We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
83
22
7
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
22
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews savuti camp savuti channel wild dogs game viewing three days wilderness safaris elephants crossing evening drive over the top sandy roads lion cubs landing strip before dinner memorable experience main area curio shop animal sightings
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 112 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2017

This is an experience befitting a birthday celebration for the most special person in your life...Wilderness Safaris just know how to 'deliver'. No on knew of the special occasion - they didn't need to. From the luxury accommodation-cuisine-wildlife-service-staff...priceless!

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Dear Rick,

Thank you for the beautiful review and for sharing this special time with us. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to all the staff in camp.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017

This was our first ever safari and not really knowing what to expect we arrived at Chobe airstrip and was met by the simply wonderful 'Goodman' who, fortunately for us, was going to be our guide for the next three days.
I cannot describe how simply beautiful this area is. The camp itself is a delight, our lodge was lovely, with wonderful views of the hippos relaxing in the water just off of our terrace and of the many animals that came down to drink. The food & drink was of high quality, nothing was too much trouble for anyone we came across.
The drives were magnificent, we chose this camp as we're very keen to see elephants. We were not disappointed, we saw hundreds, many up by close. We also saw wild dogs, not easy we were told. All of our drives with Goodman were fun and informative, I think we were very lucky that he was our guide. He was so knowledgable about all the animals that we encountered.
Many thanks to everyone at Savuti, we had a fantastic time. Botswana is a beautiful country and Savuti is a must if you can possibly get there!

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MV1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Dear MV1961,

The Linyanti offers diverse and prolific wildlife, but is most noted for its very large elephant population which can reach enormous densities during the dry winter months. We are thrilled to see you enjoyed all the great sightings and will be sure to pass on your high praises to Goodman as well as all the great staff in camp.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017

Not only is Wilderness Safari Savuti at the top of their game in terms of the beauty of the lodge, the experience of our guide (Goodman - awesome!!!), the animal sightings (over the top - and this was not our first trip to Africa nor our first safari camp), the sweet and generous service of the staff and the delicious food.....but they were very accommodating to my husband who is a strict vegan. They always either made the same side dishes in a vegan style and/or provided other choices - and I mean choices. The vegan options were so good that our friends started claiming they were vegan also. Ha Ha. And the lodge was happy to accommodate them as well. I highly recommend this lodge in Botswana. You can't go wrong with Wilderness Safari Lodges in general.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gigi-ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2017

Dear Gigi-ray,

Thank you for the amazing review, we are delighted to see how much fun you had with Goodman and are so pleased the kitchen staff were able to sufficiently cater to your husbands vegan diet. We will be sure to share your beautiful words with all our great chefs in the kitchen.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2017 via mobile

After 2 nights at Kwetsani water camp we reached Savuti...it gives a real feel of a jungle stay... the Defender had to negotiate deep sandy ruts at times quite deep to reach the camp from the airport.The thrill began before we reached the camp.. we loved the luxurious thatched tented cottages.The netted fenestration in the front gives a great view of the savute channel.. one has to sleep hearing elephant walk on the channel and wake up to hippo grunts in the morning.The common area rustic decor was superb.. curio shop had a good collection... food was great... bush buddies .. management and guide Evans need special mention because we loved the personalised touches here and there.. the sundowners were.The activities were superb and specially the wild dogs chase..Cheers to Savuti

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank monishab953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2017

Dear monishab953,

Thank you for the wonderful review, we are so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and in combination with Kwetsani, Savuti rounds up a true Botswana experience. We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your time with Evans and watching the always entertaining wild dogs. We will be sure to send him your warm regards as well as all the staff in camp.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2017

They say your guide really makes the safari and never was it more true than at Savuti Camp. That's not to say the camp itself isn't outstanding (it's absolutely beautiful, the service is top notch, the food was terrific); it's just that our guide Goodman had us captivated from morning till night every day of our visit. Every time I feared he couldn't top the last experience, he pulled something truly spectacular out of his hat—tracking (and being the first to see!) mama lions and their three-month old cubs, touching a python, meeting a monitor lizard, predicting every move angry elephants would make.... He had every member of the family engaged no matter the age—from single digits to mid-forties—with stories, jokes and rich info on not just the wildlife of Botswana but also the people, the culture, the government, the conservation efforts, and more. Not to mention, he stole the show at Culture Night, which was truly a memorable experience.

We were surprised and delighted to discover our kids were matched with Kelly, a Bush Buddy. She is magic: managing to elicit laughter and smiles from everyone (even an ornery nine-year-old going on very little sleep) with a brain teaser or a well-timed game! They even went off to bake bread and search for frogs and lizards, offering grownups a bit of time to relax by the pool with a book.

The family suite was perfect—beautiful, close to the main area on a raised path (so kids could move freely on their own in daylight) and offering ample (separate but connected) space for kids and adults alike. The views were beautiful and it was incredible to come home from a game run to find elephants feeding in the channel just outside.

Everyone at camp was warm and welcoming. Food was great. Really no complaints—we would absolutely recommend it and be thrilled to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melib212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Dear Melib212,

Thank you for the amazing review and glowing praises for Goodman and Kelly - we have passed your beautiful words on to all in camp who will be delighted to read your kind words.

Wilderness Safaris has several key staff members – known as Bush Buddies – who have been trained in childcare and educational aspects of looking after children in the bush. They are all highly motivated and will ensure that children visiting our camps get the most out of the experience. The Bush Buddy’s sole purpose during a family’s stay is to focus on their new friends in camp.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you all back soon.
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews