We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairnbaan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cairnbaan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cairnbaan
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

The hotel has seen better days and showed no sign of the complete refurbishment mentioned on their website.. The staff were friendly but the room was very disappointing. It did not resemble any of the photos on the website. The bed was VERY uncomfortable. The bedside table had a slide out glass shelf covered in a thick layer of dust and the metal bed knobs dropped off when you sat on the bed. The shower had not been properly cleaned as there was a half used shamppo bottle and piece of old soap in the soap dish. The bottom of the shower curtain was growing mould.
At £132 it was certainly overpriced and not a good advert for Scottish tourism. The only positive feature was the wonderful location but that is no excusive for shabby accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    88
    36
    27
    23
See reviews for
42
131
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

We were taking a boat up the Crinan canal and after a good soaking all day we all looked forward to a good hot meal.
We asked to see the menu and promptly ordered.We were sitting at a low slung bar table when the waitress arrived to set up the eating irons,etc.We said we did not want to eat at this table so she huffed and puffed and agreed to set up a table in the restaurant proper.Thing went from bad to worse after this.I won,t bore you with the graphic details but the service and food is the worst i have experienced in scotland.
Moral of the story-bring sandwiches next time!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank honestjohn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairnbaan hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

Argyll is a beautiful region and I often take short trips to this area. This was my first time staying at the Cairnbaan Hotel and did look very nice on the website. The hotel is a beautiful building and in a great location. However when you enter things begin to look a lot different! The welcome was rude and abrupt! The room was not very large and with no natural light, more like a large cupboard! It had obviously been recently decorated, however the decor did not match, the colours were ghastly and the bedding was made from a very uncomfortable shiny material! There was a broken, dirty wine box used as a curtain pelmet, why?! The service was less than standard, every request seemed to be a problem for the staff and when I asked to speak to someone in charge because I was not receiving a good service the young lady was rude and actually said "Why don't you go somewhere else"! We did eat and the food was of a high standard until we received our dessert which contained hairs! I recognised the hairs as being from an animal! We complained and was offered only a drink on the house. I could go on as there were several other problems but on the whole the service was terrible, the management in serious need of some training and the hotel decorator should be sacked! There are some lovely hotels in Argyll so please do not stay at the Cairnbaan!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terrylin080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

On the whole we found this hotel excellent value for money, we got a fantastic winter off season deal. The room we were in had obviously been recently redecorated and was pleasant, bed was nice and i am very picky about mattresses.
Food was on the whole excellent, I had one main course which was not up to scratch and i suspect was re-heated (game pie) but after two night there dinner bed and breakfast the food was apart from that one course, of an excellent standard. The breakfast was superb, the full fry up kept us going till lunchtime and beyond and was excellent, my husband had the poached haddock on our last morning and this too was superb. Yes the waiting staff may be sometimes inexperienced but what they might have lacked in finesse they more than made up for in pleasantness which is worth far more in my experience. We would defintely go back there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Budsmistress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

More indicated for adults looking for a quiet retreat. The food was excellent. The service was good but little details such as caring about standard needs, eg water, bread or clearing the table between courses were not quite up to scratch. The bedroom was welcoming but the mattress was not really of a standard you would expect in a hotel. The venue was pleasant and the area great to explore. Not sure we would go to stay but would certainly stop for a meal.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MATGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

Up for 2 nights for a wedding and very disappointed. Over priced for the standard. At £130 B&B verses a lovely Inn near Oxford for £90 (stayed 3 weeks earlier) there was no comparison. Room dirty -the window mid ledge had not been cleaned for a very long time and impossible to open. The room smell was very odd. The bath had a stand in shower and the shower curtain was black with mildrew for 6" at the base and mould on the tile joints. The lino was very marked. It felt 1980 and had not been touched since then. Needed a lot of TLC and upgrading. Great location but a disgrace for Scottish hospitality standards. Did not try the restaurent except for breakfast which was ok to good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ValtosGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

The hotel is clean, staff are attentive and friendly, food is superb and we found every request accommodated. I don't have a bad word to say, although £4 for a pint of cider stung after a few rounds!

Their chef is imaginative and uses local produce in almost every dish available, good selection of drinks and a nice range of places to sit, from outdoor tables to comfy couches, a cosy bar inside and an elegant restaurant.

Breakfast was fine, usual options plus a few fish based options like smoked haddock, salmon, kippers you wouldn't find everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbaptie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairnbaan
12.1 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
4.1 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
19.4 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
9.8 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
3.5 mi away
Crinan Hotel
Crinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crinan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairnbaan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairnbaan Hotel

Property: Cairnbaan Hotel
Address: Lock 5, approx halfway along Crinan Canal, Cairnbaan PA31 8SJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cairnbaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cairnbaan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairnbaan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Cairnbaan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairnbaan Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing