We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellisima - a romantic holiday in Calabria”
Review of Hotel Ipomea Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ipomea Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2010

My husband and I traveled to this hotel in Calabria for our anniversary trip in June 2010. We were greeted by the most friendly and helpful staff. After a long day of travel, we were taken to our beautiful room overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. It was clean, spacious, and decorated with beautiful art. Each night of our stay we dined at the hotel, enjoying delicious regional Calabrian dishes prepared by a talented chef. All of the staff took such good care of us while we were there, assisting us with recreation bookings to serving us delicious breakfast each morning, and cocktails under the stars. The hotel has a beautiful musician who sings Italian love songs at night on the veranda, inspiring romantic evenings with exceptional views of the sea. The pool and grounds of the hotel are just beautiful & well taken care of. The best part about this hotel besides its beautiful location at Capo Vaticano was the people who work at this hotel. They are so hospitable, kind, and catered to us to make sure that we had a fabulous experience at the hotel and with our Calabria visit. Please keep in mind that most of the hotel and guests are Italian-speaking, so be prepared with some Italian conversation basics so that you can communicate your needs to the helpful staff. If you are interested in traveling to Calabria to experience the beauty and authenticity of this area of Italy, I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaCoccari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 236 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2009

We arrived at the Hotel after getting a Ryanair flight from Stansted-Lamezia. We did a little bit of research beforehand and managed to get on a free 'Tourist Shuttle' coach that took us from the airport to near where we were staying (Note to all the bus only runs until the 12th September when the season ends, also arrange with the hotel to pick you up from drop off points and/or railway stations - they provide this free of charge). Another option which can be done is to get a taxi from the airport to lemazia train station which is around 10 euros, the train down to Ricadi is only 3.50 euros each. We thought that the hotel transit bus that takes you on a return journey from the airport to the hotel costing 150euros was a little steep.

Upon arrival at the hotel we were welcomed by warm and friendly staff who assisted us with all queries, we were provided with a ground floor comfort room and on enquiry were assisted to upgrade to a first floor balcony room free of charge (There is a charge to upgrade to a sea view balcony superior room). In hindsight we felt we should have booked the superior room to make the most of the stunning views and sunsets. The rooms were fresh and cleaned daily to a high standard and the decor matched the charm of the location. The air con worked great - nice and cool without making loads of noise.

We would adivse future guests to hire a car if you enjoy seeing more of the sights around the surrounding area. The town of Santa Maria where the hotel is, is quite a distance form other locations. Again the train station at Ricadi is fine to get around from. There is no loacal bus service. There is limited lesiure pursuits in the area, however, there are opportunities to hire sea kayaks, skuba diving and fishing.

The hotel backs onto the sea. There is a private beach immediately behind the pool area that looks onto the beach proper. The beach was clean and the water was crystal clear. However, the first thirty yards into the sea mainly consists of bed rock that can catch you unawares (my girlfriend cut her knee quite badly). Might be worth bring croc footwear, especially for young children. The pool was amazing, very clean and almost cloreen free, great after being in the hot september sun.

The breakfast buffet was great consisting of pastries, fresh fruit, cereal etc. They had fresh rolls and a selection of meats which we made into sandwiches for lunch. We only had dinner in the restaurant once which was really nice. We ate out alot in some of the surrounding restaurants. Tropea is also another place to try out some amazing restaurants and more to see and do.

Basically, if you want a bit of peace and quiet, where lounging on the beach or by the pool is your ideal then this place is for you. However, you have to go out of your way a bit to see and do something different.

The staff are very helpful with a mixture of languages spoken between them, however do try to attempt italian during your stay. They definatly apprecitate the effort and you will feel more conected to the location and the people.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarsans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

This hotel is for all those who wish to relax and to enjoy nature. It is situated in a very quiet area , nice beach and crystal water.Service of hotel is excellent, starting fron front desk, especially Letizia, restaurant very good italian food. Service also very good, a special thanks to Sony and Giuseppe. Animation excellent ,especially Franklyn and Giovanna made our holiday a special one.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zejtun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

We arrived to Ipomea club hotel by a rented car from Lamezia airport. It´s about 60 km, and took about 1,5 h of driving. It was difficult to find a hotel, we found it partialy thanks to our navigation system and partially by a good luck.
We stayed in a beautiful suite - spacious bedroom with a living room and balcony, tastefully furnished and decorated by very nice pictures. Just mattresses in beds were too hard and not too comfortable. The air-condition was quiet, non-disturbing but sometimes too weak and was not possible to make it stronger because there was a central system.

I needed to check my e-mails, in the reception was available one computer but Internet didn´t work full 8 days when we were there. The receptionist always told us that a technitian still didn´t arrive. The nearest internet we found in Tropea (14 km).

Otherwise we enjoyed our time in Ipomea very much. There is a beautiful garden with a lot of flowers, palms and many singing birds (swallows, cuckoos...) and very nice, not deep swimming pool with another smaller pool for children. Staff was very friendly and we felt there a warm, family atmosphere.
Almost each day there were animation programmes - acqua aerobics, dancing... and some evenings a music show.
The beach in front of the hotel was long and narrow, sendy but unfortunately the entrance to the sea was very stony, rubber shoes were necessary.
Much nicer beach without stones was in Tropea which is according to me a the most beautiful town in this area.
The food in the hotel was excellent (we had a half-board). Waiters (young boys) were polite, nice, elegantly dressed, just sometimes they did some funny mistakes (e.g. we finished a bottle of white wine and ordered a new bottle but with a red wine and a waiter pour a red wine to our previous, dirty glass where was a white wine before).

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RenataPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We flew in from Bari to Lamezia Terme and hired the last car available and set off down the coast to try to find Ricardi and our home for the next week. The car agent told us to travel by the coastal road as there were many road works on the autostrada. This was very bad advice as the coastal road was very windy and hair raising & it took us over 2 hours to get there.
The sign posts to the hotel are very poorly marked but this phenomenon is for most of the hotels. We arrived late afternoon hot and tired and were told to come down to the pool for a welcome drink. It seemed to be a little disorganised but then they found the barman who proceeded to make us a superb cocktail.
The hotel/club is quite strangely laid out but looks & is clean & well tended. Mainly Italian holiday makers, lovely people.
The rooms are large and airy but the beds are rock hard (think they are still very new). The toilets seemed like they may fall off the wall but I think that the plumber may have forgotten to use a seal on the wall bracket in our room. The aircon was fairly good.
This hotel is run by a very musical family so there was lots of music, beautiful music from a really wonderful family. They went out of their way to help us. The one twin daughter performed a full concert for us all at the poolside. Grand Piano and all...right to the pool edge facing the sea. The other twin is a boy and is equally talented and we were entertained by him on other nights.
We chose the all full board which proved to be most adequate. We did become a little tired of similar meals. The annimation staff were very sweet and very eager to learn english.
Dont forget your swimming cap in Italy!!!
No big shops nearby, a little out of the way, but peaceful. Tropea was 15 - 20 mins away by car.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CapeTownmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We stayed at Ipomea Club in June/July 2008. Our room was a superior room and was spacious, clean and had lovely views over the complex towards the beach and up the coast.

The staff were very friendly especially the entertainment staff even though they struggled with their English a little. This is the charm for us though - a holiday in Italy mainly with Italians. I don't think we saw any British people until we went into Tropea.

The beach was the real winner for us and what we go on holiday for. The sea was warm and very calm most days. You could snorkel as there was thousands of fish in the sea, an unexpected bonus! On the beach you got a parasol and deck chairs. They were nicely spaced and there was always availability.

There were always lots of things going on at this hotel. Aqua aerobics, canue races, darts, vollyball etc which is fun to join in with but not too intrusive into your day if you just want to relax.

We did not eat at the hotel in the evening, choosing to go out and chose a restaurant each night but the breakfast was good. There are three restaurants in walking distance of the hotel and lots of restaurants on the way to Tropea and of course in Tropea itself. We had lots of great Italian food at great value.

We booked our flights with bmi baby, our car hire which allows us to go out most evenings and try out different restaurants and booked directly with the hotel - everything went very smoothly.

We loved the people, the food, the beach, the sunshine and scenery - wished we were going back!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire_loves_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Bangkok10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria
2.2 mi away
Villaggio Il Gabbiano
Villaggio Il Gabbiano
#2 of 9 in San Nicolo
281 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villaggio Club Baia del Sole
0.8 mi away
Sunshine Club Hotel Centro Benessere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Resort Tonicello
Hotel Resort Tonicello
#9 of 20 in Capo Vaticano
256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Village Eden
Hotel Village Eden
#2 of 20 in Tropea
590 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Tirreno
Hotel Tirreno
#1 of 14 in Parghelia
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ipomea Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ipomea Club

Address: Localita Fortino | Santa Maria di Ricadi (VV) Capo Vaticano, 89866 Santa Maria, Ricadi, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Ricadi > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Santa Maria
Price Range: $140 - $1,187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ipomea Club 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive four-stars hotel, rises directly on the sea between Vaticano Cape and small rocky shores in St. Mary’ bay bythe picturesque fishermen village of Santa Maria, few minute from Tropea, Calabria. A perfect place where to spend a relaxing holiday made of sea and nature, surrounded by an elegant and comfortable environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ipomea Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ipomea Club Calabria/Santa Maria, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing