We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
82
22
7
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
22
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssavuti campsavuti channelwild dogsgame viewingthree dayswilderness safariselephants crossingevening driveover the topsandy roadslion cubslanding stripbefore dinnermemorable experiencemain areacurio shopanimal sightings
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 111 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at this camp and had a fantastic time. September is a good time go because it is the middle of the dry season and the animals tend towards the rivers and water holes. Our appointed guide was Onx and he was a star. He asked what we wanted to see and worked hard to find it for us. The three guides (each in a Land Rover with guests) are in radio contact and work together to track game. They follow the spore and 'off road' to get to the animals. When one of the guides spot something special the others join in meaning you actually have three guides not just one. In fact they also join in with guides from the other camps in vicinity so that chances of seeing something really good is high. We had fabulous viewings of leopard, lion, wild dogs (we saw two wild dog kills, the first night an impala and the second night a kudu), hyena, honey badger and all the elephants, water buffalo and buck that you could manage. Whilst the animals are fantastic the bird life is also amazing.

The camp is first class and Murray and his team do an excellent job. The accommodation is very comfortable and the tented cabins look out on to the Savuti Channel. On the second afternoon we counted 45 elephant in channel in front of us. The staff are friendly to the point that you feel sad to part company when you leave. The food is very good and plentiful and the bar well stocked. In the evenings the staff give a short presentation on a topic of interest so you go away happy with a slightly tighter belt but better informed. It doesn't get much better.

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank oldebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2014

Dear Oldebelle,

Thank you for your amazing review we are so glad that you had so many great sightings, with Onx behind the wheel and the assistance of his co-guides we are thrilled they are able to show you all the wonderful animals that frequent this concession. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to Murray, Onx and all the staff at Savuti Camp.

as you mentioned, the bird life at Savuti - significantly so this season. The Carmine Bee-Eaters are already in the concession – roughly two months earlier than last year. Some of the largest flying birds have been seen around camp – being the Secretary bird and the Kori Bustard. Every evening Openbill Storks come and roost in a tree by the bar area. In the beginning there were just under 20 but now the word seems to have spread about the spot and the numbers have soared – up to 51 on one recent evening!

Thank you again and we hope to see you in our camp some time in the future.
The Savuti Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2014

Ah, Savuti camp. Out of the 3 camps we stayed at we rated it last. Why? Not the food, which was easily the best of the camps we were at. Not the rooms, which had the best view and were the largest of our camps. Not the general staff, again the most friendly and engaged of the camps we visited. As an example they set up a special "sundowner" out in the for some guests anniversary and made a cake, put up candles an a downed tree and set up a bar, and we all were invited. It was really something. Another evening they let us stay in the elevated game hide overnight. They put a bed and mosquito netting up for us, lit candles and lanterns, had a fire going and drinks, all under a full moon. It was the best non-game activity we had at any camp. However, it was all, well not ruined, bur besmirched maybe? by the lackadaisical efforts of our guide. Unlike other guides he never asked what we wanted to see. Nor did we partake of another "sundowner" (a late afternoon break for a drink and a stretch) after the first day, even when we asked. This was really strange because it is generally made into a big deal. Another time he took us to see a leopard at a kill sight...which would generally be awesome. However we had all been to it twice already and while he could have taken us to ii on an out and back in about 30 minutes, instead he took us there on a circuit that started out by the channel for the first 20 minutes, but then wound through the desolate, dry scrub for mile after monotonous mile. In the end it took two hours to get to the leopard, 10 minutes there, then another 45 minutes of scrub to get back to the channel, by which time the sun was gone. Most drives I would take 100-300 pictures. That drive I took 5. And that is another thing about Savuti, at least in September: Everything is along the channel. Temps were warm 19/30 on the 3 days we were there.

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffreyjonkoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2014

Dear jeffMissoula,

Thank you for your review, we are terribly sorry to hear that one little element has left such a bad feeling about this camp. We will pass on the good comments to the staff. With regards to the poor experience with your guide, we have launched an inquiry on this matter and would like to request that you contact either your Travel Agent or the Wilderness Safaris Customer Care Department with a detailed report so that we can fully investigate this matter.

Thank you again and we hope that our teams are able to help you in better detail.
The Wilderness Safaris Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2014

We just spent three nights at Wilderness Safari Savuti Camp. The staff(Annelle, Kang, and Murray and all servers) were very friendly and the food and service wonderful. Permanent tent accommodations are very nice as well.

Our guide, Willy, was very good, but we we disappointed that we did not have the famous Goodman as a guide. He seemed to find everything of interest and Willy just followed his lead! Our first two drives were fantastic, with a female leopard out hunting late in the afternoon. We had very close encounters and enjoyed watching her stalk some guinea hens and later eat a mongoose. Our first morning was amazing, seeing the eight wild dogs on a hunt, and then visiting the den where five 10 week old puppies greeted our vehicle! We did not see the completion of the hunt (Goodman's guests did, of course!!) but did witness the adults feeding the pups, which was an amazing experience.

Unfortunately, the next two days game drives were very sparse. We only saw two lions and some giraffes. The big deal at Savuti would be all the elephants, which were fun to watch, especially crossing the channel right at camp. We took one afternoon to drive north towards Linyanti....it was. A very long ride and frankly, quite boring. No game at all, until we happened upon a baboon troop along the river.

My overall feeling about Savuti is that it is a nice camp if this is your first trip to Africa, as you will love anything you see. Since this was not our first, we were a bit disappointed in how difficult it was to find anything of interest in game drives.

My first choice in this area was Duma Tau, but it was booked 20 months in advance! I wish I had known how good Selinda was, as we heard lots of great reports from others. Unfortunately, for the extremely high tariff charged at Savuti, I do not think it was worth the money.

Room Tip: All rooms are along the channel.
  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marla52674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2014

Dear Marla52674,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable time at Savuti camp. We are sorry you were not able to have the guide you wanted, unfortunately guides are not always guaranteed on request (even if this request is made before travel). Our guides are designated according to the size of the groups and their specialties. If however you are not completely happy with your assigned guide please let management know as soon as possible so that the necessary changes can be immediately made.

The Linyanti experiences tremendous seasonal transitions: in summer brilliantly green and lush, while in winter it becomes a barren, dry and harsh interior away from the river. In the dry winter months, large herds of elephant and zebra stay close to the river before moving south to the Savute Channel once the summer rains begin. In addition, a large diversity of general wildlife abounds, including the rare roan and sable antelope, followed naturally by predators such as lion, cheetah, leopard, hyaena and wild dog. The Linyanti River and the Savute Channel attract many species of wildlife, particularly in the winter months when this is the only water available. Elephants are especially abundant at this time. Large pods of hippo are found all along the Linyanti River, often basking in the sun during the cooler winter months. Bird life in the Linyanti is also extensive and diverse due to the different habitats inland and along the river course.

Thank you again,
The Savuti Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2014

We visited two Wildnerness Safari camps in May. Each had it's own characteristics that made it unforgettable. Savuti is located on a beautiful channel where elephants like to play. Our tour guide, Lucky, took us on an evening boat ride, during which we saw three young male elephants roughhousing and playing in the water. Truly a treat! Lucky also tracked down the wild dogs for us, which was especially important that we see!

The staff was very friendly. We had the opportunity to meet and spend time with some staff members (Kang, Murray and Anelle) that were about our age (late 20s/early 30s) and hear about their experiences in the bush. Made for some interesting evenings!

The level of service literally in the middle of nowhere is truly amazing. You are never far from a glass of wine or a fresh baked cake during tea time.

We would love to go back to this camp some day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Dear Jemolo,

Thank you for your fantastic review, we are so glad to see that you so enjoyed your time in camp with us. We will be sure to share all your comments with all the staff.

Savuti Camp is situated in a remote part of the Linyanti Concession along the Savute Channel, famous for the fact that between 1980 and 2008 it stopped flowing altogether, creating an unusual ribbon of grassland. Surprisingly, the Channel began to flow once more, becoming a deep, clear waterway harbouring hippo and aquatic life while wildlife had to adapt to a new source of water and all the opportunities and menaces it brought with it. This intimate camp's en-suite accommodation is in seven large walk-in tents that are raised off the ground and face onto the Channel. From the camp's thatched dining area, a plunge pool and large viewing area with fire pit extend outwards on raised wooden decks, providing a wonderful view of the water and its wildlife.

* Savuti Camp has front row seats to watch all the drama that is played out on the water
* The Savute area harbours one of the densest dry-season concentrations of elephant in Africa
* With two-thirds of the Savute Channel in the concession, Wilderness guests have exclusive access to abundant game and natural marvels.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
The Savuti Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

One thing that can make a great safari camp even better is a great safari guide. Goodman at Savuti is such a guide. He met us at the airstrip and asked if we wanted to go out on safari immediately or back to the camp to check in. We chose the safari, and thus began a wild ride through the bush where a leopard had pulled its prey into a tree. From then on it was nonstop adventures. We spent a couple of hours the next day watching a pack of wild dogs with five pups at their den. As we watched, the mother returned from a hunt, regurgitating food for her pups and suckling them as well. Later we rounded a curve in the road to find a hippo lying squarely in the center of our path. Goodman had to rev the engine at him to get him to move. He gave us a short course on the anatomy of an elephant when we came upon some old elephant bones beside the road. He could tell when a bird was about to fly, or when a hippo was about to yawn. He is the best guide we've ever had on safari. Savuti is a wonderful small camp where much attention to detail by the staff makes for an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Clare K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2014

Dear Clare K,

Thank you for your fantastic review of Savuti, we are thrilled to hear you had such a great time at our beautiful camp. We cannot wait to pass on your kind comments to Goodman and all the staff at Savuti Camp.

The Linyanti experiences tremendous seasonal transitions: in summer brilliantly green and lush, while in winter it becomes a barren, dry and harsh interior away from the river. In the dry winter months, large herds of elephant and zebra stay close to the river before moving south to the Savute Channel once the summer rains begin. In addition, a large diversity of general wildlife abounds, including the rare roan and sable antelope, followed naturally by predators such as lion, cheetah, leopard, hyaena and wild dog. The Linyanti River and the Savute Channel attract many species of wildlife, particularly in the winter months when this is the only water available. Elephants are especially abundant at this time. Large pods of hippo are found all along the Linyanti River, often basking in the sun during the cooler winter months. Bird life in the Linyanti is also extensive and diverse due to the different habitats inland and along the river course.

Thank you again and we hope you return soon
The Team at Savuti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews