We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great accommodation and location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bordanoost a place for nature lovers and outdoor enthusiasts.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bordanoost a place for nature lovers and outdoor enthusiasts.
A stones throw from Viking Unst.  A replica Viking house and longship. Just climb on board! All our bedrooms have ensuite facilities and views of the hills or sea.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Bordanoost a place for nature lovers and outdoor enthusiasts.
A stones throw from Viking Unst.  A replica Viking house and longship. Just climb on board!
All our bedrooms have ensuite facilities and views of the hills or sea.
Towels and linen are provided.
The kitchen is fully equipped with up to date appliances including the original aga!
Our welcoming hallway leads to the newly refurbished accommodation.
A room with a view.
The lodge is located on Haroldswick bay, one of the mostly northerly villages of the United Kingdom.
You will be more likely to see Shetland ponies on the beach than other visitors!
The wood burning stove for those wintry Scottish evenings after viewing the Northern lights.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Haroldswick, Unst, Shetland Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
davidsEng...
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great accommodation and location”
Reviewed December 21, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The lodge has recently been renovated and provides very comfortable accommodation with all modern amenities. It is in an ideal situation overlooking Haroldswick bay and it is only a short drive to Baltasound where there are local shops, a post office and cafe. We visited in September to birdwatch and Haroldswick proved an ideal base. Would definitely recommend and we hope to go back!

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2018
Thank you David. Already booked to return and we look forward to having you and your friends return to Bordanoost Lodge and continue with your bird watching holidays. Best wishes Paula and Allan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddieiren...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic Shetland experience”
Reviewed December 14, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

A spacious, and charismatic house with comfortable and spotless living areas and kitchen. It has a lovely ambiance which is greatly added to by its fantastic location. An unspoilt beach starts literally at the end of the front garden and it is amazing to watch Gannets plunging into the sea in the bay while having breakfast in the patio. We even spotted an otter from the house one morning. A wonderful place to stay and we will definitely visit again in the very near future.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2018
Thank you Eddie for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Bordanoost Lodge. We know that you enjoyed the wildlife, particularly the bird watching. We are delighted that you have booked again with us in September 2018. Paula & Allan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marieloui...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location for nature spotting or just chilling.”
Reviewed December 14, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Our first visit to Shetland was in November 2017, arriving on the ferry from Aberdeen we found the journey to be a comfortable and easy overnight crossing so arrived fully rested and raring to go. We fell in love with the islands and found Bordanoost perfectly situated to explore Unst and beyond, or should I say below. Unst gave us a perfect taste of how life can be when the environment, nature and friendly locals make you fully relaxed. Using Bordanoost as a base you will enjoy walking, birding or just learning more about the local history. We were very lucky as total novices to see not only both common seals in the bay outside Bordanoost and grey seals on several beaches on the north of the Island but also seeing otters after taking a wrong turn and ending up near Westing at a dead end. The otters were playing on the rocks within thirty feet of us, we were mesmerised. The highlight of the holiday for me was seeing the northern lights from the garden, a long held dream for me.
The Bordanoost has been updated but retained many of its original features. The warm welcome as soon as you come into the reception area continues throughout the house. We found ourselves spending time in the family kitchen, wonderfully warmed by the Arga or sitting in the evenings in the cosy sitting room by the log burner. Both rooms gave us stunning views over the gardens and the bay beyond.
We plan to return to Bordanoost again in 2018, in fact we have already been in contact to book the house in February for Up Helly Aa on Unst and will be recommending it to anyone who will listen!

Mr & Mrs Warren, Cheshire

Date of stay: November 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2018
Thanks for this review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Bordanoost Lodge. We are delighted to receive your booking for Norwick Up Helly Aa and hope you have another superb time. Northern Lights and otter sightings have a lot to live up to however I am sure the festival will be equally impressive. Thank you once again. Paula and Allan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing