We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Cairnbaan Cottage

Cairnbaan Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cairnbaan Cottage
Cairnbaan Cottage The View from Cairnbaan Cottage Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Cairnbaan Cottage
Cairnbaan Cottage
The View from Cairnbaan Cottage Garden
Cairnbaan Cottage
Cairnbaan Cottage
The view of the Canal from the bedroom window
The Living Room
The Living Room
The Kitchen
The Dining area
The bathroom
The double bedroom
The double bedroom
The twin bedroom
The Crinan Canal at Cairnbaan
The view from a cycle track above Crinan
The Crinan Canal at Cairnbaan
The nearby Crinan Ferry Beach
Home made Scones, normally included for guests on arrival
Cairnbaan
Belanoch marina on the Crinan Canal
The Crinan Canal at Crinan
The nearby Cairnbaan Hotel
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cairnbaan, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
909mrss
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed March 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What can we say about this beautiful cottage and place apart from it was stunning. Cottage was very clean upon arrival with a goodie tray left for us in a very nice kitchen. Very cosy cottage with 2 good size bedrooms, One with double bed and the other was 2 singles and a good size bathroom. Cottage had great parking right outside property. Sitting outside the cottage looking out over the glorious Crinan canal watching the day go by was so very relaxing. I would return in a heart beat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 17, 2017
thank you very much for your very kind comments - so glad you enjoyed your stay.Come back and stay again sometime - we give 10% discount for repeat customers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wet week in a lovely cottage!”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed in this delightful cottage for a week in August. Unfortunately the weather was unkind but this didn't stop us enjoying the wonderful location overlooking the canal watching the boats passage through. Lovely walks from the doorstep for the dog - either along the towpath or cross over the lock and head into the forest park.
Great location for visiting the area's many attractions. As it was so wet we were forced to continually visit distilleries - it was a hard week! Nice but long day trips to Islay, Arran and Campbeltown. Inveraray, Oban and Crinan all much closer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2016
Hi Ian, Thanks very much for taking the time to submit a review and thanks for such a good review even though you were very unlucky with the weather. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again some time.
Regards
Morag & Iain
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish2...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“spectacular location !”
Reviewed June 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed here for a week from the 28th of May 2016. As we are both keen cyclists, the location was perfect for us to take advantage of the canal path running in both directions to Crinan and Ardrishaig. The cottage whilst small, is homely and comfortable with the added benefit of a modern but small dining kitchen. Enjoyed our stay so much that i didnt want to go home. The only downside or me was that the double bed was a wee bit too small and firm for my liking. On the upside, the owner has a space at the side of the cottage for parking your car. This was really good as parking at the cottages was very limited. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this cottage to other travellers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The double bed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2016
HI, Thanks for taking the time to submit a review about Cairnbaan Cottage, we do appreciate it. Thanks for the recommendation to others. Hope to see you again sometime. Morag & Iain
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deighton
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Rental we've had in Scotland and we've had Lots.”
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is cosy little gem with everything you could think of for a comfortable stay.

Peaceful and well placed almost halfway along the canal.

Cairnbaan Hotel just 10 minutes stroll but lacks a bit of sophistication if eating.

Must go to Crinan Hotel seafood bar for plump fresh prawns just landed and other delicacies from the sea.

Or further afield to the Starfish at Tarbert, wow!!

Graeme

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug l
Windermere, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful cottage in wonderful surroundings”
Reviewed February 21, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were greeted with home made scones and a very clean and tidy cottage. I really think the owners went the extra mile!

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnBrook...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“peace, quiet, views”
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in October 2012

We were lucky enough to see the northern lights whist here, that was lovely, however the cottage has all you require inc DVD'd etc....washer, dryer, bike shed, its right on the canal, we cycled walked . Thought about buying nxt door it was that good.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View of Crinan Canal
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing