We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting, pity about the restaurant”
Review of Cairnbaan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cairnbaan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cairnbaan
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The hotel has a wonderful setting and Cairnbaan, even in the rain, can be quite magical.

As for the hotel, the room we had was cosy, clean and comfortable. It felt like it had recently been refurbished but, if the owners are reading this, you do need to repair the shower fixture in room 10.

We were not impressed by the restaurant. The room itself has no atmospere, the carpet really needs cleaned and as temperatures soared in the south of England, we were grateful for the Calor gas heater. The young waiting staff were very pleasant but they do need training in how to do the job. The kitchen has collected a number of "rosettes" over past years. However on the night we ate there, the meal was unmemorable. The scallops were overpowered by the rather greasy black pudding and puree, and the game pie and the rib-eye steak were both drowned in powerful sauces. The flavour of the meat was lost, and the texture of the pastry suggested it might have been baked some time earlier.

Perhaps they were just having a bad night. Breakfast was better - but no marmalade. How does a kitchen run out of marmalade? So if you're going and if this matters to you, perhaps you should take your own.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlanRamsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
There are newer reviews for Cairnbaan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 283 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2011

My wife and I were travelling to a wedding in the area and had originally booked into another local venue. We were recommended by the owners to eat at the Cairnbaan and when we arrived at the hotel, being impressed, we asked if they had accomodation. A quick look at the room and our minds were made up. A change of venue was in order.
We were lucky to get the last room. Ground floor twin. Nicely appointed with good, clean en-suite, comfortable beds, TV, tea, coffee and water. A good value cost was agreed with no fuss, no swiping of cards just the trust and good humour of the owner. How refreshing is that?
The hotel boasts a cosy bar, conservatory lounge, restaurant and even a function room.
The bar and restuarant were lively and busy on that Friday evening but the helpful staff ensured my wife and I got a good table and were served without delay from an extensive menu.
Now, I ask you to remember that we had arrived during the hours of darkness. After a good night's sleep in the quiet room we enjoyed a full scottish breakfast and ventured outside - to find that we were right alongside the Crinan Canal. We had never heard of the place but what a spot. With a perfect morning to fill we set off along the canal, fascinating, picturesque and with quite wonderful Loch Crinan at the end a few miles away.
The Cairnbaan is not five star but it's all you need for a short break, walking, cycling, whatever.
Another quiet night after the wedding and another quality breakfast.
Good location, good value and great hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onetedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I stayed here on a business trip and couldn't believe what a lovely place it was. My room overlooked the Crinan Canal at the front of the hotel and was beautifully furnished with a large bathroom. The food was delicious - I thoroughly recommend the game pie. My only critisism was hard pillows but this didn't stop me from having a great night's sleep. Due to lack of time I only managed a quick walk along the canal but I will definitely be back to explore this area further!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Service from all the staff was friendly and everyone happy with nothing too much trouble.
We were given a lovely room which was spacious and clean.
The setting of the hotel is just stunning right on the canal, we went straight out and explored with plenty of cycle and footpaths to walk. Food was perfect in everyway with a delicious home cooked breakfast and an extensive menu to chose from. Evening meals were of the same high standard as the breakfast. Fresh and presented perfectly.
If you are anywhere near the area it is a must to go to and eat and if you can afford more time a stay in the hotel is a perfect break.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Staff were friendly and couldnt do enough to help. Setting just perfect.
Food was delicious with excellent choice of seafod and superbly cooked. Definately go back again. Room was large and bed comfortable. Had a relaxing stay with beatiful walks and countryside around.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed here as part of a Classic Car run - 21 of us nearly filled the hotel. We were well looked after, The staff were good ,the food was good. Everyone had a great time.
Sitting by the canal locks in the evening sunshine enjoying the scenery was memorable

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frasermunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Is it too much to ask that diners dine in comfort? Food tasty but atmoshere cold. Attempts to remedy were welcome but why should customers have to make such a basic request.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
Thank jeanie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairnbaan
12.0 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
19.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,477 reviews
3.7 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
450 reviews
14.3 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
269 reviews
9.8 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairnbaan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairnbaan Hotel

Address: Lock 5, approx halfway along Crinan Canal, Cairnbaan PA31 8SJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cairnbaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cairnbaan
Price Range: $113 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairnbaan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cairnbaan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairnbaan Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing