We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super”

Kilmartin Museum Cafe
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Kilmartin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Kilmartin Museum Cafe is open every day from 10 - 5 from March to end October and 11 - 4 during November and December. We close from Christmas until the beginning of March each year. The cafe provides lunches, cakes, teas and coffees. Wherever possible, our delicious and wholesome food is prepared on the premises and cooked to order. We cater for special diets on request and there are always vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options on offer. The cafe is on two levels, upstairs in the barn and downstairs in the green oak conservatory with views across Kilmartin Glen. We have wi-fi and daily papers so you can always keep in touch.
Paisley
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Super”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Four geriatric cyclists stopped for coffee. Excellent home baking and friendly service. I'll go back when I have more time for a museum visit and a lunch

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KilmartinHouseMuseum, Manager at Kilmartin Museum Cafe, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Excellent - long may you continue to pedal around Scotland - we are glad to have provided the fuel to keep your legs going and look forward to your return for lunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    89
    20
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The cafe is in two parts, go down the steps into the conservatory because it has a great view. The food was pretty good, and because I have certain allergies I was able to go a little 'off-piste' with the menu, with is always very welcome. We would certainly return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HaroldTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KilmartinHouseMuseum, Manager at Kilmartin Museum Cafe, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your visit to the cafe - we do try to cater for all requirements when we can. The conservatory downstairs has lovely views across the glen - upstairs has wi-fi for our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food in a lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The cafe at the Museum is a great place to stop for lunch... Just wish it was open for dinner more often! Lovely home cooked food, served in an amazing wooden conservatory overlooking the Great Moss. The shop is really good too... no tat, just great souvenirs of this wonderful place at all price points.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Morag C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KilmartinHouseMuseum, Manager at Kilmartin Museum Cafe, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
This year, we decided to concentrate on our daytime cafe opening - sorry if that was a disappointment to you. Everything we do is constantly under review so we never say never to an evening restaurant service. Glad you like our shop - we do try to make it worth visiting in its own right as a quality gift and book shop with locally sourced art and crafts rather than just an add-on to the museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Loved the food here, menu is varied and unusual, plenty of fresh, healthy food and caters well for Vegans, Vegetarians and children. Loved the meal we had here, service was alright (order at the counter and was quite hectic when we were there). Not cheap but we had plenty to eat for our money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VeganABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KilmartinHouseMuseum, Manager at Kilmartin Museum Cafe, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for your review. Much of the food on offer is made to order in our kitchen which you will have seen is pretty small so it can get a bit hectic during busy times. Glad you enjoyed your meal and appreciated the variety of choices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We enjoyed a sail on a puffer at Crinan, free too, so then had a run to Kilmartin for afternoon tea. Lovely outlook from downstairs
area and home baked cakes that take the biscuit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annieoz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KilmartinHouseMuseum, Manager at Kilmartin Museum Cafe, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are lucky to be in such a beautiful area where there are so many things to enjoy - sounds like you had a great day exploring the history of the Crinan Canal and Kilmartin Glen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilmartin Museum Cafe also viewed

Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
 
Ardfern, Argyll and Bute
Craobh Haven, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Kilmartin Museum Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing