We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic camp, good game” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linyanti Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp
Certificate of Excellence
uk
2 reviews
“Basic camp, good game”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2008

Cannot believe I have read those reviews!!Maybe if you have never been to another camp. It sells as a 4* plus accomodation, when in fact is very basic and the food barely edible.towels small and faded and frayed. Staff refusing to brign coffee to room.It would be ok if they just sold it for what it is. a basic 2 - 3 * camp.Many guests were as upset as me. Most had come or were going to (equivalent) 4* and were apalled. Great game viewing though.

  • Liked — game viewing
  • Disliked — the accommodation
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabethc40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    26
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
88
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City & Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2008

Duma Tau was one of the best places I have ever stayed in. Seriously!

My partner and I stayed at the lodge for three nights on our African safari and it was by far our favorite place in Africa. The accommodations were top-notch, staff was amazing and most importantly... the animals were abundant. We saw elephants, hippos, lions, leopard, zebra, giraffe, lechwe, baboons... and wild dogs (very rare because they are nearing extinction). Our guide, Thompson was quite informative and we had quite an adventure with him tracking down game. The jeeps were open air and sturdy. It was quite cold there in the mornings while we were there so they gave us blankets and hot water bottles to keep us warm. The staff also performed an amazing song and dance during a bonfire "boma" on the last night of our stay.

We will never forget our time at Duma Tau and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Botswana.

  • Liked — Tented rooms and game
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rain1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2007

I have just been on Honeymoon to Duma and it was absolutely fantastic. There was a great feel about the camp, and the photos on the internet just do not do it justice. The rooms are extremely comfortable and exceeded expectations, the food was fantastic and there is a very good bar/pool area. With regards to game we were unbelievably spoilt, seeing 4 male lions (together), leopard (mother and cub) and cheetah, all in the same day. This was my first ever safari and this was a real treat. This is based by a watering hole and as a result you have elephant all over the camp, the proximity of all the game was brilliant, some times too close for comfort. I cannot speak more highly of this place, it will hold happy memories for me the a long while. Also must add the guides were extremely knowledgable and there is so much terrain to cover adding to a great safari adventure.
BRILLIANT

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Laranja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2007

Wow! We flew in to their airstrip and starting seeing wildlife on the way to camp. Duma Tau has the best guides we came across while in Botswana. The tents are very comfortable. The animals are everywhere, including in camp. Guests only walk on elevated walkways. Safety is very important to the staff, as well as comfort. However you define the "big five" you will see it all at Duma Tau. We arrived July 1 and there were no bugs. It's a perfect time to see animals. It's dry, so they come to the remaining water holes and the river in very large groups. The food was great. The staff was fabulous. Clearly they love what they are doing and show it in how they take care of their guests. Not only did they feed us beautifully, they entertained us and educated us. The guides were very well educated, discussing not just the animals but the environment as well. The discussions were quite illuminating and very satisfying. The wild life sightings were incredible. This is the best camp of our 4 camp safari in Botswana. We spent 3 nights there and left wanting more. BTW, they are well set up to charge all batteries - cameras and computers and had a very nice curio shop.

  • Liked — The staff, the facility and the location.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janetlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, England
Level Contributor
242 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2007

Arrived by light aircraft and met by Oates, our guide. Animal watching on the drive to the Camp. Met by the rest of the staff as we arrived, what a welcome! Each 'tent' is very special all set out indivually on raised boardwalks, to restrict the wild animals entering the accomodation! All inclusive board, the food was delicious and plentiful, also the drinks. The staff were very helpful and delighted to do anything for you. One afternoon during seista, I was reading a book on our decking, when a hippo crashed through the surrounding area, right by where I was sitting and almost touchable! Not an unusual occurence apparently, sometimes even more exiciting events take place....
We stayed 2 nights and would have liked another night but Zambia was calling.....

  • Liked — Location, staff, wildlife
  • Disliked — leaving!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cftjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2006

We came to Duma Tau for a couple of nights in November 2006. This doesn't seem to be a particularly popular time but we loved it! There was plenty of game to see and the birds were spectacular.

There is a maximum of six people in a Land Rover so everyone can get a 'window seat' - although there are no roofs. Unless something very special was spotted, the Land Rovers did their own routes so you didn't feel you were on a bus tour.

The camp was very comfortable and well-run. The chief meeter-and-greeter, Janice, was wonderful. The food was good, the guides were great and all in all we had a wonderful time. Be prepared for mosquitoes though!

  • Liked — Comfortable beds and large room looking out onto the river - complete with hippos.
  • Disliked — Mosquitoes. But then they come with the territory!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linyanti Reserve
0.0 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge
Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge
#8 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#34 of 71 in Okavango Delta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.0 mi away
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
#10 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp

Property: Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp
Address: Botswana, Linyanti Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Linyanti Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Linyanti Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps the best game viewing in far northern Botswana - from its newest and most stylish camp. DumaTau means "roar of the lion," but the elephant reigns here. The camp is set on a lagoon on the Linyanti River between two "elephant highways," affording unparalleled viewing of these iconic mammals, along with other wildlife. Together with sweeping, dramatic views of the river, the architecture of the camp expresses the explorer aesthetic, as well as the idea of space. There is an airy dining and lounge area, and a pool, all taking advantage of the superb view of the lagoon. Highlights DumaTau is located close to the source of the Savute Channel, with access to the Linyanti Swamps, floodplains and extensive mopane woodlands, thus offering an excellent combination of land and river. During winter, large elephant herds traverse the area. Chances of viewing leopard, lion and wild dog are excellent, along with other large mammals like hippo, red lechwe, giraffe, waterbuck, kudu, impala and occasional buffalo. 10 Tents (including 2 Family Tents): Rebuilt 2012; en-suite; spacious; raised off the ground; clear-storey window; 100% solar powered Experiences: Day and night game drives • Nature walks (on request) • Boating and barge (seasonal) • Game viewing hides • Catch-and-release fishing (seasonal) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duma Tau Camp, Linyanti Reserve Hotel Linyanti Reserve
Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp Botswana/Linyanti Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing