We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

L'Osteria del Ghiotto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $44 - $73
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Manly, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

No fault at all! I don't know if it's Italy or the food but everything has been so wonderful so far!
My fiance and I both had pasta that's tomato-based and I just have to say they are so wonderful! I cannot think of anything else to say but the superlative. Someone on our tour has recommended this place to us and I though I'd pass the good news online!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leanniecooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    59
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tuscan cuisine”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

A very cosy small restaurant on the hills behind bolgheri/san vincenzo area, family owned and run. Menu changes depending on the season and what good is available. Have Cristiano suggest what is good that day and what wine to combine, and you will not be disappointed.
I strongly suggest to visit out of season, during the winter when the menu contains more hunting game food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blessthechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravensburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Tuscany in Style”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Small but very good place in the middle of nowhere in Tuscany's outback.
You would not expect such excellent service, great food, exquisite wine selection and lovely family atmosphere in this tiny village.
Always worth a visit, when around - but remember to book a table!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Feyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Tuscan home cooking at its best”
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Sunday lunch here today was a highlight of our holiday - the food was faultless and the atmosphere truly Italian. Nadia and Christiano were great hosts. We recommend any pasta (we had with rabbit and with sage and butter) and bistecca alla Fiorentina. Enjoy!
If you want a great place to stay nearby, try agritourismo Villetta do Monterufoli - wonderful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SomersetReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“SIMPLY THE BEST”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

An absolute gem, situated in one of those pretty little Tuscan towns, off the beaten track this restaurant is one of the finest Tuscany has to offer. Absolutely flawless. Top quality food, wine and service! Truly the best, perhaps that's why we keep on going there again and again and again. We just can't decide whether we like it better in Summer, al fresco, with all those wonderful Summer flavours or in Winter, chomping away on comfort food in front of the log fire! Cristiano we love you and the rest of the family of course!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank notjustshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Osteria del Ghiotto also viewed

Monteverdi Marittimo, Province of Pisa
Monteverdi Marittimo, Province of Pisa
 
Bolgheri, Castagneto Carducci
 

Been to L'Osteria del Ghiotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing