We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively Camp Near the Linyanti and Savute Channel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linyanti Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2010

This camp was selected as part of a 2 week Africa trip with help from Craig Beal at Travel Beyond. He knew we wanted to experience several different ecosystems during our brief stay and he suggested this larger camp (10 tents) for our large group (7 people in 3 tents), as an opportunity to experience mopane and Kalahari apple leaf woodlands and huge herds of elephants on the floodplains of the Linyanti and Savute Channel. Because this is a large camp, it was quite lively, with lots of other guests to interact with and a large enthusiastic staff that sang, danced, and drummed for us one night. Despite the camp’s size, we never saw another Rover out on drives except when another guide radioed our guide to let us know the location of two young lionesses.

Location: Located in the Linyanti Concession, this camp is near the Chobe National Park. The concession is located in northern Botswana, and at one point we were gazing across the water to the wilderness of the Caprivi strip in Namibia on the other bank during one of our sundowner breaks!

Service:
Everyone here worked to make us feel comfortable and pampered. The managers immediately identified that we wanted to enjoy the serenity of the bush and set us up in tents at the edge of camp. They checked in to assure we had that peace and quiet we were seeking. My daughter was ill one evening, and a manager, Lizzie, came bearing juice and easy to eat foods assembled by the cook staff for her, then checked her vital signs, phoned them into the Wilderness nurse, and followed up that night and the next day to see if she had improved.
The cook staff, having read I was vegetarian in my pre trip questionnaire, provided an additional entrée for me on nights when red meat was on the buffet, despite the fact that I could find more than enough to eat from the large selection of vegetable, bean, and aubergine (eggplant) side dishes available. The managers and staff here just seemed like there was nothing they wouldn’t do for you!
Our guide, Lazarus, was terrific, full of youthful enthusiasm for the area. Easy-going despite one drive when not once, not twice, but 3 times things went flying off the Rover and he had to retrieve them for us. And he did an excellent job describing the habitat and behavior of the animals we saw. It must be harder for the guides near the end of a trip to get a “thrill” out the guests than the first guide…but our guide was able to share something new and exciting about the game we were seeing, even when we weren’t seeing something new.

Dining:
<Disclaimer: I am probably not the best person to review food, as I am a food for fuel person, but we had a diverse group; a vegetarian, 2 “foodie” adults-one a Brit, and 3 teens-one not so adventurous, and the food was positively reviewed by everyone in our group, and everyone found plenty to enjoy at every meal!>
This camp is rated by WS as “Classic” so meals are buffet style, with eggs cooked to order at brunch. There were lots of options here because of the relatively larger number of guests. Everything was delicious, and one night we enjoyed a traditional African dinner, which was lots of fun as well as excellent food.

Rooms/tents:
There were 10 tents; 5 each arrayed in opposite directions from the main public areas, on a raised (pretty high up in places, it was fun!) walkway. The tents were on platforms overlooking the hippo lagoon. We could hear the hippo, but saw red lechewee in the water. Baboons were often high up in the trees around the tents, and fun to watch, but we had to “lock” our doors to prevent them from making a visit while we were out! Our room had a large netted bed in half the room. The room was divided by a large storage divider. The other half of the room was the bathroom, with a shower, toilet and sink in the open area. Lots of storage, safe, and benches at the end of the bed for luggage. A nice private deck with lounge chairs and an outdoor shower. Our teens family tent had all the same amenities as in the main tent, but had a small hallway just past the bathroom half with another tent attached with twins. There was no way for the girls to leave the twin room without passing through the bathroom, which caused some traffic and privacy issues for them, which they solved by draping a bed spread near the toilet area, so they could pass through when it was in use.

Activities and Game:
This camp like most WS Camps operates a schedule whereby guests are up very early (how early depends on the season, how light it is) your guide wakes you and brings coffee and a while later escorts you to the dining area for breakfast before heading out on a game activity. During the activity, you will stop for coffee and some light refreshments. Usually, you will return around 11:30 for brunch, which will include hot food and eggs cooked to order. After brunch there is time to relax in your tent or around camp till about 2:30 or 3 when tea is served. This is usually snacks and drinks before you head out on an afternoon activity at 4. During the afternoon game activity, there will be a stop at sunset (in winter) to enjoy drinks and refreshments and then return to camp for dinner outside between 8:00 or 9 PM. After that, many guests head for bed, but some may stay up at the bar for a little bit.
Only at Duma Tau for 2 nights, we spent our time by the Linyanti and Savute watching game such as hippos and elephants and water birds and in the mopane woodlands looking for predators and other game. The highlight of our drives were watching the enormous elephant herds that live in the area and seeing hippos out of the water. In the woodlands, we enjoyed tracking two shy lioness and seeing how the impala reacted to their presence. We loved seeing a huge dazzle of zebra emerge from the trees and surround our Rover and we spotted a mother and young hyena one night. The beauty of the landscape was captivating, as well as the huge diversity of birds here, with both water and woodland habitats.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank familygoBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 182 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2010

We spent three nights at Duma Tau in July and can't say enough good things about it.

The game viewing was incredible. We saw wild dogs hunting impala, a lion stalking zebra and large herds of elephants crossing the Linyanti River using their trunks for snorkels. We also saw leopard, hippos, hyenas and giraffe. Our guide, Moses, was fantastic. His enthusiasm for the animals was contagious, and he was just great with our teenage kids.

The service at Duma Tau was better than at the other Wilderness Safari camp we visited. From the hot water for tea every morning at 5:30am to the group welcome back to camp every evening to the nightly escort to our door, we were completely pampered the whole time. I don't know how they manage to have everyone on staff be so friendly and attentive - kudos to managers Lizzie and Anton.

The cabins were basic but comfortable. The food was excellent, and we sorely miss our afternoon tea buffet!

We couldn't have had a better experience on our first safari.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyLosAltos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

My husband and I visited Duma Tau after leaving Mombo (an impossible act to follow), and we had adjusted our expectations to expect a less pleasurable experience. But guess what? We thought Duma Tau was great! The menus and food prep were wonderful, the staff and managers lovely and entertaining, and our guide, Moses, was the best guide of our trip. The managers arranged a surprise, private anniversary dinner on our deck the last night of our 2-night visit, a very special touch! The camp has a relaxed feel, but still has elegant touches here and there (many of the managers and guides transferred from Mombo).

Moses is a real worker, and we saw lots of game in this very beautiful area of Botswana. He gave us much more additional information about the animals that the other guides did. Moses is a walking encyclopedia!

You'll love this camp.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Get out of Dodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

The camp is located in the Linyanti region near the border with Namibia. I stayed in one of the ten comfortable tents on the shore of a lagoon. My tent had two beds, a sink, a hot shower, and a flush toilet. Breakfast and dinner were illuminated by paraffin lanterns that cast a warm glow around the dinner table, where all the guests and some staff dined together. Afternoon tea was served promptly at 3 PM in the lounge. Electricity was provided by batteries that were recharged by a generator.

I enjoyed the game drives with the guide that began in the morning (6:30 AM) and afternoon (3:30 PM). During the rest period between the game drives, I did laundry, cleaned my camera, and wrote in my journal. The wildlife at DumaTau was numerous and diverse. I had excellent photographic opportunities.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

My wife and I had a wonderful experience at Duma Tau. And we owe a lot of it to our safari guide while we were there - Ron. Ron has a real gift for finding and spotting game. And that comes in handy during the rainy season when the game are not as easy to find. If you go to Duma Tau, ask for Ron. You will be happy you did.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WrldTraveler0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

We stayed at Duma Tau in January, which is rainy season. Good for us because there was practically no one at the lodge during our two-night stay (we very little rain and it did not hamper our experience at all). Two things made this stay special: staff and game. The personal attention was a real luxury, and the staff made every effort to make us feel welcome. One night we came back from a game drive to find that our tent had been decked out with lanterns and candles for a romantic private dinner! Our guide, Name, was the absolute best in every way and we thank him for giving us such a wonderful experience. We saw EVERYTHING: elephants playing in the river, a lion swimming across the channel, birds, buck, leopard, wild dogs hunting and relaxing. One night we had a honey badger at our door and an owl on our verandah. The next morning we found that some of the handrails on the walkway near our tent had been pushed aside during the night by an elephant trying to reach its favorite acacia tree. The nighttime sounds around our tent were spectacular - hooting and snuffling of baboons and hippos. Food was great and we looked forward to every meal, and the tent charming. I had just lost my mother to cancer a few weeks before, and was feeling a little "tender". The staff knew this (the previous camp we stayed in - Little Vumbura - radioed ahead to alert Duma Tau to the fact that I needed some extra TLC) and took great pains to be kind and attentive. My heart-felt thanks to them for helping make me a little happier during such a difficult period. One thing to remember about Duma Tau - it is one of the larger camps in the Linyanti/Delta area (9-10 tents) and when at capacity might feel a little more crowded than what we experienced.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krisztinav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Pros - excellent service, professionally run, friendly team, attention to detail, beautiful setting overlooking water, nice accommodation (comfortable beds, wooden floors, mosqiuto netting, plenty of storage space, outdoor decked area, indoor/outdoor showers), elephants galore - often coming right up to the tent, communal table easy way of getting to know other travellers, good game viewing, quite a lot of birdlife (if you're into that), high quality guiding.
Cons - apparently less productive for big game wildlife viewing now that Savute Channel is flowing again, communal table can get tiring after a few nights if you just want some 'quiet time' during meals, average food for the price, no hot breakfast.

We stayed for 3 nights and had a really enjoyable time. Wildlife was not as prolific as I thought it might be (although another couple in our vehicle who had stayed at Duma Tau many times previously said that one of the days of our stay was the quietest they had ever had there in terms of game viewing), but what did stand out was the staff and the service - it was superb. The camp had a really friendly atmosphere, probably more so than any other camp we stayed at. Unfortunately we missed out on seeing wild dogs (although they had been sighted the afternoon before we arrived), but we got amazing close up views of three different leopards, saw lions with a kill and huge herds of elephant. Night drives, walking safaris, boat cruises, and sleep outs in the hide on request are all pleasant options and can be a nice break from the game drive routine if that's what you're after (although we decided not to do them). You usually get a partial night drive with the guide using a spotlight when coming back from the afternoon game drive so we didn't do a formal night drive (because I wasn't convinced it would be all that fruitful and you'd be exhausted for the following morning's game drive).

I would highly recommend this camp. With water in the Savute, the landscape is gorgeous.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blueman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linyanti Reserve
0 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#8 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
230 reviews
0 mi away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#15 of 72 in Okavango Delta
202 reviews
0 mi away
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safar...
#12 of 72 in Okavango Delta
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp

Address: Botswana, Linyanti Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Linyanti Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Linyanti Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps the best game viewing in far northern Botswana - from its newest and most stylish camp. DumaTau means "roar of the lion," but the elephant reigns here. The camp is set on a lagoon on the Linyanti River between two "elephant highways," affording unparalleled viewing of these iconic mammals, along with other wildlife. Together with sweeping, dramatic views of the river, the architecture of the camp expresses the explorer aesthetic, as well as the idea of space. There is an airy dining and lounge area, and a pool, all taking advantage of the superb view of the lagoon. Highlights DumaTau is located close to the source of the Savute Channel, with access to the Linyanti Swamps, floodplains and extensive mopane woodlands, thus offering an excellent combination of land and river. During winter, large elephant herds traverse the area. Chances of viewing leopard, lion and wild dog are excellent, along with other large mammals like hippo, red lechwe, giraffe, waterbuck, kudu, impala and occasional buffalo. 10 Tents (including 2 Family Tents): Rebuilt 2012; en-suite; spacious; raised off the ground; clear-storey window; 100% solar powered Experiences: Day and night game drives • Nature walks (on request) • Boating and barge (seasonal) • Game viewing hides • Catch-and-release fishing (seasonal) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duma Tau Camp, Linyanti Reserve Hotel Linyanti Reserve
Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp Botswana/Linyanti Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing