We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Wilderness Camp!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linyanti Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Kings Pool Camp
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Another Great Wilderness Camp!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We spent 3 days at Kings Pool midway through our African Safari. The manager Jacque and his staff including Michelle and Rikki was professional and friendly. Our guide ND was fun. We saw many great sightings although this camp was the least “animal- packed” of the three camps we stayed at (Rattrays, Vumbura Plains). The room was stylish and comfortable and surprisingly cool even during afternoon break. The food was excellent. Side dishes and starters were served buffet style and the main dish was served afterwards. There were many surprises throughout our stay including a secluded breakfast before we checked out and dinner in the enclosed party area. Overall an awesome camp that is compareable to the other Wilderness Premier Camps we encountered.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalocopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
77
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Loved this camp. Friendly staff, great guide - Alex. Fab food and great location. We had a choice of two rooms, numbers 6 and 7. Asked which one would be better, it was suggested that 7 may be better as number 6 was the animal crossing point. We chose number 7 and were not disappointed. We didn't look in room 6 but I assume all rooms are the same high standard. Our daughters bed had not been set up as they were not sure which room we would take, but when it was it was so cosy, complete with mosi net. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Our first night sleep was a little disturbed and noisy and once we had established the next morning what it was that caused the lack of sleep we were fine. It turns out that a family of warthogs live under the tent and can get argumentative with each other during the night as they are fighting to find a warm spot. Early hours of the morning on another occasion I was woken by what I correctly guessed was the boardwalk being broken. Sure enough, the next morning the guys were out fixing it. Apparently the elephants had passed through and caused some damage. Food at Kings Pool is tasty, well presented and a fair choice, you will not go hungry. Game drives are fun and seeing wild dogs was a treat. I can recommend the late afternoon/early evening boat trip with a little bit of fishing thrown in for good measure. I personally just enjoyed my sundowner, I'm not into fishing but I was happy to watch the others no worries. Would I go back to Kings Pool? Answer is yes, I would go again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Kings Pool was the last stop on our 9 night trip to Botswana. I chose Kings Pool because we were staying in the Okavango Delta for the first 6 nights and I hoped that it would provide different game viewing opportunities.

First, the positives for us. The room was the best of the three camps in Botswana! I requested Room #1 and it was granted. The location is absolutely perfect if privacy and quiet are what you're seeking and the view is fantastic! Since it's the farthest on one side from the main area, you get some exercise and it's much needed on safari with all the eating! We had more wildlife in this camp than anywhere else and we loved it! I literally could view the elephants from my front door or deck on a daily basis.

Secondly, Yumpy Diye was our guide and I can honestly say that he is one of the best we've ever had and we've had many over the course of 5 years worth of safaris! His tracking skills are phenomenal and Diye tracked almost every sighting for the whole camp while we were there. His passion and love for his job are infectious and he worked really hard to find us good sightings when they were sometimes few and far between. All in all, we were disappointed in the amount of game in this area but we are measuring it against Sabi Sand, South Africa. We saw only one male Lion during our 3 days at Kings Pool but fortunately we were able to track two different packs of African Painted Dogs in one day! That really gets the adrenaline going! The hide at the water hole is amazing and I wish every camp had one, as we had some of the most amazing encounters with elephants there! Definitely spend some time at the hide if you go to Kings Pool. The massage one afternoon in my room was also wonderful!

Unfortunately, there were a couple of other negatives for us. We didn't feel that the management staff was as visible or hands on as the two previous camps in the Delta. We didn't even really know who the general manager was. The food was also a disappointment here. We gave it a 5 out of 10 as most of the beef or venison we had was really tough. However, the soups were very nice. Our last night, we enjoyed having a braai set up away from the camp. This was after we tracked the dogs around camp and even near the braai site! It was a lovely time enjoying song & dance and a very good meal while we talked about the days events!

Kings Pool is quite pricey which goes along with Botswana's philosophy of low volume/density and elevated prices. We don't feel that it offers good value compared to many other safari locations and this does effect whether or not we recommend something to our friends but we did enjoy our time at Kings Pool.

Room Tip: Room #1 is a wonderful location at the far end of the camp away from the main area, kitchen and staf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcianluanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kings Pool Camp, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We are very grateful for the feedback received and thank you for taking the time to do so. We are very pleased that overall you had a fantastic experience at Kings Pool, albeit a few disappointing comments.

We would like to assure you that the areas of concern have been addressed with the management and the Food Experience Manager overseeing Botswana.

Kings Pool Camp delivers a Premier offering and service, and we are sorry that this was not the case with your stay and we would welcome the opportunity to host you back in camp one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights in July 2013. The accommodation is excellent - rooms, food, service, employees were all faultless. The game viewing was good - not sensational. But the cruise along the Linyanti river was wonderful and thoroughly recommended. Not as beautifully scenic as the Okavango but the areas by the river are wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirkmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

OK, this place is called a "tent" camp. Now I was a boy scout and this is like no tent I ever pitched. The camp is located on a pool off the river, and it is a beautiful setting. The rooms are all on the pool and you are right at the edge. The bath was all tile and quite big, the king bed in center of the room (mosquito nets, of course), and a lovely sitting area near the front windows. Hippos, crocs, elephant right off your elevated deck. There are slightly elevated walk ways to all the rooms. The place is alive with birds during the day. Our room was nestled under a tree and the birds created quite a cacophany every afternoon. The hippos were "laughing" most of the night. The wildlife viewing was excellent, our guides were great, and we lucked out and had another couple in our rover who were loads of fun. The food was excellent, service ditto. This place is a little cool in June, but a hot water bottle in your bed each night and in the rover for the AM game drive and we were set. Afternoons were toasty and a light jacket was all that was necessary for the PM game drive. We did a river cruise one late afternoon and evening, part of the camps amenities, well worth doing it. So, if you are looking for a tent experience, this place really rates.

Room Tip: All Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was our fourth visit to KP (2 each side of its referb) which should tell you most of what you need to know. This visit was business as usual with fantastic sightings, accommodation, guides and food. KP has managed to keep a great blend of comfort and decor without feeling like you are in a down town 5* hotel. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and include a plunge pool and outside sala (day bed). We love the rooms and they really feel part of the environment, with netted panels and doors to the river/savanna aspect you can sit in bed and watch nature at its best. Built on stilts with wooden floors with double sink and showers. All rooms are mosquito netted and sprays are supplied should one of the little buggers get in and a ceiling fan. The new inclusion of solar power means electricity 24/7 with Wifi and even a mobile phone signal due to its proximity to the Namibian boarder and hair dryers for you girls! Although no guarantee, we have seen superb and almost daily viewing of Wild Dog on each of the 4 visits - this time 3 different packs! The guides are always very informative and never fail to impress how they spot the an ear of an animal 300 yards away, behind a bush, while driving! The grass and vegetation (at this time of year) makes for great game and predator viewing and the guides are allowed off-road so can track almost anywhere. The weather at this time of year is cold even for us Brits, 2-3deg at the start of a drive (6:30am), much the same on the night drive (19:00) with 30deg at lunch time. Don't let the cold put you off as it's a great time of the year to view animals, you get hot water bottles and padded ponchos that keep you snug and just add or remove layers as you go. The vehicles are 'roofless' 9 seater (guest) Land Rovers so sun protection is a must. For us 'roofless' is ideal as there are no roof bars/supports to get in the photo and gives everyone the ability for all to look for leopards, birds and primates etc in the trees. You'll go a long way to beat what KP and Botswana has to offer and gives Mombo a good run for its money (we have been there 3 times). KP will be first on our list for our next visit to Botswana. P.S. if you are a safari first-timer it's khaki/olive drab all the way:) for us, 10/10 vfm.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpencerL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Fab place. Our 3rd visit and once again we saw wild dogs. Our guide OD was great. We saw leopard and lion too as well as lads of game. highlight was wild dogs running past our leopard sighting then chasing wart hogs. Fab accommodation and brilliant food. The team really looked after us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma26Oxfordshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linyanti Reserve
13.9 mi away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#13 of 72 in Okavango Delta
190 reviews
4.3 mi away
Jackalberry Tented Camp
Jackalberry Tented Camp
#2 of 2 in Sangwali
18 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Camp Linyanti
Camp Linyanti
#14 of 21 in Chobe National Park
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#30 of 72 in Okavango Delta
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Kings Pool Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Kings Pool Camp

Property: Wilderness Safaris Kings Pool Camp
Address: Linyanti Wildlife Reserve, Linyanti Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Linyanti Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Linyanti Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilderness Safaris Kings Pool Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for Scandinavian royalty, Kings Pool looks out over a sparkling oxbow-shaped lagoon framed with reeds and punctuated by the occasional elephant moving through the water. Expansive decks in the main area echo the natural spaces, and an open-air 'kgotla' (boma) is the perfect setting for fine dining under the stars. Two hides - one with the water (and wildlife!) literally at eye-level - are perfect places to spend your siesta: elephant feet and trunks are almost within touching distance. End the day with sundowners on the elegant, colonial-style Queen Sylvia barge as she cruises down the Linyanti River. • 9 tents • 100% solar • game drives • guided walks • sunken hide • barge cruises • catch-and-release fishing ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kings Pool Camp Hotel Linyanti Reserve
Wilderness Safaris Kings Pool Camp Botswana/Linyanti Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing