We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Friendly service, clean rooms, fair prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Canneto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Canneto
Gent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly service, clean rooms, fair prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Relaxed atmosphere. Ideal for a quiet holiday. Breakfast wa simple but everything was there.
Spacious parking lot and nice garden area with enough furniture available. The little town center of Porto Ceresio is 5min walk away from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 360Bram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    23
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
22
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

we stay in this hotel in june this year. it was very pleasant to meet so carefull owners and quet athmosfere. clean rooms and cup of tasty cofee for breakfast. . we spend there 6 days and wish to get this location once more. thank you. maria and katya. israel

Room Tip: may be the rooms wtith a balcony.they are more romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here while visiting friends in the region. The room was very clean. The staff spoke limited English but we were able to communicate . We left before breakfast was served on our last day and they provided us with a box meal the night before and easy instructions for leaving before the staff arrived. The biggest draw-back was the smell of cigarette smoke from the downstairs area (this might be less noticeable on a higher floor or at the end of a hall).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Modern exterior, interior seems older. Lingering smell of cigarettes. The air-conditioning was insufficient in the room. Otherwise clean and bathroom was adequate. Surprise Italian towels that remind you of table cloths! Funny really and initiates you to Italian culture. They worked however. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Songbird61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Hard to find but a nice place for a short stay at a budget. The hotel has hospitable staff. The room is tiled by worm for a winter stay. I will recommend for a day or two in which to admire the surroundings area of the lake.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cometa76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

close to the Swiss border, we stayed one night enroute to Florence. Very basic Hotel in a not so good area, Porto Ceresio is a run down lakeside town, shame really, Adequate for an overnight night stay but would not want to spend more than that.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank randrew95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms and the quality of the manchester. Breakfast was made up of many choices and delivered with very pleasant service. Staff assisted us daily with maps and touring suggestions which we found most beneficial.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GabrielleJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Ceresio
1.6 mi away
Hotel Serpiano
Hotel Serpiano
#1 of 1 in Serpiano
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
3.0 mi away
Caroline Hotel Brusimpiano
Caroline Hotel Brusimpiano
#1 of 1 in Brusimpiano
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Campione
Hotel Campione
#1 of 3 in Bissone
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
5.0 mi away
Tresa Bay Hotel
Tresa Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponte Tresa
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ville Lago Lugano
Ville Lago Lugano
#1 of 2 in Porto Ceresio
4.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Canneto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Canneto

Property: Il Canneto
Address: Via Fratelli Bertolla 59, 21050 Porto Ceresio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Porto Ceresio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Porto Ceresio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Canneto 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned hotel restaurant, nestled in a quiet green oasis at 150 meters from the shores of lake of Lugano, in the charming village of Porto Ceresio. You can enjoy a very wide air-conditioned restaurant with view over the garden where you can have breakfast and lunch. The kitchen offers a wide range of regional menus and specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Il Canneto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing