We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and picturesque setting”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ballibrad

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilmartin, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
sonia p
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Peaceful and picturesque setting”
Reviewed April 25, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
2
people found this review helpful

My review seems to echo what a said by another guest some time ago .
The setting itself is amazing so beautiful and it's ideally located to visit all sorts of attractions whatever your interests.
We were well prepared with suitable footwear and a 4x4 so no issues with accessibility.
It's just the little things that were promised that were not there.
* the village shop is no more so it's a drive to get supplies
* no paper or kindling for the wood burner so no heating on the first night . Surprised this was not checked by house keeper as the place appeared recently clean. We would have brought our own if we had known
* the flue to burner needed sweeping .the draw was really bad and it also made the room smell
* we had no mobile signal on two different networks despite the comment regarding the booster. Sounds idealic until one of you falls ill
* two bath towels are not enough for a week with no radiators to dry them . Not a massive problem and we would have brought our own but when a listing says something is provided you expect it to be .
* we didn't mind as we don't use them but think it needs stating that there's no electric kettle .toaster. microwave etc so guests buy groceries accordingly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Beautiful hidden gem!”
Reviewed November 27, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Such a fantastic place with everything you need! So much walking and cycling in the surrounding area or perfect to just chill out with a book and a fire! It was our second stay and definitely won't be the last!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin and...
1 review
“A wonderful place for some solitude”
Reviewed October 25, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We loved the isolated location - only cows for neighbours. The barn has been beautifully converted into a cosy and comfortable home. It is amazing to wake up to a view down the glen through the gable end window.
We were looking for a place where we could really switch off and Ballibrad was perfect. With no wifi or phone signal ( there is a signal booster but thankfully it didn't work for us ) we had no choice but to leave work behind and relax. After one week of walking, reading and watching DVDs we were thoroughly refreshed. The main problem was leaving!
It is such a beautiful area with plenty of interest in the locality. The hills and wild life were the attraction for us but it is a place of particular archaeological interest and the coastline is spectacular.
Lindsey and Graham made us very welcome and were extremely quick in answering our queries. The house had everything we needed and was immaculately clean. We had no problem with the access track, despite some wonderfully wild weather, providing we went slowly but it would not be suitable for a low slung vehicle.
We had a great week and very much hope to be able to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 25, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ingshe
Moray, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning building in private glen perfect for two plus dog”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a great week at Ballibrad, and would definately want to go back again. The solitude was great, easy walking distance to Kilmartin and a great base for mid Argyll and day trips to the Isles although we spent a good portion of our time just relaxing around the barn. The bath was the biggest I've ever seen, the Kitchen was reasonably well stocked and clean and the old leather sofas was big and comfy. The lare stove was really easy to light and kept the barn really cosy. It took a couple of runs up and down the track before we sussed the best method of urging the cows off the road, but the bovine neighbours were fine with the dog and a small tradeoff for getting the rest of the glen to ourselves. I would recommend arriving in daylight. I loved watching the Eagles and listening to the Cukoo from bed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, the building
Liked least: cows on the road
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epona W
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect situation, let down by many small imperfections.”
Reviewed May 3, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
4
people found this review helpful

A fantastic place, beautiful setting, absolutely peaceful, very pretty barn conversion with amazing views, private, and lots of wildlife (cuckoos, foxes, many different birds). But our holiday was spoiled by so many 'little' things which could so easily have been improved (several of which have been mentioned in the reviews more than once):
1. the wood burner needs cleaning - the whole place smells of coal, (and by the end of a week so will you and all your belongings) and it doesn't heat the barn adequately; if it hadn't been sunny most of the time we would have been too cold despite keeping the fire going. The fire needs CONSTANT attention. Also, no poker! The unpleasant smell meant that it was not really possible to just relax there, and we had to have windows open at all times, even in the snow, although this didn't always help.
2. The bed is too small for anyone over average size; the duvet is likewise too small, pillows very flat, and for some reason the bedside lights are up lighters which don't give enough light to read by
3. No heating in the bathroom! Lovely shower and huge bath, but not much point when you don't want to go in there...
5. Inadequate size/no. of towels. No way of drying them except by hanging them near a window and hoping for sun. Still, I suppose this fits in well with the not using the shower problem...
6. No coffee making equipment of any sort. No microwave, toaster, or electric kettle. Loose handles on the pots and pans. The hob kettle has a metal handle which you cannot touch without burning your hand!
8. No dryer - really necessary staying out here, although washing can be dried by the huge windows if there happens to be any sun.
9. the track - you really need an attitude or a 4X4, especially if it snows. Definitely not for low slung cars. (There are also three large gates to open and close every time you leave and return, unless you happen to do so at the same time as the tractor bringing the cows' feed).
10. the grubbiness of the cushion covers, and half dead flowers in a vase. This just made me feel sort of depressed as soon as I got there :(
Some of these things are trivial, and wouldn't matter on their own, but all of them together added up to a lessening of our enjoyment of what is a wonderful place. In some ways it's more like a hostel than a home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation, peace and quiet, views, privacy, wildlife.
Liked least: Smell, lack of amenities, track
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing