We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive, for what you get” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairnbaan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cairnbaan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cairnbaan
Idaho
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Expensive, for what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

Good restaurant, and nice people. Those are the pluses.
Minuses: Mattress as thin as I've ever seen, felt like sleeping on a board. Expensive.

This quaint roadside hotel is nearly directly on the adjacent road, with a mild/moderate amount of road noise.

Overall, after visiting neighboring villages, I would choose to stay elsewhere, (Crinan)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtimhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    88
    37
    27
    23
See reviews for
43
131
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

We ate at the Cairnbaan hotel while passing through the Crinan canal in July - the food was top quality with an extensive specials menu - the service was excellent and great valure for money - thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parkplace2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

Spent 4 days there with work colleagues and over all really enjoyed my stay. The food is excellent and great value for money. While working in the town close by asked the locals where we could go for a good reasonably priced meal and both times were told the Cairnbaan so all the locals seem to enjoy it too. My only complaint was the rooms , they need some work done to them but saying that wouldnt hesitate to go back maybe with my Wife if shes good !!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buffalobill29750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

Just had a few days in Argyll and this is one of the places I visited. Had lunch and a drink. The title of this review says it all. A few years ago this place had a banner outside saying "4 Star Quality at 2 Star Prices" and I think at that time it could have been true. Not any more.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donquixothotpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

Saw an advert for a 2 night Dinner,bed & Breakfast special deal for July/August 2010 at a reduced rate which was honoured with no problems (see a previous comment). The staff were very friendly and nothing seemed a bother to them.

The food was excellant - I have a gluten /wheat allergy and the staff were very helpful in ensuring that I did not get anything foodwise that would be a problem to me. Breakfast was the best I have had anywhere in the UK.

The view from room 6 was superb over the canal lock. The only downside is that parts of the hotel seemed tired and in need of some tlc. The drawers in the room although matching the decor needed securer handles as they kept falling off! The window screen in the bathroom was peeling off and some of the paintwork was needing refreshed. The room was clean but the top of the wardrobe needed dusted as we found out when we stored our bags there.

The restaurant was good but the bar/conservatory area needs attention - some of the tables are worn through the varnish to the wood and a couple of the small radiators were off the wall sitting on the floor.
There is a seperate cozy residents lounge where some guests used the wifi. If you need spare tea/coffee/milk for your room it's in the dresser.

These comments although sounding negative are relatively minor things the hotel could sort out easily. We would have no hesitation in taking another break here.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank intipusscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

Spent one night in Room 1 at the end of May. Room itself was ok but could be so much better.....

For example there was a CD player and a selection of CD's but the CD player did not work! The bathroom was huge and could be a "signature" room with some money being spent on the bathroom. A larger bath( for 2) with a TV on the wall and a separate shower would make this room worthy of the £132 for the night including B & B.

The room just needed a coat of paint, new carpet and a slight redesign. You can't watch TV when you close the curtains and given room on ground floor next to car park closing curtains is required on occasion ;-) although the TV only had 3 channels so not a major problem!

The food was excellent although the service was patchy. I was asked when being served my main course would I like anything else and I asked for another round of drinks. They did eventually arrive after 25 mins and a reminder to another waitress. I could see that the drinks had been poured and had been sitting there for a good 15 minutes before someone decided to pick them up! Annoying yes!

Would I stay there again probably yes but this could be so much better and with a little improvements I hope it will be.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank St-Cameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2010

Stayed here on business for one night. Good location by the Crinan canal. Excellent service and breakfast. Room spacious, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairnbaan
12.1 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
4.1 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
19.4 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
9.8 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
3.5 mi away
Crinan Hotel
Crinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crinan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairnbaan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairnbaan Hotel

Property: Cairnbaan Hotel
Address: Lock 5, approx halfway along Crinan Canal, Cairnbaan PA31 8SJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cairnbaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cairnbaan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairnbaan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cairnbaan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairnbaan Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing