We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveler rating
132
14
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
132
14
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wilderness safaris the river game drives the managers amazing safari family room luxury sightings laura bush guide camp anton tent airstrip fishing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 150 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2020 via mobile

The place is amazing!! view to the river full of hippopotamus. Luxury tent with very good bed all confort very clean. Delicious food 4 times a day. Amazing safari with great Jeep or by foot with very experienced guides. All the team dedicated for your satisfaction. More than I could dream or imagine

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank bibilu06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2020

Staying 3 nights at this camp were truly enjoyable and one of my best experiences with the Wilderness Safaris camps. The 'rooms' are very large and offer everything one could possible need (incl. WiFi). The main guest area does not have WiFi and that is a smart decision. Food (Chef Shane) is great - never too much - tasty and well plated. Your intention to cut down on food will miserably fail. The team - bar - resto - housekeeping - is wonderful and acts as a team creating a solid and comfortable experience for guests. The guides (Cabo as well as Fani) are knowledgeable and share the info professionally. Sightings in this area are good. Water was too far down to allow for water safaris - seasonal variations are normal. The airstrip is rather far out so the drive to/from the camp becomes a de facto safari drive. Laura and Anton are solid managers for this operation.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marcinbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenneil Zondagh, Owner at Wilderness Safaris King's Pool Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2020

Dear Marcinbrussels,

Thank you for the amazing review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your time in camp and will be sure to share your high praises with Laura, Anton and all the great staff in camp.

Bush regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2019

We stayed at Kings Pool as the last camp of a two week trip to South Africa and Botswana from September 6-September 22. We had previously stayed at two Singita camps and at the Jao camp in the Okovango Delta. All of these are premier camps and they are the bar for which I measure the experience of a premier camp.

Of all the camps we stayed at, Kings Pool has the most gorgeous setting --right on the river, with Hippos, elephants, kingfisher birds and a few crocodiles for viewing right outside your window. You hear the hippos in the middle of the night - and the morning we left we heard a lion roaring in the distance. REally spectacular. All the rooms face the river, so presumably, all the rooms have the same wonderful views.

Second, the staff is really great at this camp - everyone goes out of their way to attend to you and meet your needs. Laundry is delivered to your room on the day you send it out. The service is wonderful.

Our guide was equally wonderful -- extremely knowledgeable about the area, the ecosystem -- and we found an abundance of animals. However, it was very dry and dusty on the drives-- it would have been a very nice touch if the camp management had offered us bandanas to cover our mouth and nose on the drives.

Last - the lodge itself -- it was supposedly remodeled last June, but if feels older and dated. The rooms are nice -- with the tent-like feel -- but they don't compare in size or amenities to the other camps we stayed at. There is no gym or spa at this camp, and while that really didn't make much difference to us -- these amenities are generally available in other camps that are true premier camps. Also, there are no phones in the rooms, so there is no way to contact staff in the lodge once you are in your room. There are no private plunge pools for an evening dip.

Finally, the water in the shower (there is no tub) and at the sinks are very difficult to regulate -- either scalding hot or cold and at the sinks, it is very low pressure. My husband couldn't get the cold water to turn on at one point. But most problematic for a premier camp ---- it is an art to get the water comfortable enough to take a shower.

As to the food, the Chef is a lovely person -- he makes a point of introducing himself to all the guests and chatting with them. He will also prepare anything you want on a custom basis. However, I found the food to be very good, but not outstanding.

The most important disappointment, for a camp that markets itself as premier was the lack of air conditioning (even low impact air conditioning). The temperatures were in the high 90s (farenheit) -- approximately 35-36 centigrade --and while it was very dry, it was unbearable in the afternoons. It was so hot, that I didn't want to go out in the afternoon -- though unfortunately, there was no relief from the heat at the lodge.

The staff explained that they want to keep a very low carbon footprint -- but when the temperatures reach the mid-high 90s to 100, air conditioning is essential in a premier lodge.

Bottom line is that the river is unquestionably the best feature of this lodge though compared to the other lodges we stayed at, this was definitely more of an upscale classic camp. This would have been ok, if we had been prepared, and if the pricing were more in line with a classic camp. Our expectation was for a premier camp more in line with the Singitas or with Jao.

Because the rooms were not comfortable for us, we probably wouldn't stay at this camp again. However, that said, if you haven't visited, it is worth a night during mild weather in May or June, just to see the gorgeous setting and the animals at the river.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NEWLYRETIRED100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris King's Pool Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2019

Dear NEWLYRETIRED100,

Thank you for the great review, we are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your time with us in the Linyanti Reserve and will be sure to pass along your kind words to all the hardworking staff in camp. We are sorry to see that we were unable to meet your expectations, we have shared your comments with our operations team who will investigate this all further to see where they would ba able to improve and we can tell you that the water pressure issues had previously been brought to our attention and has since been rectified.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2019 via mobile

Kinng's Pool Camp has an amazing location next to a lagoon and the Linyati river. You can hear Hippos at night which was strange at first but you'll soon get used to it. Also lots of elephants came so close to our tent, it was wonderful!
The staff were absolutely wonderful, very attentive without being intrusive.
It is lead by an excellent manager and her team seems very happy and motivated.
The food provided by Shane was very good (I particularly liked his lovely big smile and sunny personality) and the entertainment provided including a boma was very enjoyable.
I would also recommend a short cruise with sundowners on a comfortable barge as she slides down the Linyanti river which divides Botswana and Namibia.
The game drives were also very good and enjoyable.
The facilities at the Camp and luxurious tents were well kept, clean and comfortable.
The shop at Kings pool offered a good choice of safari clothing and gifts at good price.
Overall it was a lovely experience and well recommended.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Ira41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris King's Pool Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2019

Dear Ira41,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you got some beautiful souveniers from the curio shop. We will be sure to share your kind wirds with Shane and all the great staff in camp.

Bush regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019

King Pool Camp at Linyanti has an astounding location on a curve to the Linyanti river, where as you are ushered into the reception you can see elephants and hippo's.As we arrived we were met by Laura & Anton, the Managers to the Camp and Naledi & KG, whom we had met earlier at Wilderness Safaris,Vumbura Plains in April,2019.It was like coming home again! One of them, if not all were always there to receive us with a cold cloth on our return from each and every safari.

Laura & Anton run the camp very efficiently and with friendliness and mix with all the guests to create an atmosphere of togetherness.They are passionate about wildlife and are always willing to help the guests and thus set up a wonderful atmosphere by their presence.Anton helped me with the hide and Laura with arranging our trip to see the African Wild Dogs.

Kings Pool Camp has a master chef who produces food like a magician in a Michelin star restaurant and his name is Shane.What a wonderful chef and personality...always with a smile on his face.... and, what food! His wife,Ronnelle is the relationship manager who mixes with aplomb and skill and is another cheerful personality at Kings Pool.

The magic formulae for the astounding success of Kings Pool, where guests are treated like "Kings", is because of the magic provided by Laura,Anton,Shane and Ronnelle.

We also did two helicopter rides with the skilful pilot,Michael Wharton who introduced us to the wonders of wildlife as seen from the skies.We felt very comfortable with him on the helicopter rides. Michael helped me photograph from the helicopter by providing all the right angles and information on the direction of the light.

We had the privilege to meet the well known wildlife photographer,Dana Allen, who was photographing for the Wilderness Safaris brochures and had interesting discussions with him on Nikon cameras, lens, and wildlife in Zambia,Zimbabwe and Namibia.

The only disappointment was the guiding.Our guide was experienced but appeared jaded.Having just come from Jao Camp, where we encountered one of the best guides(see our review of Jao Camp),we were surprised.

Manju & Ashok Mahindra

Date of stay: August 2019
2  Thank ashokmahindra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris King's Pool Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2019

Dear Manju & Ashok,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your experiences in camp. Our kitchen team is brilliant and we will be sure to share your kind words with them all. Dana Allen is one of our renowned photographers and a great person to talk to . His experience and patience in the bush guarantees him some amazing shots - all of which can be seen on the Wilderness Safaris website.

Bush regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews