We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, happy holiday at the Remvi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Remvi Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Galissas
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxed, happy holiday at the Remvi”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you’re a life-long visitor to Greece and think you’ll never find somewhere that makes you feel the way you did when you first discovered it, you’ll find something very close to it in Syros. You’ve got to really want to go there to get there, so it’s still a peaceful, charming and magical place to be. We stayed at the Remvi in Galissas for a week in August 2012, having flown to Mykonos and travelled to Syros and back by ferry.

Galissas is a small, peaceful but cheerful resort with a handful of bars and restaurants. The Remvi is an ideal place to stay, just a couple of minutes from the beach and close to everything you need. The rooms are nice and modern with brand new TVs and, unusually, lovely stone floors that don’t get wet and slippery! The pool isn’t very big but it was perfect for us, never crowded, and sometimes we even had it to ourselves as the beach is so close. The beach is wide, shallow and sandy although when we were there the wind was quite strong and did spoilt it a bit; but then we could go the pool instead so it was OK. Remvi host Yiannis is welcoming and relaxed and happy to help with any requests. Our only niggle was the balcony; our room was for three but the balcony was barely big enough for two; however, the balcony next to us for a four-bed room was spacious, so worth bearing in mind when booking. Also, there was minimal kitchen equipment so although you won’t need much, a mug is worth taking or buying so you can make a normal cup of tea/coffee.

On the main street in Galissa there are several restaurants and places selling the most amazing gyros pitta. The best restaurant is called whatever the Greek word is for sunset (can’t remember), set on white painted boards on the sand with white and turquoise blue tables and chairs and – of course – a beautiful sunset view across the beach and bay. A truly stunning setting, great food and authentic atmosphere.

It’s a 20 minute bus ride to the island’s main town Ermoupolis, which is so worth exploring and making the effort to climb the hill. Beautiful Italianate villas, some ruined, some restored, winding streets, impressive churches, a lively harbour, stylish shops – nothing not to like.

A week in Syros combined with a one or two nights either side in gorgeous but crowded Mykonos makes a fabulous holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathymtully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

If you are looking for serene,relaxing holidays,away for vibrant lifestyles this is your place to visit.It is a family and couple destination for sure.Location wise, the beach of Galissas is 5 minutes away by foot and all the little cafes and taverns at the same distance.The hotel's swimming pool and jacuzzi are ideal for an afternoon swim,while taking a glance at the stunning sunset.
Yannis is a great,welcoming host and you get the vibe of a discrete and warm privacy.
Would visit again and absolutely reccomend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theodorekakoliris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We had stayed in Remvi many times. Its a nice, relaxing hotel, and with friendly services. We recommended Remvi 100%. We will always come back :) Family from Norway, Bergen :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vibeke70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I have stayed in Remvi with my family lots of times from my early childhood till very recently. My brother and i have become friends with the owner Yiannis and his family long time ago when he was also a little kid and there never was a time when we left Galissas and remvi appartments dissatisfied. The rooms are very beautiful and clean, the pool is enjoyable, especially at night and the pool bar is perfect for a frappe coffee in the morning or a drink at night. Yiannis is always very warm with his guests and i have known lots of people that have been there for vacations more than once just because of his warm hospitality. Not only Remvi but all Syros as a vacation destination is the perfect place for quiet and revitalizing time. Finally, if you are a fanatic reader of the comic Captain Mark, Yiannis has a big collection of it ;)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FragiskosK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Myself and my family (and later on me and my friends) have been staying at Yannis rooms since I was a kid (I am 30 now) - almost every year. In the past Yannis was letting rooms in a different area until he started with Remvi some years ago. I will not focus on this review on the quality of rooms (which is great for studio rooms) but rather on the service that has been keeping us coming back again and again all this time. Yannis and his wife have been exceptional and really warm hearted people that always take the "extra mile". This makes your stay at Remvi a bit more personalised and you always feel like a friend rather than a simple guest. Also, Yannis has put lots of effort into making this place pleasant to the eye, beautiful and traditional at the same time. Personally, relaxing by the pool or at the bar having a drink in the evening before going out has been one of my favourite holiday activities (it defintiely charges my batteries!). I would recommend Remvi 100% with no hesitation and I am sure you will have a great stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreasK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2012

REMVI is more than a place you may spend your vacations. Is strongly recommended for its beautiful location, clean + comfy rooms (some of them with fantastic sea view), pleasant service and calm atmosphere. Owner and staff always kind and polite, are making a very professional job . Even a couple or a family your stay its realy value for money.

Room Tip: If you addressed by phone to the owner, It is more than sure that he will advise properly for anykin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vassia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galissas
0.2 mi away
Hotel Benois
Hotel Benois
#1 of 4 in Galissas
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Bay Family Beach Resort
3.7 mi away
Esperance 1
Esperance 1
#6 of 14 in Hermoupolis
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Blue Harmony Hotel
Blue Harmony Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kini
62 reviews
3.5 mi away
Emilia Luxury Apartments
Emilia Luxury Apartments
#2 of 3 in Megas Gialos
16 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Brazzera
Hotel Brazzera
#1 of 4 in Finikas
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remvi Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remvi Hotel and Apartments

Property: Remvi Hotel and Apartments
Address: Galissas 84100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Syros > Galissas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Galissas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Remvi Hotel and Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Remvi is a new complex nearby the beach of Galissas consisting of double ,triple rooms and apartments for 4 person. During your staying you can use the swimming pool and the outdoor jacuzzi for free. You can take your breakfast at the pool bar. The rooms are cleaned every day. free wireless internet, free parking area. Nearby mini markets, restaurants, car rentals and the bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Remvi Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing