We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You just can't say "NO" to a woman” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linyanti Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You just can't say "NO" to a woman”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

OK. Dena from Trip Advisor, you made it. I have to write another review. It will be about another lodge in Botswana. It will be about Duma Tau. I just returned from it two days ago and on this trip it got my gold medal. With wilde nature the situation may change any moment but as of today, they have two competing wilde dog packs on two banks of Savute Channel, a pride of 16 lions and 5 leopards. So, you will have a good choice to pick from. If you are lucky. of course)). I would also like to thank the management and guides. You are just PERFECT!!! Please accept my respect and thanks!

Room Tip: Just go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kholopov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    26
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
88
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Another wonderful stay at a camp in the Okavango Delta. The staff were super friendly, made us feel right at home. Our guide, Tank, was v informative and a really cool guy. Nice eating locations & bar. Food was top notch. Nice mix of land & water. The rooms were not as nice as other camps. Built in thatch & with plenty of wooden beams it was a haven for bugs & lizards!! Also the bathroom is separated by a curtain, no door, so not at all private. We were happy to here that they are in the process of building a new camp just downriver as there definatley needs some updating (some of the flooring near the pool is rotten). We had plenty of elephant visitors to our room incl one bull that LOVED the mangosteen tree above our room and demolished the deck trying to get at the branches. V cool and unique experience to have an elephant literaly shaking your room. The camp also gets plenty of bird visitors and baboons. Sleeping to the sound of hippos is something I miss!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tazzer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingle, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Fabulous is the word for everything at Duma Tau! Lions, leopards mating, wild dogs, lots of elephants, zebra, wildebeest, and more. The staff and guides are amazing, friendly people with a warm demeanor and great sense of humour. Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Duma Tau is building a new camp nearby. The current camp will close in a few months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shicklestotle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

This resort has beautiful rooms, professional staff, and knowledgable, experienced guides. The meals were very nicely presented and delicious. The first two resorts prepared us for this one. Since the guide knew we didn't need to stop for elephants, giraffes, or impalla any more he tracked the wild dogs during a hunt. We saw the kill, the feeding and the puppies arriving and squeeling with excitement. Later we saw a lion attack a young elephant. The elephants mother was able to scare the lion away before it died so it was able to walk away. These types of experiences require a guide that has patience and enough knowledge to be at the right place at the right time. Awesome trackers at this camp. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hwbucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed at Duma Tau for three nights in late August and loved it especially our guide Carlton. He was extremely knowledgable about wildlife and passionate about providing great experience. We saw large herds of elephants, wart hogs, leopard, lions and lots of zebra, water buffalo, giraffe, antelope and baboons. We also saw a wild dog chase and kill which was amazing. Be sure and drive across Savute Channel for larger concentration of wildlife and barge cruise for elephants swimming. Food was above average but not great. They don't have eggs for breakfast but do a brunch instead for lunch. Ask for room 1 with private look out over swamp for incredible view.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank xldfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Duma Tau is located in the Northern part of the Savuti-Linyanti concession. At the time I was there planned renovations had not taken place ad yet.

The rooms were clean, albeit a little more rustic than Savuti camp. The camp's Linyanti river aspect is a sight to see.

Game drives are around the channel, where you can see red lechwe (a water loving antelope). I was able to see them crossing water, which was a rare treat.

If you want classic African safari style then stay here. If you prefer something a little more modern then stay at Savuti Camp. If you something more luxurious them stay at King's Pool Camp.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SafariSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed here for two nights - the first camp of three in Botswana. It's a little older than the other camps we stayed at (Xigera and Vumbera Plains) but still very nice. Apparently they are going to tear it down in a year or so and relocate to a new location close-by and upgrade it. They feed you a ton, the service is great, managers are friendly and we LOVED our guide Name. Yes, his name was Name. He was an excellent tracker (personally I think the best one there since he was the one that found a leopard and a cheetah before the other guides). We saw a lot of animals and would recommend this camp to others. Oh, and the animals definitely come close by! We had an elephant who would come right up to our room each afternoon during siesta. We also appreciated the hot water bottles they give you to keep warm under a poncho during those cold, early morning safaris.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ApresNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linyanti Reserve
0.0 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge
Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge
#8 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#34 of 71 in Okavango Delta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.0 mi away
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
#10 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp

Property: Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp
Address: Botswana, Linyanti Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Linyanti Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Linyanti Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps the best game viewing in far northern Botswana - from its newest and most stylish camp. DumaTau means "roar of the lion," but the elephant reigns here. The camp is set on a lagoon on the Linyanti River between two "elephant highways," affording unparalleled viewing of these iconic mammals, along with other wildlife. Together with sweeping, dramatic views of the river, the architecture of the camp expresses the explorer aesthetic, as well as the idea of space. There is an airy dining and lounge area, and a pool, all taking advantage of the superb view of the lagoon. Highlights DumaTau is located close to the source of the Savute Channel, with access to the Linyanti Swamps, floodplains and extensive mopane woodlands, thus offering an excellent combination of land and river. During winter, large elephant herds traverse the area. Chances of viewing leopard, lion and wild dog are excellent, along with other large mammals like hippo, red lechwe, giraffe, waterbuck, kudu, impala and occasional buffalo. 10 Tents (including 2 Family Tents): Rebuilt 2012; en-suite; spacious; raised off the ground; clear-storey window; 100% solar powered Experiences: Day and night game drives • Nature walks (on request) • Boating and barge (seasonal) • Game viewing hides • Catch-and-release fishing (seasonal) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duma Tau Camp, Linyanti Reserve Hotel Linyanti Reserve
Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp Botswana/Linyanti Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing