush up on your Italian food terminology, although the waitresses speak English, it helps you to make a better meal choice.

Location: The hotel is on the north western side of the Lake in a rural village location (tremosine). There are a couple of restaurants, small shops and a church. Although never tried the local restaurants, as we booked on half board. You need a car to get to this hotel and there is easy parking. There is a bus stop outside the hotel (not sure if suitable for touring)

Driving: I rented a car from Verona and did not find any problems driving around the Lake Garda. There were guest from Germany, Holland and UK who had driven up. The roads around the Lake are generally flat and easy to drive.The hotel Lucia is up on the side of a mountain, so it takes about 15 minutes drive to go and navigate the bends, but other reviewers have described the road as 'hairy'. If you are happy to drive in the Lake District or Wales, then you should not have any problems here. The only thing you have to watch out for it that this road can turn from two lanes into a single lane. So you have to look out for on-coming traffic, especially on blind corners. The Sat Nav (TomTom), just set the destination as "Pieve". My TomTom, got us there with no problems, although it does get a bit confused, as it sometimes asks you to make U turns, because it can't figure out the altitue on bends. (there are two roads up to the hotel, one is supposed to be steeper, but I found it make no difference.). If you are coming from the South (and driving northbound), then the first turn-off is the "supposed" steeper road, otherwise keep going and the Sat Nav, will tell you to take the second turning to get up the mountain (near petrol station).

Tips: I made the mistake of booking a hotel on the East and West side of the Lake, thinking it will make it easier to explore Lake Garda. This is a big mistake!. If you want to do this, you should split trip between North and South of the Lake. In the south, the only town worth staying is in the picturesque Sirmoine for 2 days and the remainder for 4-7 days in Hotel Lucia to explore the towns on the north side. From hotel Lucia it only takes an hour to get to Malcelsine which is on the other side of the lake, as the lake is a lot narrower etc.. . I suggest you leave Sirmoine for your return Journey, as it is a nice highlight. (Oh and parking is expensive / pain in Sirmoine, at other Lake Garda towns you shoudl find a choice of free parking or free parking for an hour, need one of those clock disc things on your dashboard, so say what time you parked. Similar to disabled drivers). My rental car already had one, but if you are coming from the uK, it is wroth picking up, as they use it everywhere in Lake Garda.

Also, if you are flying in, Verona is a nice place to explore for a day, but avoid the car in the town, nightmare. Also, worth seeing the opera in Verona (even if don't like Opera!), but that is only in Augest or so. You can also flying into Brecia and rent a car from there from there.

The Lake Garda towns are pretty much similar : Salo, Garda, Riva del Garda (top of lake), Trobole, Malcesine (cable car to Monte Baldo). ....

(for comparison sake: Lake Garda is nothing like the Lake District. Each of the lake towns has a lot more civilisation, cafe, resturants, ice parlours, etc... ).

Oh and do bring an umbrella. We forgot our in the UK, but found that it costs 18 Euros to buy an (ugly) umbrella. Clothing and Shoes are generally more expensive in the UK (something like 100 Euros). Even Italian stove coffeee makers was more expensive in Italy!

Drink: Spritz is an alcohonic drink that you must try!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flashback1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We would recommend Hotel Lucia. We had a top floor room with a beautiful view over Lake Garda. It was a delight to see the sun rise up in the morning over the mountains the other side of the Lake. The room was basic, but clean. The food was EXCELLENT. Breakfast was continental style, but good selection. The evening meal was superb. Four courses, good portions, and cooked very well. The waitresses were extremely pleasant and helpful.
There is also a really nice sauna and steam room you can use for 7 euros. The road up to the Hotel from the Lake is a 10-15 minute drive and is very windy and narrow, but after a few days you get used to it. I would definitely recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorrdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arias
0.8 mi away
Hotel Miralago
Hotel Miralago
#1 of 10 in Tremosine
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piccola Italia Resort
Piccola Italia Resort
#5 of 10 in Tremosine
85 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Stella d'Oro
Hotel Stella d'Oro
#1 of 1 in Pieve
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Gallo
Hotel Gallo
#1 of 9 in Tignale
137 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Balze Aktiv & Tennis
2.3 mi away
Residence Hotel Maxi
Residence Hotel Maxi
#4 of 10 in Tremosine
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucia

Property: Hotel Lucia
Address: Via del Sole 2, 25010 Arias, Tremosine, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Tremosine > Arias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lucia 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lucia overlooks Lake Garda from a natural balcony, from which you can enjoy a wonderful panorama. Surrounded by the beauties of the Alto Garda Park, it offers the pleasures of the mountains as well as those of the lake. Far from traffic and noise it is the ideal place for those who love to relax. Our warm hospitality and the real value for money we offer ensure you’ll have a great holiday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lucia Italy/Lake Garda - Arias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing