We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our safari trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linyanti Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Highlight of our safari trip”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Savuti was the third of three camps we visited on our Botswana safari and, although the others were excellent to good, it was definitely the highlight: best accommodation, best guide (thank you, Tshope!) and best wildlife sightings. We were up-close-and-personal with – among other animals – lions, leopards and a pack of wild dogs eating the impala they’d just run down. Then there was the hippo crossing the road just in front of our Land Rover and the elephants helping their baby to cross the channel. All spectacular. The managers, Abby and Connie, were charming and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. The staff were great – especially the barman, who didn’t like to see any empty glasses! We were lucky enough to be there to help celebrate Botswana’s 47th year of independence, of which they are very proud and which involved traditional singing and dancing (by the staff!) around the fire and a special meal. Altogether highly recommended. I would also highly recommend Real Africa, though whom we booked the trip and who managed to satisfy all the demands of two couples with some different ideas travelling together.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJ_49_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    21
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
54
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mendham Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our room was a beautifully decorated, spacious, thatched roof tent facing the Savuti Channel. We sat on the porch of tent 6 and watched wildlife, including monkeys, elephants and birds. Food was frequent and excellent. Tshepo was a superb guide, the best of three camps. He was knowledgeable, personable and loved his job. One of the staff, Connie, went out of her way to be helpful, including arranging a packed meal for our travel day. This is a good camp for game. In two days we saw a number of lions very close, leopards, also close, wild dogs right after a kill, tons of elephants, and more. A great experience and hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyfultraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Family stayed two nights. What a lovely experience! Staff were great and family loved the food. Our guide was fantastic showing us leopard, wild dogs, buffalo, lions and elephant by the hundred. Accommodation was very comfortable and loved being able to watch game in the river from our balcony. Would love to go back.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you Andrew for your lovely feedbcak, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed the magic of Savuti, its staff and the experience. We hope to see you backin Botswana soon.
The Savuti team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is the second camp we visited in Botswana for 2 nights. We went on a couple of game drives and the wildlife viewing did not disappoint - a lot of elephants, hippos, antelopes, giraffes, lions, buffaloes and a leopard. Service was impeccable and the food was very good. One evening all camp guests were taken to a mysterious place for a special barbecue dinner with song and dance by most of the staff members. This is a unique and unforgettable place, hope we will come back again some day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank infoodwetrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Savuti Camp is a very special place. We were an extended family of 12 which included 4 kids (ages 8 to 15) and stayed for 3 nights. First of all the wildlife in this area was spectacular. There were hundreds of elephants that would come through the area and cross the river every day. We spent several hours one afternoon just watching the elephants. It was incredible to watch the baby elephants swim and play and sometimes they would come right next to our tents to eat. When we first got to Savuti our guides Goodman and Carlton asked what animals we wanted to see. Our group mentioned the usual subjects and I mentioned seeing the African Wild Dogs. Goodman said we would be really lucky to see them. We saw tons of animals, lions and leopard being the highlights. On the morning of our last day they took us to a den where they thought the wild dog pups might be. It was pretty far away and we were pressed for time since we needed to catch a flight later that morning. We waited for about 20 minutes until a pair of adult dogs came to the den and signaled to the pups to come out of the den. There were 9 adorable puppies that came out and sat in a row and looked at our jeep. I never thought I would see African Wild Dogs in the wild since they are so rare. I think this was the highlight of our trip, for me at least. I thought Goodman and Carlton went out of their way so we would have an opportunity to see the dogs. Aside from the fantastic guides and wildlife at Savuti, the staff were so welcoming and friendly. They made us feel like a part of the family. Violet helped our kids fish in the afternoons. Kelly always asked us if everything was okay in our rooms. Mackenna showed us how to make baskets. Lucky was also very friendly even though he wasn't one of our guides. I wish I could remember everyone's names because they were all wonderful! The food was amazing and on our first night in Savuti they brought us to a special place next to the river where we had dinner. It was magical! The pathway to the deck was all lit up with lanterns and they were singing as we walked down the path. I also can't forget the evening "sundowners". When we were out on our afternoon safari's our guides would find a "cool" spot for us to stop and have cocktails and appetizers as we watched the sunset. Our last night was next to a hippo pond. The hippos were very curious and would get closer and closer. The whole experience was just amazing! We stayed at two other lodges during our stay which were also fabulous but I have to say that there is something truly special about Savuti.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kkotulski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in early June. I loved the location and we could see almost anything around the channel without even leaving the tent. The far end tent had elephants right outside. We could hear a hippo at night just outside our tent. We were told a leopard went through at night one of the nights. THe camp is clean and we had great service from the staff. Meals were well prepared and tasty though not gourmet if that is what you expect. We were disappointed that there was no walking guide available to us as we had been told before we left the US. We were advised by management at the camp that this was likely due to the travel agency being unaware that we should have advised the camp in advance that we would like a walking tour. The game drives themselves were excellent but we were disappointed that we did not get to see wild dogs. We were told they had moved to a different area (silly dogs, didn't they get the memo?). We had excellent time following a leopard mom and juvenile son. We tracked a couple of lions but unfortunately we did not see any. This was not for lack of trying as our guide, Ace, was great. Lots of other game and lots of birds for my travel companion. We were very happy with our stay and could have easily stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Savuti Camp is truly a gem! We had such an amazing time at Savuti! We saw amazing and very rare animals sightings like lions mating, hyena mating, cheetah and lots of other animals! Being in Botswana we also saw lots of elephants! Sometimes the elephants was literally next to our tent - which made it extra special!

What makes Savuti extra special is the people working there! Our guide, Ace was the best guide we've ever had on any game drive - and we've had a few! His knowledge of the animals, trees, birds and even general topics was amazing! It was really special to spend so much time with such an exceptional person.

Tsidie - one of the managers was very friendly and went out of her way to accommodate any request.

The food was absolutely fantastic! We had one night dinner in the bush - and wow that was very special.

We will definitely visit Savuti Camp again and we are really impressed with Wilderness Safaris - a company that really cares for Africa and its people and they will walk the extra mile to make your bush safari one to remember for the rest of you life!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stella55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linyanti Reserve
0.0 mi away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#11 of 20 in Chobe National Park
123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#16 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#5 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#2 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#8 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp

Property: Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp
Address: Savuti Channel, Linyanti Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Linyanti Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Linyanti Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the raised wooden deck of Savuti, one is able to marvel at the phenomenon of nature at work. Just beneath this remote safari camp flows the enigmatic Savute Channel, until recently a dry grassland. In 2008, the waters returned and as a result game concentrations are particularly high in the dry winter season. A thatched main area and viewing deck take in the scene, while exploring the length of the Savute and its associated woodlands by boat or vehicle is a highlight here. • 7 tents (1 family) • day and night game drives • guided walks • boating • hides ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Savuti Camp Hotel Chobe National Park
Wilderness Safaris Savuti Camp Botswana/Linyanti Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing