We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories for a lifetime!”
Review of Linyanti Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linyanti Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Linyanti Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Memories for a lifetime!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent two nights at Linyanti Bush Camp during our 10 day safari in Botswana. The elephants, warthogs and hippos were right in front of our tent! What an experience to wake up in the morning and step right into a dream. We had the feeling of camping privately in the bush while still being cradled in luxury!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolyn n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricanBushCamps, Public Relations Manager at Linyanti Bush Camp, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of Linyanti Bush Camp and we are delighted you were able to experience africa in a private and exclusive location within 'a cradle of luxury'! We hope to have you stay again in the future.
Warmest Regards
Linyanti Bush Camp and the African Bush Camps Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    23
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
23
63
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent two nights in Linyanti Ebony camp in August. The camp is very small, consisting of only 4 tents and the main lodge. It is about 100m from the slightly larger Linyanti Bush camp, which I believe has 5 or 6 tents. The tents were enormous (we had a spare room in ours!) with hot showers and a good sized veranda, plus mosquito nets etc.

Marks ( our guide) was an absolutely superb tracker and guide. He quickly realised that we were not just interested in the big game and was happy to move at our pace and answer all of our questions in great detail – on top of which he was a really nice guy and great company. His skill in driving at night on rough terrain and simultaneously aiming a flashlight (while managing to spot an African wildcat two nights in a row) was amazing, and we learnt an enormous amount from him.

We loved all our game drives, but special mention has to go to our motorboat ride. We stopped for a beer just before sunset in some reeds, and a family of elephants came down to drink from the river almost next to us – a real highlight.

The food was great, we had no complaints at all. On our last night, a private dinner had been arranged for us on our veranda (we were on our honeymoon) which was a really nice touch. The Camp management and staff really did their best to make us feel welcome throughout our stay, and nothing was too much trouble. This was the more rustic of the two Botswanan camps we stayed in, however we absolutely loved our time at Linyanti Ebony. Having previously been on safaris in both lodges and tents in Kenya and South Africa, our time at Linyanti Ebony was the most enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jannah222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricanBushCamps, Public Relations Manager at Linyanti Bush Camp, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of your recent experience at Linyanti Bush Camp, and again congratulations to you both on your marriage! We were delighted to be a part of your honeymoon memories and it was an absolute pleasure to host you. We are honored that you found Linyanti Ebony to have been your most enjoyable safari in comparison to both Kenya and South Africa.
We hope to host you both again in the future.
Warmest Regards
Linyanti Bush Camp and the African Bush Camps Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Linyanti Ebony was the first of 3 camps and chosen for it's family sleeping options (we have two boys aged 15&14 and two girls aged 11&6) as well as the fact you have the camp to yourselves. That said we did share two of our three nights with a late booking guest. We enjoyed the camp feel and given this was the most "rustic" of our camps (Kanana and the sublime Singiti!) the comfort level is amazing. Full credit to using a solar heated water system that delivered plenty of water and great pressure to! We also enjoyed the morning fire as it was winter and the hot water bottles at night (note to management:throw some into the jeeps in the morning!). The camp setting is very serene and of all our camps I would say the most evocative. Our guide, Weena, was excellent with all the children and the game sightings plentiful! The only downside is the transfer in from Savuti's airstrip, which in winter is a pleasant enough 3 hour ride but in the middle of summer...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank packerfan452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I returned to Botswana in July for our tenth safari. We fell in love with Botswana’s people, wildlife and landscapes and spent many wonderful days there early in our marriage. It had been 15 years since our last visit, and we were a bit apprehensive about what changes may have occurred during that time. As it turns out, we should not have worried.

We had never been to the Linyanti area in northern Botswana, and wanted to see that area since the good floods in recent years had refilled the swamps. We opted to stay at Linyanti Bush Camp (LBC) which is owned and operated by African Bush Camps, and it turned-out to be a wonderful choice. From the moment we arrived to the welcoming singing at camp, the camp managers – Natalie and Willem – went above-and-beyond the call of duty to ensure our group had a wonderful time.

Some of the highlights at LBC:

• LBC is located in a private concession, allowing wonderful privacy and freedom of activities not allowed in the public parks.

• It is a smaller and more intimate camp (six guest tents = 12 guests max), that marries tradition and comfort… “Under canvas meets Luxury”

• We enjoyed having the option to do traditional game drives in open safari vehicles (including night drives), and water-based outings in power boats or traditional mokoros.

• The Driver-Guides -- Marks & Isaiah -- were very knowledgeable and friendly.

• We loved the elephants & hippos in and around camp. Absolutely thrilling!

• The guest tents were beautifully furnished and comfortable (and we loved the artistic touch of the “towel art” and hand-written personalized notes on the beds (on locally-made paper, no less).

• The lounge/dining tent was also nicely appointed, and the westward orientation made for spectacular sunsets.

• The food was very tasty, and varied. Table-settings were beautiful.

• Vehicles were clean and in good order.

• Camp staff and servers were all discrete, polite and did a very nice job.

• We loved the effort put into afternoon “sundowners,” remote picnic teas & coffees, and the incredible final dinner, served outdoors with lovely singing from the staff.

• Also appreciated the special birthday cake & singing presented to one of our group on his birthday.

• One morning we spotted some lion tracks going through camp. So we spent the morning tracking them, and caught-up with them near the the park. We got some great pics, then had a coffee while a large herd of elephants casually engulfed us as they grazed past. Wonderful experience!

All in all, LBC was a wonderful experience, and one we would highly recommend to anyone traveling to Botswana on safari.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 3521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricanBushCamps, Public Relations Manager at Linyanti Bush Camp, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely and thorough review of Linyanti Bush Camp. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and that it proved to be a good choice for your return to Botswana. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again on your next return to the country.

Warmest Regards
The Team at Linyanti Bush Camp and African Bush Camps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Linyanti Bush Camp was the first stop on a month long trip to Botswana and Kenya. I had been to the Linyanti area before, but not since the river had started flowing again. I stayed for 4 nights and it was a wonderful, relaxing start to the trip. The camp staff and guides were all great, and although the predators spent the time hiding, we found plenty to watch and photograph. Meeting elephants on foot is always a great experience (providing you have an experienced guide!). Breakfast by the camp fire was a great start to each day and trips out on the river were a favourite activity for me. Watching Malachite Kingfishers and Elephants having a drink is a great way to spend the afternoon/evening. The food and service were excellent - nice and low key, but nothing was missed, including a birthday cake!
The tents are spacious with running water and hot showers - hot water bottles are also provided to cope with the overnight chill.
Linyanti is a beautiful area to explore and this camp makes the most of it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricanBushCamps, Public Relations Manager at Linyanti Bush Camp, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of Linyanti Bush Camp. We are glad this proved to be a relaxing start to your month long trip and that you enjoyed exploring the area with our Team at the camp. We hope you thoroughly enjoyed the rest of your trip and we look forward to having you back as a guest at one of our camps.

Warmest Regards
The Team at Linyanti Bush Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I am sorry to say that this review has been 9 months coming. We were there in October, 2011.

There is a serenity to this particular camp. This is the bushcamp to come to be restored. We were at this camp for 2 nites, but you need 3 nites if not more.

This is where I came "to just be" in Africa, this was my dream of Africa. This is it guys, AUTHENTICITY, and I mean it. You must be prepared to come away from this place knowing that you are changed because of the experience of this environment, the animals, the people, and the great beauty of the bush and all that that entails.

Our guide, Gally was a quiet, diligent guide who miraculously found wild dogs. We had the honorable priviledge of observing wild dogs for an hour at twilight, which is incredibly rare, and all by ourselves.

Clara, oh Clara, (there should be one for every one's life on a safari) is a calm presence. When we entered our tented suite, I held my breath, as it had a lovely design of flowers on the bed, and then the tent is HUGE, and the view of the swamp tremendous. This spaciousness in such a remote area helps you to unwind from our modern lives, as there is no TV, internet, phone.

The food wonderful, french press in the morning. They bring you a hot thermos to make it. The moroko a must to see wildlife, the flowers, and the calm of the water.

Issac the camp manager will make sure that everything is taken care of for you. This camp was intimate, as the staff ate with you, and you got to know them if you wanted to. After dinner, you would go down to the fire and sit and talk some more. Here we were in Africa, with the magnificent stars, animal noises close and far away, few people, conversation wide and deep from great food, wine, books, music, etc. and (of course "keep the bush going" ) to how we were all in our own way going to save the world, and this is with people you have just met!!!!!!!!!

But you could have easily just been on your own here too if you need more time to yourselves, as they are extremely aware of a guest's needs.


Oh Linyanti, Linyanti, I long to go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ayty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

our family of 5 stayed at LEC for 4 nights in mid december. we had the good fortune to have the entire camp to ourselves! the family tent was very comfortable for us. the rains had been heavy, so game was scarce in the area and the bush was thick and green. all the cats had moved away with the buffalo so the game viewing was not as good as it could have been. the food was amazingly great, hot water abundant. we had an amazing guide was Esa who knew everything. Issac the camp manager made sure we were happy and comfortable. the only thing i could say is that some type of solar powered fans would have been nice to have for the very hot nights. the beds were super cozy!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarosi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linyanti Reserve
21.5 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Linyanti
Camp Linyanti
#14 of 20 in Chobe National Park
25 reviews
19.7 mi away
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#20 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5 reviews
23.3 mi away
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
#10 of 20 in Chobe National Park
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ihaha Campsite
Ihaha Campsite
#18 of 20 in Chobe National Park
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linyanti Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linyanti Bush Camp

Property: Linyanti Bush Camp
Address: Linyanti Marshes, Linyanti Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Linyanti Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Linyanti Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Linyanti Bush Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Linyanti Bush Camp offers the perfect setting for an authentic and wild safari experience. As the only source of water in the dry months, the Linyanti marshes are one of the most sought after destinations in Northern Botswana, boasting a great diversity of game and a peaceful atmosphere. The area offers spectacular birding all year round and is best known for its large herds of elephants that move down to the Linyanti River at the start of the winter months and only move back inland once the main rains arrive. Lion, sable, roan, leopard, and wild dog are also frequent visitors to Linyanti as is the elusive sitatunga antelope, red lechwe, hippo and crocodile. Bordering the western boundary of Chobe in the Chobe Enclave, the Linyanti Bush Camp is an intimate 12-bedded tented camp on the banks of the Linyanti marshes in a private reserve. Activities from the camp include game drives, walking safaris, game viewing from hides, spot-lighting, bird watching, boating and fishing safaris as well as guided mokoro safaris, when water levels permit. Accommodation at the Linyanti Bush Camp is far from primitive with spacious tents, comfortable beds, and en-suite bathrooms with flush toilets, fixed showers and hot water. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Linyanti Bush Camp Hotel Linyanti Reserve
Linyanti Bush Camp Botswana/Linyanti Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing