We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and fun”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linyanti Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This place was built here about a year ago. It is totally green, everything from the sun. Food good, service good, rooms very comfortable. You get to your. Room on elevated walkways. There are breaks for elephants and hippos to walk past. Encountered a hippo one night on the side of the walkway. He was below me. The guide was excellent. Well managed. There are boat rides and a place to sit over the water. Sunsets gorgeous.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank happyflyer45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Happyflyer45,

Thank you for your kind reveiw. DumaTau is not enclosed by a fence or any other protective structure. Wild animals can and do wander freely throughout the whole area at all times of the day and night, and must be treated with the utmost respect. Please be careful when moving around the camp during the day and please do not leave the camp perimeters at any time, unless accompanied by a guide. Confine your walking to the camp boardwalks. It is company policy that guests must be escorted to and from their tented units after dark. Please do not leave your accommodation until morning and do not be alarmed by any sounds you may hear: each tent is situated on a raised deck and you are far safer in here than you are leaving to investigate the noise. Just relax and enjoy the sounds of Africa!

Thank you again
The DumaTau Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 182 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

Having visited many of Wilderness Safaris camps in Botswana, South africa, Zimbabwe and Malawi, I am again amazed at how excellently they are run and kept, in these pristine and remote areas! Hats off !! Duma Tau is no exception!
The camp was moved to a brand new location on the exquisitely beautiful Osprey lagoon on the Linyanti river. All tents have views on the stunning lagoon and the vast palm fringed floodplains of the area. Elephant crossings are seen daily, as the crossing places are close to camp.
Duma Tau's tents are larger than the standard Classic camps. They have a fresh, airy design and kept immaculately clean.
The Duma Tau team was great. The staff were all positive and energetic, always available and ready to help.Thanks to Ashley, Murray, Tara, Catherine and the team.
Our guides at all Wilderness camps have always been exceptional, but Moses was outstanding!! He is so enthusiastic and knowledgable. We really had exceptional sitings: Wild Dog teaching their young to hunt, confrontation between Lion and Hiena, Leopard stalking. close encounters with Ellies, numerous birds and so much more.
The food was also outstanding. We especially enjoyed the great variety at lunch.
We also enjoyed being able to do gamedriving as well as boating, and the barge trip was very comfy and relaxing.
Our favoutite place was the floating bar on the lagoon. Every night a fire was lit there and one could enjoy pre-dinner drinks with the cool blue waters surrounding you and the sounds of frogs and crickets to amuse you.

Room Tip: No 10 is at the far side next to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ritaSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear ritaSouthAfrica,

Thank you for taking the time out to post your review on tripadvisor and how wonderful it has been to be able to welcome you back to our camps. We are so very pleased that you love the new DumaTau Camp, which really is situated in a most beautiful spot on the banks of Osprey Lagoon. It would seem once again that Wilderness Safaris have not disappointed in our offering. What a lovely sighting to see Wild Dog teaching their young to hunt and to end the day off with a drink in hand on the floating bar on the lagoon.

Hoping to be able to host you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

THis was the last lodge after a 8 week trip and it couldn't of been more prefect. As you step into the lodge you notice the beautiful setting overlooking the Linyanti River. The tents were large, beautiful and private. The staff was amazing.. The food was wonderful. I also loved that this was the only lodge that offered a couple a chance to dine alone or with other lodge guest. We spent three nights, one night they had a private table setup near the water with candles. On our last night the lodge setup a table far from the lodge, and our diner came down the river on a small boat. They gave us two servers out under the stars….
The lodge also gave us a private jeep and driver. Nice surprise. Our guide was one of the best we had. He realized that we had already seen many of the animals so he went out of his way to find unique animals we never saw. Our guide also took us on our only armed walking tour. It really was interesting you soon remember your in the wild. The manager of the lodge even took the time to take my husband out fishing.

There is nothing this lodge wouldn't do to make their guest happy!

Room Tip: all rooms are great, private and overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmc112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear dmc112,

WOW, 8 weeks is indeed a long trip and we are so glad that your final camp and impressions of Africa (hopefully not for the last time though) was with us at DumaTau. Although we appreciate all forms of feedback – the positive ones are naturally always so much nicer to receive and help make us realise amongst all the day-to-day things, that at the end of it all, we are in such a privileged position to be able to create some really wonderful memories for you, the guest. Memories, which hopefully you will be able to carry with you for a long time to come.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we hope that we will be seeing you at one of our many other camps sometime in the not so distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a fabulous time in Duma Tau! Between the knowledge of our Guide, the abundance of animals, and the professionalism of the staff, we could not have had a better experience. The staff did everything possible to make us feel special ... from a birthday celebration for one of our party (4 of us) to a cocktail party on the floating dock under the stars. Although it was warm ... well, hot ... the plunge pool kept us cool during the heat of the day. The food was remarkable, as well as the special cocktails offered each day. Every outing brought something new and exciting to our adventure.
My only negative comment has nothing to do with the camp. The vehicles need better maintenance, or replacement. Obviously, they are well used going through the bush, frequent starts and stops, however, this should be taken into consideration in a camp of this caliber, and price.

Room Tip: Although we were further away from the main lodge, we were close to the plunge pool. We didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Duma Tau is an established camp and is run with great care and precision. The tents are spacious, well appointed and cleaned to perfection daily. We were very pleased with the level of service and the excellent menus at brunch and dinner. The game drives produced an array of animals for our observation. The unique and endangered African Wild Dogs were observed with nine pups as were the larger game animals. We were very fortunate to share our land rover with a British couple who have been to Africa over 20 times and always include Duma Tau as one of their venues - that speaks to the quality and atmosphere of the camp

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Duma Tau was our first camp and provided the bench mark for the other 2 camps we would stay at. The camp is relatively new and offers reasonable comfort in what is a harsh environment. This part of Botswana is semi-arid.
All the staff are friendly, gracious and nothing is to much trouble. The drives are excellent and our guide Lazi was extremely knowledge and such a happy soul. The food is served buffet style and is of a high standard. I note another reviewer mentioned the solar power and lack of lighting at dinner. Yes this could be an issue however I thought it was lovely having candles and lamps everywhere, it makes one appreciate mains power supply!
I think they do an excellent job with an extremely comfortable camp since everything and I mean everything has to be brought in by truck...no mean feat given the isolation and the state of the roads. If we were to return to Botswana I would not hesitate to return for us we have very happy memories.
Oh and don't expect to much sleep the hippo's can be rather noisy at night.... still this is all part of the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallymay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was the first camp we stayed at in Botswana, and what a lovely place to start! This camp has 10 rooms with a maximum capacity of 24 guests. There are 60 staff members. Our guide was Moses and he was knowledgeable, friendly and professional. We were traveling as a family of three. Out of the 4 game drives and one boat ride, we only had to share a vehicle once, and that was with one other person, Moses was really our own private guide! The rooms were fabulous, the staff was friendly and the service was really excellent. The food was varied and very good. My sister doesn't eat red meat, so they always had fish/chicken prepared for her as an alternative. The other guests were interesting and friendly. The game viewing was great. Here are some of the animals we saw during our two-night stay at Duma Tau: leopard eating a warthog, giraffe inside the camp, 2 male lions (brothers), a large herd of elephants swimming across a channel, hippos, wildebeests, red lechwe, badger, pigmy geese, open-billed stork.... I would definitely recommend this to anyone going to Botswana.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRyan1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linyanti Reserve
0.0 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#8 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#17 of 71 in Okavango Delta
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safar...
#12 of 71 in Okavango Delta
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#5 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
234 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp

Address: Botswana, Linyanti Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Linyanti Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Linyanti Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps the best game viewing in far northern Botswana - from its newest and most stylish camp. DumaTau means "roar of the lion," but the elephant reigns here. The camp is set on a lagoon on the Linyanti River between two "elephant highways," affording unparalleled viewing of these iconic mammals, along with other wildlife. Together with sweeping, dramatic views of the river, the architecture of the camp expresses the explorer aesthetic, as well as the idea of space. There is an airy dining and lounge area, and a pool, all taking advantage of the superb view of the lagoon. Highlights DumaTau is located close to the source of the Savute Channel, with access to the Linyanti Swamps, floodplains and extensive mopane woodlands, thus offering an excellent combination of land and river. During winter, large elephant herds traverse the area. Chances of viewing leopard, lion and wild dog are excellent, along with other large mammals like hippo, red lechwe, giraffe, waterbuck, kudu, impala and occasional buffalo. 10 Tents (including 2 Family Tents): Rebuilt 2012; en-suite; spacious; raised off the ground; clear-storey window; 100% solar powered Experiences: Day and night game drives • Nature walks (on request) • Boating and barge (seasonal) • Game viewing hides • Catch-and-release fishing (seasonal) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duma Tau Camp, Linyanti Reserve Hotel Linyanti Reserve
Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp Botswana/Linyanti Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing