We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend to anyone wanting an amazing view for great prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fattoria di Cavaglioni
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Great place, was recommended it by a friend and so glad we went. Was great to be so close to Siena yet be in the quieter country part surrounded by beatuiful fields and views with a pool and cheap wine from their own winery. I would recommend a car but up to you.

Room Tip: As far as I know all rooms have a great view, they are basic but clean
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macattack_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Fattoria di Cavaglioni
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 47 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

This guesthouse run by a lovely family is set in the most beautiful Tuscan countryside surroundings and makes for a very relaxing stay. Very clean, huge rooms with loads of character, common rooms, kitchen, balcony. Had an amazing stay here and if I was ever to return to Siena I would not hesitate to stay here again. It is not located in central Siena and was a little tricky to find but we liked the fact that it was a bit out of the way so it was quiet and we felt like we were really experiencing life in Italy, rather than life as a tourist. Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liv l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

i loved this hostel. my husband loved it a little less since he prefers things a bit more luxurious. It is a bit out of Siena, quiet town, unbelievable views from our window, and a kind hostess. we really loved the town of Siena, and the bus was very reliable in getting us into town. the rooms are not as clean as hotels, but nothing terrible. the beds are hostel beds, and we used our own towels (we were back packing so we had those small, quick dry towels) but the towels looked okay. you are a little more on your own here, but that can be nice. a very nice hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt_bekah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed at Fattoria from June 5 to 9 and used it as a base to tour the smaller towns as well as wine country. We had arranged horseback riding (for her) and Italian cooking lessons (for both of us) on June 6 to celebrate Kathleen's b'day. I can rightly say it was the highlight of our month long stay in Italy. Berenice was always friendly and helpful and translated for the cooking lessons. The room was great and there was good common space that allow us to meet and get to know other guests. We would recommend it to anyone visiting Tuscany.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanandkathleen4951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We truly enjoyed our time here! We stayed two nights and the first night there we actually hung out at the property all day riding bikes and taking naps outside. We then ventured into the town (quaint and not very friendly to outsiders- no English) and bought groceries at the local store and actually made dinner in the gorgeous kitchen which we then ate outside on the balcony. The staff were incredibly accomodating,English was great, breakfast was delish. The rooms were also nice and we felt that we had a true Tuscan experience. Please stay here, you will not be displeased! (Try their wine as well, delish!)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MellaSnipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We rented the " gardener's apartment" for 10 days in October. The location seemed ideal to explore the wine region an Siena. The town is a quaint little town with few good traditional restaurants, not much to do there but at least you are lose to Siena without having to be in the city.
We were nor served well by the family living at the fattoria. They seemed to be unavailable when we need them, not friendly, helpful or gracious about their job.
The scary thing (and main reason for this bad review) is that at night the fattoria was left completely dark, no lamp posts or spot lights anywhere. We could hear people, men, walking around the appatment where there should not be anyone; they seem to be workers of the place. We left earlier than planned (and never got a refund as promised) because we did not feel safe specially because we would come late at night from excursions and had valuables in the house.
We spent 5 days around Lucca in another villa and had the complete opposite experience so we know this experience is not typical of the region

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

A rambling farmhouse situated atop a hillock overlooking miles of Tuscan countryside. The house has three spacious bedrooms and a large eat-in kitchen that wound up being the center of our life while there. The water heater in the kitchen is a little temperamental but this did not extend to either the heat or pressure in the showers, both of which were very good. There was a good deal of rain while we were there so it got a little buggy but it's hard not to expect this in the countryside. One scary aspect is walking to San Rocco a Pilli and the local supermarket. Like most Italian small towns, the concept of a sidewalk hasn't hit yet and the drivers pass through town as though it wasn't even a pit stop on the Grand Prix. Best advice is to walk facing the traffic. There is a bus stop immediately in front of the farmhouse so getting into Siena is quick and inexpensive (an hour-long biglietti for the bus is 1 Euro). One absolute while in San Rocco: Go to Buon Sapori Ristorante. One of the best meals I've had in Italy in a long time, and that's saying a lot.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonFalzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rocco a Pilli
0.5 mi away
Hotel Castello
Hotel Castello
#3 of 7 in Sovicille
154 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
715 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tenuta la Santissima
Tenuta la Santissima
#1 of 2 in San Rocco a Pilli
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Agriturismo Siena Rinidia Bio
Agriturismo Siena Rinidia Bio
#1 of 5 in San Rocco a Pilli
97 reviews
0.9 mi away
Agriturismo Podere Il Moro
Agriturismo Podere Il Moro
#4 of 5 in San Rocco a Pilli
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria di Cavaglioni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria di Cavaglioni

Address: Via del Poggetto 1, 53018 San Rocco a Pilli, Sovicille, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sovicille > San Rocco a Pilli
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in San Rocco a Pilli
Price Range: $73 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fattoria di Cavaglioni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Di Cavaglioni San Rocco a Pilli, Province Of Siena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing