We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One word - MAGICAL”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Kilmartin Castle on the hill side
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kilmartin, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
HikerCas
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One word - MAGICAL”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The castle is amazing. We were greeted by the property manager Louise and a beautiful basket of goodies that got us started on our daily breakfasts. Simon & Stef have really thought of everything that you need to enjoy your visit. The castle is nestled in a very quiet and quaint village which is just a few minutes walk to the local hotel pub and regional museum. The region is beautiful. The castle is very quiet and feeling like you are part of history is just amazing. The décor is kitschy and their is a record player, fire insert along with some fine Scotch to choose from. We were so comfortable we recorded our podcast in the great room !! The bathrooms are lovely and the bedrooms are very comfortable. The kitchen is nicely appointed and we cooked a daily breakfast. There are a few close towns to visit and you have access to almost any type of activity that you could think of. You will not be disappointed in making the decision to stay at the Kilmartin castle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The isolation and the opportunity to experience history.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heather49...
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How often do you get the chance to live in a castle with hosts who have thought of every detail? Staying at Kilmartin Castle was the best decision we made for our 2 week trip this summer, and we would certainly make a return visit. Our teens thought it was magical--spiral stone stairs, a "great room" with fireplace and a record player, space outside to play croquet, turrets and an easy walk to the friendly, local pub. We loved coming home to the castle after a busy day out and about, and getting an overflowing welcome basket and welcome from Louise was icing on the cake! The personal touch went a long way to making us feel welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“superbly different”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Its not often you get top holiday in a castle, its very warm and comfortable and having a whisky in front of the log fire at the end of a long day sight seeing tops it off. my only problem is that i couldn't stay any longer!!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of our travels”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Kilmartin Castle was fantastic. The incredibly helpful Louise graciously came out late to help us find the castle and get us settled in. Simon and Stef were out of town, but left us a lovely welcome basket. The combination of history with little touches of luxury (my god, the bedding, the water pressure!) made our nights there the highlight of our travels in London and Scotland. Thank you Simon, Stef, and Louise! We hope to visit again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren_Op...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible night in a truly unique place”
Reviewed June 4, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We recently spent a night in Kilmartin Castle and our expectations were far exceeded. The castle itself is located within walking distance of town but feels completely private. We felt immediately welcome and at home upon arrival, as no detail had been overlooked. There were fresh flowers and local eggs, butter, homemade bread and scones (among some other treats!) to enjoy the following morning. The decor of the castle is a wonderful mix of fun and timeless, and we enjoyed sitting in front of the fire listening to records while sampling whisky. The beds were comfortable and cozy and our only regret is that we couldn't stay for longer. Value for the price is unbeatable, and we will definitely be back! Many thanks to Simon and Stef for an unforgettable experience.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PandCBris...
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An experience in itself!”
Reviewed September 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This place is absolutely amazing. It is not only a wonderful space, it is a piece of the local history and an experience in itself. Sure, the castle does not come with over the top luxury but it is more than adequate! When we arrived, we actually changed our itinerary to allow us time to spend at the castle. The kids loved playing in the massive garden and made repeated attempts to catch an elusive hare! We loved staying in the living room with 5m high ceilings and reading. Kilmartin castle is an excellent reason to visit the area again. I hope it will still be available for rent in a couple of years time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The castle
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stay!”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing retreat! All the way from Portugal we were enchanted by the beautiful scenery and the beautiful views. Beautiful place, and how crazy it is to stay in a castle? Who doesn't want that? Recommend it to anyone! Loved loved Kilmartin

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing