We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful rustic retreat in a historic town”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Kilmartin Castle on the hill side
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kilmartin, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Britt888
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful rustic retreat in a historic town”
Reviewed August 13, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Kilmartin castle for 3 nights in July and absolutely loved the rustic, private location. It was great to have the option to cook for ourselves in the castle's kitchen, or head to the great local pubs or cafe at the Kilmartin museum just down the road.

We used the two double bedrooms for our stay, and really appreciated that each had its own ensuite with a big bath. Beds were large and comfy, and it was lovely to snuggle up on the sofas in front of the fire in the evening after a long walk.

I would say Kilmartin castle is the perfect spot for a getaway in Scotland with family and friends, having a few of us there made it even more fun, as the castle itself is so large! The owners have decorated the property in a really nice, minimal way which suited us well - we prefer to stay in places with the mood of 'everything you need and nothing you don't'.

Especially appreciated the email from the owner with tips and hints on interesting things to see and do around Kilmartin - it's an area of great natural beauty with lots to explore.

Will definitely look at coming back to this lovely spot!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbg1234
bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very basic”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Very disappointing. There is basic and then totally unprepared and unfinished/ furnished and this was the latter. We run holiday accommodation in Cornwall and travelled a long way for our glimpse of Scotland and felt cheated in every sense. Poor show.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2015
Hi Nigel, I'm really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your trip to Scotland. Thank you for taking the time to get online and write us a review so that we can address the points you have raised. When you stayed at the castle, I agree it was basic self catering. Please be assured we did our research and priced it accordingly. I'm a travel journalist, so spend a lot of time weighing up value for money. Saying that, during your stay at the property, it was fully furnished with beds (one is antique), new mattresses and brand new high quality bedding. The sofas were recovered the month before and the freestanding cast iron 80 year old baths had both been resurfaced. The kitchen came with an integrated fridge, new kettle and toaster and all the usual utensils. The heating worked in every room and the fire in the grand hall was in full working condition. We were still waiting for our rugs to arrive, some additional art and we've just put in a record player. We added some books and lamps too. Admittedly, now that we've added those pieces, it obviously feels fuller. Your review did come as a bit of a surprise though because we've had nothing but positive feedback on Airbnb, from people who loved the area, and having the opportunity to spend time in a 460 year old castle. That's a rare find for 130 pound a night! I hope at least all of our notes on where to hire bikes, walks, eat out, local tips, and detailed directions on how to get there helped to improve your experience slightly. Once again, were sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Stef and Sim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea S
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khainshab...
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M
Hamburg
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing