We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Berghotel Bastei
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Lindenhof(Koenigstein)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveler rating
56
46
19
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
46
19
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrock formationssmall balconypark your carone nightbreakfast buffetthe riverpanorama restaurantswisselbesaunaeurdresden
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 131 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2013

It was hard to locate the Bastei mountain Saxon Switzerland (outside Dresden) on a map. After much research, we found Berghotel Bastei, which, much to our amazement, is ON the Bastei. The trip to the famous scenic bridge starts in the courtyard. The hotel room was clean and adequate. We had peek views, but mostly we saw the courtyard and restaurant's roof. The real views are from the north and west rooms--they are absolutely awe-inspiring--and if you can afford it, worth the money! The breakfast buffet is very good. The Panorama Restaurant is perched above the Elbe and the view is distant, dramatic, and majestic. You look down on the tops of birds. What amazed us was that the food was five-star--not in the rarity of the ingredients or recipes, but in the perfect cooking. The service was also five star, amazingly quick and efficient. In all of Germany, the only restaurant that we came across that compared in the cooking was at Heidelberg Castle. We highly recommend Berghotel Bastei!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel is right inside the Saxon-Swiss Bastei park. We stayed here with another couple for one night on our trip to Germany. The hotel was perfect for our short stay in the Bastei as we could visit the bridge and hike on our arrival and also explore the next morning. The different light exposures in the morning and evening also enhanced the views. The location of the hotel was also great as the other couple couldn't do much hiking due to health problems, so they had a place to relax while we hiked around.

We booked two rooms; one with the "rock view" and the second room, which was larger, without the rock view. Both rooms were clean and comfortable. The elevator was nice to have for our friends to use and also for carting luggage up stairs. The morning breakfast buffet was great. There was a large selection of foods, hot and cold, to choose from.

While we didn't see many Americans around, the staff was really helpful and could either understand our poor German language skills or spoke English. I highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting the Bastei.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mma536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Bastei is east of Dresden, near the border of Poland. It is a natural land bridge very high up with a beautiful view below. There is a restaurant and hotel there, and some very nice artsy shops, but one goes to Bastei for a walk at altitude and a gorgeous view, and maybe a hike.

I would not recommend this for people who have difficulty walking. Parts are steep or with many stairs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Fluglotse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

Together with a group of 10 friends I spent 3 nights at Berghotel Bastei. We went hiking, sailed to Königstein and visited the villages Hohnstein, Kurort Rathen and Stadt Wehlen. The location of the hotel is excellent if you plan to go hiking. There are great trails that take you through very different kinds of landscape starting right at the hotel. Schwedenlöcher is a must. The maps of the area and hiking trails that we could buy from the hotel lacked detail and were not very useful which made planning difficult (so get maps elsewhere), but the trails are marked with signs and we generally had no problems finding our way around. When we returned to the hotel after hiking it was nice to hang out in the spa area that features a sauna with a panoramic view, a tiny pool and a steam bath. Around the hotel were several terraces with café's and a bar so it was easy to find good places for the whole group to gather and hang out.
The whole place is well kept. The double rooms were clean, fresh (no smoking allowed) and quite big. We were able to have a little meeting all 11 of us in one of the double rooms. The breakfast buffet was really good (although freshly baked bread would have been nice).
We had dinner twice at the hotel's Panorama restaurant. Both times the restaurant had surprisingly few guests. The food was fine and there was a good selection of local wine, but the best thing was the view and watching the sun set over the landscape. Book a table by the window and enjoy.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: zimmer 2.etage mit blick auf pfaffensteine und königsstein
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter S, Geschäftsführer at Berghotel Bastei, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews