We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Galley of Lorne Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Ardfern B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at The Galley of Lorne Inn for two nights on our way to the outer hebrides. We chose the location because of the boat trips to the Corryvrecken from Ardfern and also it's easy access to Oban for the Calmac ferries. We really enjoyed the relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 714 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just spent a 5 night stay in the Arran room, the view from our room was outstanding. The rooms are beautifully decorated and immaculately cleaned every day. The staff are all very helpfull and friendly. Andrew made a point of having regular chats with us to se how we were enjoying the stay. The food is also excellent and the restaurant setting is lovely with views over the loch. Chris was particularly attentive and ensured we had everything we needed when we checked in. Had a great time there and will definitely be back. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRSmurieston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Andrew is such a fanatic host and always makes you feel welcome, we have visited Gallery of Lorne on so many visits and the views are fab, so much so this is where i have decided to get married.

All rooms are immaculate and the staff and food are exquisit.

Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 447billie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great family run hotel, food fantastic , scenery fantastic and dogs are welcome .
The hotel is so good we have decided to get Married there in September.
I think you can safely say we have a love affair going with the Galley of Lorne

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claymore1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I first stayed at the Galley of Lorne in a couple of years ago and it was excellent - lovely accommodation, great food, friendly staff and a nice bar. I took advantage of a deal in April this year and my boyfriend and I went back to stay for a night. Our experience this time was just as good as last time, with an added bonus of a bottle of prosecco on arrival, and it was lovely to be back in the area - I was only sorry we couldn't stay for longer! The west of Scotland really is beautiful and the location of the hotel is stunning. We really, really enjoyed our stay and would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have views of the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rd58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Galley Of Lorne for two days in April following a wedding in Callender. We booked it on the strength of its location and menu. We were not disappointed. The location and views from our room and the restaurant were amazing. The room itself could not be faulted. The food - well - don't expect average pub food. The standard was superb - more akin to a fine dining experiance but at very reasonable prices. If you like real ales you will not be disappointed either. Will definitely visit again if we get a chance of being up to the West coast of Scotland.

Room Tip: I really don't think there is a 'bad' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lundywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Although it's not the simplest place to reach, the stay at the The Galley of Lorne Hotel is well worth it. Excellent, friendly, and attentive service by the staff (special mention to Chris in the bar/restaurant).

Great location for exploring Argyll. The menus is inventive and the portions are generous. I've never had such a well presented and tasty full Scottish breakfast (The Highlander.

Our room was clean, warm, and had a feat view of the loch.

Well done to Andrew and his team. It's on our places to come back to list.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillLindsay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardfern
8.5 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
288 reviews
18 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,541 reviews
3.9 mi away
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Crinan Hotel
Crinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crinan
536 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Galley of Lorne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galley of Lorne Inn

Address: Ardfern by Lochgilphead, Ardfern PA31 8QN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Ardfern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ardfern
Price Range: $72 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Galley of Lorne Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galley of Lorne Inn is a 17th Century Drover's Inn and country retreat situated in the picturesque village of Ardfern which nestles among the hills beside Loch Craignish. This beautiful corner of Argyll has long been a favourite for yachtsmen, artists and those who appreciate beauty, wildness plus the good things in life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Galley of Lorne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galley Of Lorne Hotel Ardfern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing