We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last decent real ale in Scotland”
Review of Kilmartin Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilmartin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilmartin Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Kilmartin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband visited several times on holiday good beer and friendly locals .Enjoyed cycling several days in area, and formed routes to end up at Kilmartin!! Likes a good pint and was a happy chap.We intended to visit in the evening as menu looked good but ran out of time. Next time ...

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Kilmartin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 162 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

On our way back to Oban after visiting some archeological site we found the road closed due to an accident and were forced to go back to Kilmartin, We stopped at this nice hotel to ask information about how to get to Oban by another way and decided to stay for dinner. It was a lucky decision as we had a great dinner, with great food and drinks at a reasonable price. The owners are very friendly and we spent a lovely night before going back to Oban through a terrible narrow and dark road...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Adri1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Lovely small hotel in the village, and very friendly attentive staff. Excellent hotel for relaxation, super wee bar and wonderful menu and food. The village is in the centre of an area with more archaeological sites and history than you can shake a stick at, so well worth slowing down and stopping the night.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank gbhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights here and found it to be one of the friendliest places we've ever stayed. The staff were very welcoming and this filtered out to the guests in the snug bar who all ended up getting to know one another and have a bit of craic. Our room was comfortable with lovely views down the glen, although a bit of repair work was needed (I see from other reviewers that renovation is being carried out so this probably explains it). The meals were very generously proportioned and tasty - just right after climbing Dunadd and exploring the Crinan Canal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Renovation was in action when we arrived. The staff were very welcoming and attentive. Our room was comfortable. The promptly served evening meals were very good. The wines were offered by the glass and from a wide variety. The Hotel is in situated in a glen which contains a number of prehistoric sites.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was our fourth visit to this great little hotel which has magnificent views down the glen and is well known for its super food and atmospheric bar. It is dog friendly which is a must for us with our two wheaten terriers, has a busy, well stocked bar and a superb restaurant.The menu was varied, food presentation first class and as always the staff were very pleasant, chatty and with great sense of humour! We stay here on our annual trip to Arran and find it a really good start to our holiday.Our room was spacious, clean and had great view and we will be back next year.

Room Tip: Room on top floor left of the stairs has lovely view down the glen and is very spacious.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blackisleduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

After our visit to the local museum, we had a couple of beers in the pub.

Nice staff behind the bar. Her advices were welcome to help us choose the right ale and after, the right whisky (we're French !).

Nice music too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank wrenSudOuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmartin
5.1 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
283 reviews
17.0 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
8.6 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,477 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Galley of Lorne Inn
0.3 mi away
Glenmore Country House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmartin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmartin Hotel

Address: Village of Kilmartin, Kilmartin PA31 8RQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilmartin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kilmartin
Price Range: $94 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Kilmartin Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing